We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful entrance, great service and the perfect location - don't miss the Brassiere for a great dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Most beautiful entrance, great service and the perfect location - don't miss the Brassiere for a great dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed here three times now and it always feel like you are returning home. The entrance is grand and beautiful and the staff welcoming. The rooms are roomy, although a liittle compact with the extra bed. The breakfast is standard continental and is average, however the dinner we had at the Brassiere was so good, we went back the next day for lunch - highly recommend a visit here for the quality of the meal at very reasonable prices - $18 - $22 per main meal.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jxkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    354
    105
    44
    35
See reviews for
170
478
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Carrington for the second year in a row and thoroughly enjoyed it yet again.
This year we upgraded to a balcony room which had more space and opened onto the first floor balcony that looked out over Katoomba and the Blue Mountains, although the weather meant that time spent on the balcony was very limited. Mind you the cold mountain air is part of the attraction of Katoomba for us coast dwellers.
We love this hotel with its old world charm and hope to visit again in years to come.
We ate a most impressive dinner in the Carrington Grand Dining Room after pre-dinner drinks in the adjoining bar and this was our best night of the week we spent in Katoomba and Sydney.
I would not hesitate to recomment the Carrington to anyone who appreciates grand old hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS


Having proposed, stayed the night before our wedding & coming back every year to commemorate our wedding anniversary - we are obvious fans of the Carrington & the fantastic customer service they provide.

We look forward all year to our annual stay in the Lady Carrington Suite & again this year didn't disappoint us.

We love the room. the service, having breakfast in the Grand Dining area, spending time either in the lounge, the library or any of the other rooms is so relaxing.

The only drawback is that the time goes so quick & before you know it, it is time to leave.

We recommend it to anyone wanting to get away & stay at such an iconic hotel in the beautiful blue mountains & we are again counting down the days until we can come back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceeg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Great location - easy to walk main street of katoomba - easy access to restaurants. Amazing architecture for the age of this hotel - the history of this building is amazing. Staff were professional and very helpful - we could not ask for better service. Parking simple and free. Make sure you visit the cellar and the deli attached to the hotel which opened in 2010 - OMG what a selection of food and wine to die for. If you want a memorable hotel experience from yesterday year with modern convenience - then look no further.

Room Tip: The spa baths can be a little loud - acoustics in the hotel are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel was charming - but in much need of cleaning. There were 4 of us in a family room. We didn't even shower there as the bathroom was not appealing whatsoever. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice enough. It just was not our cup of tea. We paid way too much for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was great, more than we hoped for. We were at Katoomba for the Winter Magic festival, surely the busiest time of year for them, and we still experienced excellent service and all our meals were great and well presented. I could not believe the outstanding job they did of cleaning up after such a big day, but by the next morning, hardly any evidence of the day before was left. Very well done!

Room Tip: Many rooms have views, but you will pay for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A beautiful period hotel, with many nooks and crannies to explore and find stylish lounge and library areas.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing