We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS


Having proposed, stayed the night before our wedding & coming back every year to commemorate our wedding anniversary - we are obvious fans of the Carrington & the fantastic customer service they provide.

We look forward all year to our annual stay in the Lady Carrington Suite & again this year didn't disappoint us.

We love the room. the service, having breakfast in the Grand Dining area, spending time either in the lounge, the library or any of the other rooms is so relaxing.

The only drawback is that the time goes so quick & before you know it, it is time to leave.

We recommend it to anyone wanting to get away & stay at such an iconic hotel in the beautiful blue mountains & we are again counting down the days until we can come back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceeg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    350
    102
    44
    34
See reviews for
167
468
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Great location - easy to walk main street of katoomba - easy access to restaurants. Amazing architecture for the age of this hotel - the history of this building is amazing. Staff were professional and very helpful - we could not ask for better service. Parking simple and free. Make sure you visit the cellar and the deli attached to the hotel which opened in 2010 - OMG what a selection of food and wine to die for. If you want a memorable hotel experience from yesterday year with modern convenience - then look no further.

Room Tip: The spa baths can be a little loud - acoustics in the hotel are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel was charming - but in much need of cleaning. There were 4 of us in a family room. We didn't even shower there as the bathroom was not appealing whatsoever. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice enough. It just was not our cup of tea. We paid way too much for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was great, more than we hoped for. We were at Katoomba for the Winter Magic festival, surely the busiest time of year for them, and we still experienced excellent service and all our meals were great and well presented. I could not believe the outstanding job they did of cleaning up after such a big day, but by the next morning, hardly any evidence of the day before was left. Very well done!

Room Tip: Many rooms have views, but you will pay for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A beautiful period hotel, with many nooks and crannies to explore and find stylish lounge and library areas.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I and two friends enjoyed 2 nights in this delightful hotel. Everything was wonderful from the rooms to the breakfast and the included dinner and afternoon tea,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Pros:
Exudes “old worlde” charm.

Cons (not applicable to “Traditional” room):
No air conditioning. Curtains do not draw. Shower hardly works. Car parking spaces scarce. Breakfast is threadbare. Room rates seem to be a lot higher than comparative hotels. No espresso coffee is available at breakfast.

Will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing