We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of No. 14

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No. 14
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and clean, great value. We paid $ 65 for a double with shared bathroom (never had to wait for either toilet or shower), there's free and very good wifi (100Mb but you can ask for more if you run out), also a computer for free use, free cereals and tea/coffee, books, maps... Cheap laundry. Small and friendly, no part hostel, very quiet. Close to the station. The lady who runs the place is really nice and helpful, ask her for tips about hikes! If you are in Sydney and have some days to spare, come here, Blue mountains are beautiful, with plenty walks to choose from, and it's cheaper than hang around in the expensive hostels in Sydney

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 186 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Just didn't see them that much. Free wifi. The showers and rooms are clean and tidy. If your coming to this area it's worth staying here. A twin room was $65 which is ok for the room size.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Blue House as a group of four to do some canyoning. It's hard to think how this great little cottage could be better! It was cozy and clean, very reasonably priced, not far from the town centre and the management were great!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanGeorge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Great location, amazingly homely atmosphere and then staff are incredibly helpful. It's very friendly and makes it easy to meet other travellers and because its quite small only a couple of people are staying here at a time, which makes it feel like a family home. Its also a sensational value for money - you can't beat the price. If it was any more laid back, it would probably fall over :D I would definitely recommend it to anybody looking to come to the blue mountains!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagmar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was so happy when we stumbled across this lovely guesthouse, very reasonable for what you get very clean and we felt very welcome. It was a pity that the weather was so bad when we visited, we didnt even get to see the 3 sisters yet the time we spent in the guesthouse made it worth our while, I'm writing this a year after I visited as I feel it really deserves the positive review

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonalHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 1 night as a family of 4, I wanted to introduce our children to a “back packers lodge”. This was a great introduction with clean spacious rooms and a very well organised kitchen where each room had its own shelf and a box In the fridge. The outside seats are great place to relax in and share stories with other travellers. Good location for exploring the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sunshine8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Homely and warm is what I would describe this place as soon as I walked in.It is also eco-friendly, with awesome murals of katoomba and its wildlife on the walls, lovely garden, and small but clean rooms with wooden floors and furniture. While the common areas were too small to accommodate so many people (and it was pretty busy as we stayed the week before New Years), nevertheless everyone who stayed there were considerate of each other and cleaned up after themselves. I must say that the owner is a very trusting and kind person - and I would recommend her advice on all the places to see/trek around the blue mountains. The place is close to the train station, and from browsing the web probably one of the cheapest places in the area to get a private/double room. Would definitely recommend this place if you're an avid hiker and would like to explore everything the blue mountains has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
#16 of 19 in Katoomba
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 14

Address: 14 Lovel Street | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: $20 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — No. 14 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small friendly quiet hostel located in the beautiful world heritage area of the Blue Mountains. The hostel is in an original 100+ year old guesthouse, it has a beautiful sunny verandah overlooking our colourful garden. We offer simple comfortable rooms which are kept clean and warm, perfectly suited to quiet peace-seeking travellers who want to relax and chill out in close proximity to stunning natural areas. Many of our guests say it's "like being at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your No. 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 14 Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing