We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Stay”
Review of No. 14

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
No. 14
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hostel Stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My first stay in hostel accommodation in Australia and I was not disappointed, a low cost ensuite upgrade was offered on arrival, staff were ore than helpful and could not do enough. Clean basic accommodation, with wifi and Internet, shared tv lounge, kitchen facilities etc wit complimentary cereal and toast for breakfast, lovely stay, just take ear plugs as it can be noisy if located near the kitchen or shared areas. I felt safe here and would recommend to any traveller of whatever sex/ age.

Room Tip: If Possible choose a room Away from the kitchen or common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
80
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was such a homely and peaceful place to stay. The staff were so friendly and really helpful giving us hints and tips on where to visit. The hostel had such a lovely atmosphere. Really good value for money and we would deft recommend if you are planning on coming this way and want a great base with home comforts and some peace and quiet. Thanks very much Team at No 14.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

No.14 hostel felt more like home. They had a small common area that allowed people to talk to each other. If you want to relax, there is a porch outside too. The staff were amazing, they were very helpful and accommdating. The bathrooms were big and spacious. The whole set up felt like a home. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplykarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and clean, great value. We paid $ 65 for a double with shared bathroom (never had to wait for either toilet or shower), there's free and very good wifi (100Mb but you can ask for more if you run out), also a computer for free use, free cereals and tea/coffee, books, maps... Cheap laundry. Small and friendly, no part hostel, very quiet. Close to the station. The lady who runs the place is really nice and helpful, ask her for tips about hikes! If you are in Sydney and have some days to spare, come here, Blue mountains are beautiful, with plenty walks to choose from, and it's cheaper than hang around in the expensive hostels in Sydney

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Just didn't see them that much. Free wifi. The showers and rooms are clean and tidy. If your coming to this area it's worth staying here. A twin room was $65 which is ok for the room size.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Blue House as a group of four to do some canyoning. It's hard to think how this great little cottage could be better! It was cozy and clean, very reasonably priced, not far from the town centre and the management were great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanGeorge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Great location, amazingly homely atmosphere and then staff are incredibly helpful. It's very friendly and makes it easy to meet other travellers and because its quite small only a couple of people are staying here at a time, which makes it feel like a family home. Its also a sensational value for money - you can't beat the price. If it was any more laid back, it would probably fall over :D I would definitely recommend it to anybody looking to come to the blue mountains!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 14

Property: No. 14
Address: 14 Lovel St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small friendly family run hostel located in the beautiful world heritage area of the Blue Mountains. The hostel is in an original 100 year old guesthouse, it has a beautiful sunny veranda overlooking colorful gardens. We offer simple rooms which are kept clean and warm, perfectly suited to quiet peace seeking travelers who want to relax and chill out in close proximity to stunning natural areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your No. 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 14 Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing