We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, good service, great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pins on Lurline

Pins on Lurline
Ranked #10 of 89 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NOW OPEN FOR CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH FROM 9.30AM ON SUNDAYS. Pins on Luline's setting is a Katoomba landmark, a grand historic house built at the turn of the century. We deliver fine food with Australian and Italian flavours, with a focus on locally sourced produce. We provide an intimate, cozy and comfortable dining experience, set in the heart of the breathtaking Blue Mountains. Visitors can enjoy the surrounding natural beauty and the outlook of our stunning traditional English gardens with a glass of locally sourced wine.
Narara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Friendly, good service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Couldn't fault anything from the time we walked through the door til the time we left. Plenty to choose from the menu and specials board. Dinner Tuesday to Sunday. Good idea to make a reservation. They also have a take away menu. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    129
    41
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food - book early.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I called in here during the day on the off chance they would have a table for dinner. The owner said they were full but could squeeze us in on one of the outdoor tables after the first sitting had finished but it might be a tad cold. The food was excellent and definitely worth the risk of being cold. Actually, the evening was lovely and sitting outside turned out to be great. Service was also great.
Would definitely reccomend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value food but not the service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The menu is a mixture of Japanese, Asian, Italian & Australian cuisine. The food was delicious, our favorite dish was Gyoza (Japanese style dumpling) & prawns in skewer. However the service was another matter. We ordered a bottle of $26.00 wine from them. The waiter brought the wine with 2 wine glasses, left it on the table & disappear! He didn't even offer to open the wine bottle for us or let us have a taste first! We also told the waiter we will have one dessert to share between us but when the dessert came he just gave us 2 spoons but no plate! The restaurant also charge 2% for the credit card if you don't pay cash!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afong138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trying to be too many things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After dinning last night I feel that I need to write a review. Mains are $15-27 and cover australian, Kangaroo, to Italian, pasta. I was lost in the selection of food. Much much too many dishes. Wagu beef to risotto, and duck leg. The food was good. However the breshetta was the worste eaten. It seemed to be tomato paste on bread, with cheese and pesto then all grilled. Please use slided real tomato. The desert was standard too. One of our party have creame brûlée but the menu did not say it was ginger flavoured. The two things that ruined the evening for us. The water jugs. These are the ones you see in a pub(hotel) for serving jugs of beer. GET RID OF THEM. They make the place look like a $2 knock shop. The other thing adjust the prices to allow credit cards not having two prices on the bill. If a table of four eats and costs them $200 will they have cash or card? A 2% surcharge is not a nice thing. Yes it is on the menu, but there is no ATM to get money from unless you drive into town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelH_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New resto???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If this is what used to be the Swiss restaurant, it is relatively new, so how can it now be classified as the Number one restaurant in Katoomba.
We tried to book for lunch one week with the family and were told they open obly for dinner.
I did have meals often at the Swiss Restaurant owned and run by a Swiss couple and the kids.
Great authentic Swiss menu through and through.

We now have to try Pins on Lurline. How long since this resto opened with the new owners? Anyone know??
AC

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AC808_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pins on Lurline also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Pins on Lurline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing