We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 14

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
No. 14
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 1 night as a family of 4, I wanted to introduce our children to a “back packers lodge”. This was a great introduction with clean spacious rooms and a very well organised kitchen where each room had its own shelf and a box In the fridge. The outside seats are great place to relax in and share stories with other travellers. Good location for exploring the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    52
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
77
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Homely and warm is what I would describe this place as soon as I walked in.It is also eco-friendly, with awesome murals of katoomba and its wildlife on the walls, lovely garden, and small but clean rooms with wooden floors and furniture. While the common areas were too small to accommodate so many people (and it was pretty busy as we stayed the week before New Years), nevertheless everyone who stayed there were considerate of each other and cleaned up after themselves. I must say that the owner is a very trusting and kind person - and I would recommend her advice on all the places to see/trek around the blue mountains. The place is close to the train station, and from browsing the web probably one of the cheapest places in the area to get a private/double room. Would definitely recommend this place if you're an avid hiker and would like to explore everything the blue mountains has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved this place. It had the charm and character of an old English B&B which, us being brits, struck a chord with us. Really friendly owners/staff, great kitchen with full equipment etc. Laudry facilities were good and also cheap. Very comfortable sleep in a lovely room. I'd recommend No14 to anyone thinking of visiting the Blue Mountains.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed one night here while visiting the Blue Mountains. Its about a 10 minute walk from town. When walking from town, its easier to take the left hand side of the road on Lovel St as the walk is easier and you won't get lost by accidentally turning into the wrong lane like I did ;-)

I paid extra to get a room for just me and if you like privacy, that's probably a good option. Otherwise the dorm is equally good if you don't mind sharing. Clean, basic and good place to stay. Everyone was pleasant and accommodating. This was my second time in a hostel and given that I was on a budget, it was a good place to stay.

Note that is one big shared bathroom. Its was ok and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanthi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

it was a lovely one night stay, I enjoyed the helpful and mixed crowd competing in the lovely clean and fully equipped kitchen, and had a nice and interesting chat at the fireplace, but I have to admit, I wouldnt want to stay much longer as it is pretty busy here.
The dorm was 25 AUD per night including Wifi and cereals, which is a great deal, but also be aware that there is only one bathroom...

Room Tip: If you can, book a room upstairs. The house as wooden floors that transfer a lot of noise downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed there for one night but had a felling to stay longer there. Mandy the owner of the Hostel is doing a exellent job. The room are really nice and clean. The kitchen and bathroom facilities was clean as well. We had the felling to stay at our grandmothers home. It is a small, familiar hostel which we really liked. If we are coming back to the blue mountains we will defenetly stay there more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Having read loads of positive reviews online about No.14, i arrived with high expectations. i was not let down.

The hostel itself was warm and homely. it had extensive wood flooring and panelling with a nice fireplace. the kitchen, toilets and rooms were spotless. there was also heating channelled into each individual room under the floorboards.

we were given free WiFi which is always a nice touch. There was a nice lounge/living area for guests to sit around/have meals. the staff were also extremely helpful.

My only complaint was that the bed was a little too soft. the springs were sagging and creaking. For this, and only because of this, it gets a 4/5 rating. Everything else is 5/5. Do note that No. 14 can also be a little difficult to walk to if you have a bit of baggage because you need to walk about 500m on steep, hilly roads.

But other than those, the hostel was excellent. i would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 14

Property: No. 14
Address: 14 Lovel St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small friendly family run hostel located in the beautiful world heritage area of the Blue Mountains. The hostel is in an original 100 year old guesthouse, it has a beautiful sunny veranda overlooking colorful gardens. We offer simple rooms which are kept clean and warm, perfectly suited to quiet peace seeking travelers who want to relax and chill out in close proximity to stunning natural areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your No. 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 14 Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing