We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grand old hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful grand old hotel..”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved it..lovely ambience.Would recommend staying here..the hotel has been refurbished beautifully..you felt like you were stepping back in time..high tea was fabulous..only negative was the bed was really hard...it was a huge bed.the biggest king size i have ever see but was like sleeping on concrete....would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    362
    111
    45
    37
See reviews for
183
487
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Checked into a suite for a weekend stay with my husband. Was blown away when we walked into the room to find it really hot and no air conditioning switch in sight. I went down to reception to say that there must be something wrong for me to be told the whole hotel is not air conditioned. For the price we were paying it seemed bizzare that this grand hotel hadn't come completely into the 21st century. We checked straight out and went to Lillianfels which was amazing.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Carrington for one night as our friends were married in the hotel's gardens. The hotel is stunning and the rooms are charming, clean and functional. The meals served at the venue were delicious and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are planning a trip to Katoomba and The Blue Mountains.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A beautiful old hotel which must have been wonderful in its hey day. The rooms were not all standard but all had their own charm. The old charactaristics had been kept but with modern comforts. Situated in the centre of the town it was very well placed for both restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem REap
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Blue Mountains are widely unknown from the European public. It is older and as spectacular as the grand canyon in Colorado, USA. If you have an opportunity to visit, there is a hotel you should not miss to experience the grandeur of the British empire of past centuries. The Carrington is a historical place fun to discover. The library, the bar, the grand dining room, the billiard and the music room bring reminiscence of the past. The food and beer at the bank restaurant are so British you could die. I recommend the steak & guiness pye. The breakfeast included in the room are excellent and huge. The rooms are confortable, our bathroom had a jacusy. The Carrington in the blue mountains are not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeritageSiemReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just got home after an amazing long weekend at The Carrington Hotel celebrating our 3 year Wedding Anniversary. We were blown away by the ambiance of this historic hotel, the amazing decor, the fantastic choice of restaurants along with the bar underneath a spectacular stained glass ceiling. My wife spent 2.5hrs in their new spa and came out refreshed and relaxed. Drinks on their verandah was a great place to watch the afternoon go by. The Hotel is in the main street, and is in walking distance to shops and other restaurants. Breakfast is continental but with an option for a cooked breakfast for a very affordable $12. Our room was gorgeous with all the facilities we needed with a huge bathroom, and had views out towards the Jamison Valley. This Hotel reminded my wife and I of some spectacular hotels we stayed in Vietnam (old world experience), Sofitel Dalat, La Residence Hue and Sofitel Metropol Hanoi. This hotel is definetly one of the top places to stay in Katoomba (we know, we dined at Darleys and had High Tea at Lilianfels!!!) We definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Bay Islands NL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a last minute trip put together in a few minutes and we picked the hotel out of the what if website and thought we were going to a small, cosy heritage hotel. It was heritage, but there was nothing small about it. It was magnificent. The hotel was built in the 1880s, but is in perfect nick and the stained glass alone is worth the trip. The use of glass fire doors and glass shower stalls to not obstruct the stained glass is brilliant. The staff was excellent, professional and polished. The food was excellent although check before you book that the dining room is open and not closed for a special event. Very clean and the restoration of the bathrooms is excellent and is in keeping with the character of the building. I loved the etchings used in the rooms and hallways, make sure you take a good look. We are visiting from Canada and we were very impressed with the location, the service, the elegance and the pricing was value for money spent. We will return.

Room Tip: The reception staff was very good at helping get a room that met our need of travelling with an infa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntEdnasLBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing