We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic beauty, very relaxing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carrington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic beauty, very relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in May and were amazed. We both wished we could have stayed much longer. It's a classic 19th Century hotel that has a great balance of class and comfort. It was fancy but also quickly felt like home.

We tried both restaurants (the dining room in the hotel and the restaurant upstairs of a building out front) and enjoyed both. But it's also located in the main street of Katoomba, so there are plenty of other places to eat close by.

The cocktail bar has a very extensive list and is worth sampling :)

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but of course not modern. i.e. if you want a fancy new hotel then maybe this won't be for you, as the room fits the decor and the era. But we found it very comfy.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

And finally, it was all surprisingly cheap!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    334
    100
    43
    33
See reviews for
161
448
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Did a three night special at this world-renowned hotel - and were generally not disappointed. Updated and classy fittings, particularly in the bathroom (but it would have been nice to have had a bath as well). But the old world charm is still there.
Attentive staff, great brekky and not over-priced intimate bar with an excellent selection of wines.
And a must is a visit to the wine and fine food centre, which is part of the hotel. An amazing selection of hard to find wines and deli selections - with knowledgeable staff.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room aazy from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KB100255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were were greated with friendly and happy service even at one of the busiest times of the year. Our room was definitely up to standard. We had water presure issues briefly on one day but it was no great problem and all was ok the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here mid-week just for one night. We were soo impressed with how beautiful the building was! It felt like we were staying in a mansion back in the 1800's. We staying in a double room with a shared bathroom down the hall as we didnt want to spend too much money. It was fine, there werent many people staying there and it was spotless so we didnt mind using shared bathrooms. The separate living rooms near the bar with open fire places were so warm and cosey and the cocktails were delicious! However probably the only downside was that no one in the bar knew how to make any of the cocktails and we waited about 20mins for 1 drink which was frustrating. The bar service could definately be improved. Other than that the place was lovely and I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaire7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed overnight in one of the "Traditional" rooms with shared bathroom. Room was simply-furnished, large, clean and pleasant, and warm on a cold Katoomba night. "Gentlemen's Bathrooms" were of an elegant era, even though basic by modern standards. The Continental breakfast was generous, with a good variety of well-prepared and well-presented options, and the common rooms were all warm, welcoming, spacious and comfortable. Without exception the staff were friendly and courteous. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I booked a weekend away for our anniversary in June and stayed in the Lady Carrington Suite. The weekend started fine - we were greeted by friendly staff and given a run down of the best places to eat and given directions to the suite. We decided to order a coffee before heading out and service was extremely slow considering how simple our order was. The room itself is not too bad; nice and clean and the corner spa was not a let down. But then the wedding downstairs began and the couple's choice in heavy bass music meant we were kept awake until quite late. When we complained about the noise the receptionist could not care less and said we had one of the best rooms, what more did we want and to put up with the noise. Rude service is an absolute mood killer for me and when I as finally able to fall asleep I still woke up being annoyed. We booked the hotel back in January and were never informed there would be a wedding, and we would be disturbed and not have access to dinning facilities due to the wedding.

We headed downstairs for breakfast and were greeted by a friendly staff member and also extremely dirty plates. After going through the pile of "clean" plates to eat breakfast from we decided we'd had enough and hightailed it back to Sydney. I should say that when we complained again about the bad service and dirty plates, the hotel bill was reduced by $50. I'd still never go back.

Room Tip: Don't go there during a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The bath was chipped and cracked with rust stains and a perished rubber bath mat. The hand basin was in a similar dilapidated state. The electric blanket on the other side of the bed didn’t work, the pillows were so flat that even with all four supplied I still awoke with a wry neck.Every movement and sound from rooms adjacent and above echoed in my room. On my last morning I was woken by hammering and drilling at 7am.On my arrival I was looking forward to sinking into a comfy chair with a glass of wine and my book in front of the raging log fire in cosy guest lounge. However there was insufficient staff to remove the glasses and plates that kept piling on tables over two hours, let alone tend the fire. In order to read I had to use the light on my phone.Despite the hotel being booked out, there was no food served after 4pm. After the lack of dinner the previous night, I was looking forward to a couple of eggs for breakfast but hot food was not included in the $220 nightly rate. On checking out, as I was paying for the extras (including $34 for a $10 bottle of wine) via EFTPOS I was obviously too slow putting in my pin number because the receptionist said, “Haven’t you finished yet?” If you have a disability, forget the Carrington. There are no disabled parking spaces but if there were, you would not be able to negotiate the numerous steps to the hotel. And even if you did manage to get in, you would be foiled by the lift that demands you open the door within 30 seconds otherwise it closes and you have to start again. The glass fire doors that are so heavy they can only be opened by firemen. I was booked into a “Colonial Room” which means it is a relic of colonial times. Peeling paint, cracked porcelain and the generally shoddy condition of this establishment are not quaint and quirky. They are shabby, not chic, and this place is long overdue for a refurbishment.

Room Tip: Don't choose a Colonial Room. No disabled facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing