We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here in a colonial room (ensuite but not premier standard). for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the old world charm of this beautiful hotel.
Character, atmosphere and the feeling of the grand old days when hotels such as this were the ultimate in accommofdation.
Breakfast, included in the meal, in the Grand Dining Room was lovely - plentiful, quality food. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a lift if you have luggage or want to avoid the stairs. Common areas were great - billiard room, library, lounge, etc..
The bed and room were comforatble. The bathroom was old but more than adequate and remember this is an old hotel so if you want an ultra-modern bathroom you won't find it here. But you will find old world charm by the bucketload. And the hotel is in remarkably good condition contrary to what some commenters have said.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for The Carrington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 944 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

On arrival you are greeted with the magestic, beautiful exterior, I asked my husband several times if we were really staying here!!! Somebody pinch me!!!!

When you walk inside you first see chandeliers and statues everywhere, beautiful posh period furniture and the most friendly staff!!

The room was so pretty, at any moment I expected to open my eyes and be back 100 years. The huge bathtub was lovely, the room was warm (split system and heated towel rail), we had a window seat and frosted/stained windows (our room looked out over the back of the hotel so you didnt need to see the view).

Dinner in the restaurant was the best we have EVER had. We are wedding photographers and locals to Pokolbin so have eaten at all the flashest restaurant the hunter vineyards have to offer and the Carrington blew them all away.

The cocktails in Champagne Charlies (their bar) we delicious, highly recommend the Cheesecake Martini, YUM!!!!!

There are many beautiful lounge areas, guests randomly play the pianos and there is period music that further adds to the old world feel.

They have a historian that does tours of the Carrington and also have a look at reception as they have a little book on the history or the building. It's fascinating!

They are right in the middle of the main street, lots of restaurant and little shops. The city bank brasserrie has great food and you can order the food right to the carrington. The brasserrie had a great band on the Saturday night.

Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Ignore the bad reviews and you won't regret it!!!

Just a note... You do need to carry your bags to your room. If you are the type of person who would complain about this then you are the type of person who would complain about anything so buck up, by a suitcase with wheels or stay somewhere else. There is a 100 year old lift, very cool, so you don't need to carry your bags far anyway.

Another note.... In winter park undercover, lots of cars didn't start in the morning because of the cold. We parked I'm their undercover area and we were fine :o)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccy351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Having hauled our bags up the front steps, we were directed to a lift - no offer of help from reception. This lift was apparently about 100 years old, and a notice asked us to be patient. The doors tried to devour our luggage, and we had to jam a suitcase across them to gain entry. We found our way to the 'colonial' wing, via narrow glass doors (a notice said 'Do not leave open' - they were wedged open) and more stairs. We read that this wing had recently been refurbished. I would hate to see the other wings!
The room was dark and dingy, and the coloured glass window opened on to a corrugated roof and satellite dish. The shower over the bath worked surprisingly well, but the enamel was badly chipped and you would not have wanted to take a bath.
There was a pleasant verandah at the front of the hotel, but it faced a 'pub' at the end of the driveway, and this was rather noisy.
The town of Katoomba itself was a disappointment - rather down at heel - in fact just like the hotel: so by all means visit the Blue Mountains, but find another town to stay in.
Fortunately we only stayed one night, and headed off early to Sydney.
On the plus side, the breakfast was quite reasonable and the staff in the restaurant and bar friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Stayed in one of their 'Junior Suites' for one night and have to say, their service is pretty much non-existent. For the price I paid ($300/night), I expected at least some level of personal service- but nothing! There is no room service as standard and even when you are in the dining room or the bar, the staff seem to ignore you and try their very best not to make eye contact.

The Hotel on the other hand is pretty unique.. Its in the old Victorian style and has a lot of history about it. The food is also quite good but I wont be going back, if only for the lack of service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I had booked the Carrington for my family from England before having seen some of the reviews about rude staff and poor food ... and was pleasantly surprised. Wonderful, grand old historic hotel from a bygone era, with many original features. Although the bedrooms weren't glamorous and good do with a rethink in terms of design (not the historic features of course!)- and the bathroom suite certainly needed restoration, we loved the ambience - particularly the 100 year old billiard table which we played on each night. There is a lovely verandah out front to relax on and sip cocktails before heading down to the Old Bank restaurant at the end of the drive where we enjoyed a good family meal (though my nieces didn't like eating Skippy). We also had a fabulous massage in the day spa!

Great central location - in a quirky old town from yesteryear - easy to get to the sites of the Blue Mountains such as Echo Point and the 3 Sisters. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzystaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Ate at the restaurant on Saturday night, what a pleasure! The food was so much improved since the last time we ate there. We will definitely be making this one of our regular eating spots, well done Chef!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SedSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

If you like old hotels, with the aroma and dim lighting of the Victorian era upon them, you'll like the Carrington. It was obviously THE place to be in the old days, but it is pretty dated now. On the other hand they did include free wi-fi and a decent breakfast in the price, so I'm not complaining. Travellers just need to be aware of what it is.

I do have to mention, however, that the elevator was not working while we were there. Staff carried a bag when we arrived, but never showed up when we asked for staff upon leaving. They never offered a few dollars off for this inconvenience and, upon checking out, the front desk lady said "Sorry about the elevator, but what can you expect from a place that is more than 100 years old?"

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCTroubador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $102 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing