We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pins on Lurline

Pins on Lurline
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NOW OPEN FOR CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH FROM 9.30AM ON SUNDAYS. Pins on Luline's setting is a Katoomba landmark, a grand historic house built at the turn of the century. We deliver fine food with Australian and Italian flavours, with a focus on locally sourced produce. We provide an intimate, cozy and comfortable dining experience, set in the heart of the breathtaking Blue Mountains. Visitors can enjoy the surrounding natural beauty and the outlook of our stunning traditional English gardens with a glass of locally sourced wine.
Denmark W.A.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The weather was wild and windy so decided not to eat out, phoned up for a takeaway, was ready on time and delicious, good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wwjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    132
    43
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a wonderful find. After a strenuous day in bracing weather enjoying the mountains, this warm, friendly restaurant turned out to be seriously good value for money. Being BYO is a significant advantage.
We were a group of 10 and every plate was well received.
Go with a large appetite as the servings are generous.
I'm looking forward to going again and next time, I shall walk just that extra bit so that I don't feel guilty about the bread and butter pudding which was an all time great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

At first I was disappointed to find this cafe was not as I remembered from past trips to Katoomba. Not only was there a change of ownership but also a change of cuisine. But my disappointment didn't last long. The cuisine is modern asian. Although the decore is not flash, the food is delicious and very reasonably priced. The service fast and efficient. And the desserts were yummy with very big servings. Sadly I couldn't finish all of mine. Pins is an obvious favourite with locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDeb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals we've ever had”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pins was recommended by a work colleague. I'm not sure how they could.

My Entrée consisted of a BURNT and oily potato Rosti and side of vegetables - 90% onions, leaks and shallots with a couple of bits of carrot, capsicum and mushroom. Very oily.
For a main, I maybe chose badly ? Who puts large potato pieces into a Pesto Spaghetti? Weird and oily.
The worst part was the awful deserts - great looking and very colourful but that was the worst Tiramisu I've ever had. Too much Gelatine, very spongy, bad texture and just awful.

My daughter's and partner's meals were just as bad. The Japanese Gyozas were deep fried and tasteless, the duck piece was so small, there were a couple of bites on it and the Kangaroo (huge portion) had every piece cooked in a different way from Rare to almost well done. The salad on top just had oil as a dressing. The Bomb Alaska and White Chocolate mousse, were again full of gelatine and tasted awful.

The only good thing was the service. The atmosphere may have been nice if it wasn't so noisy.

Will certainly will not be going back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I really don't understand the rave reviews, my experience was simply average. We had undercooked flavourless food. When we talked to the owner the offer was to microwave the food to cook it properly, which seems wrong for the amount they're asking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jags2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pins on Lurline also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Pins on Lurline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing