We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying to be too many things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pins on Lurline

Pins on Lurline
Ranked #12 of 89 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NOW OPEN FOR CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH FROM 9.30AM ON SUNDAYS. Pins on Luline's setting is a Katoomba landmark, a grand historic house built at the turn of the century. We deliver fine food with Australian and Italian flavours, with a focus on locally sourced produce. We provide an intimate, cozy and comfortable dining experience, set in the heart of the breathtaking Blue Mountains. Visitors can enjoy the surrounding natural beauty and the outlook of our stunning traditional English gardens with a glass of locally sourced wine.
Upper Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trying to be too many things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After dinning last night I feel that I need to write a review. Mains are $15-27 and cover australian, Kangaroo, to Italian, pasta. I was lost in the selection of food. Much much too many dishes. Wagu beef to risotto, and duck leg. The food was good. However the breshetta was the worste eaten. It seemed to be tomato paste on bread, with cheese and pesto then all grilled. Please use slided real tomato. The desert was standard too. One of our party have creame brûlée but the menu did not say it was ginger flavoured. The two things that ruined the evening for us. The water jugs. These are the ones you see in a pub(hotel) for serving jugs of beer. GET RID OF THEM. They make the place look like a $2 knock shop. The other thing adjust the prices to allow credit cards not having two prices on the bill. If a table of four eats and costs them $200 will they have cash or card? A 2% surcharge is not a nice thing. Yes it is on the menu, but there is no ATM to get money from unless you drive into town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelH_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    129
    41
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New resto???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If this is what used to be the Swiss restaurant, it is relatively new, so how can it now be classified as the Number one restaurant in Katoomba.
We tried to book for lunch one week with the family and were told they open obly for dinner.
I did have meals often at the Swiss Restaurant owned and run by a Swiss couple and the kids.
Great authentic Swiss menu through and through.

We now have to try Pins on Lurline. How long since this resto opened with the new owners? Anyone know??
AC

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AC808_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to accomodade a customer. Even when busy they take their time to service a customer with their besdt effort.
I had the kangaroo steak the first night and it was easily the best I ever had, Tender and flavourful.
The second night I had the pasta pommodoro that was made with a fresh tomato sauce, eggplant, and cheese...delicious.
The bill is surprisingly good value. Booking is necessary!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best kangouru meal I had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was the 3rd time and really, it was the best one, medium rare with its light tomato sauce. Very delicious. My wife had a salmon and it was also delicious, not talking about the desserts. Note: dont forget to reserve.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Informal dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us, and knowing it appeared a popular place booked in advance to ensure we had a table. On arrival we were greeted and although there was only one other couple dining In the venue at the time, we were positioned right beside them, making us feel uncomfortable as we could hear their conversation and them ours. the restaurant did fill during the hour we were there, but we could not understand why we were positioned where we were. Menu was interesting and varied and different to what we were expecting. We both ordered pasta (spaghetti) meals and while there was plenty of pasta, not very much additions. Sweets were also varied and we both enjoyed the bread and butter custard. While the restaurant looked very special from the outside, it was seemingly very informal inside and a little disappointing to us as we were looking for somewhere special with linen tablecloths which the outside would deem you to expect.Tables were close together and covered in stiff paper sheets. so if you are looking forward to a less formal venue and enjoy Italian pasta meals and Japanese dishes You will probably love it. it just wasn't what we were really looking for. Service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pins on Lurline also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Pins on Lurline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing