We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Views No Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We recently had the displeasure of staying at this hotel. As is often the case, the front foyer and reception area is all very well presented with quaint landscaped front gardens. This is not a boutique hotel, certainly not in comparison to the many boutique hotels that we have stayed at in Australia, New Zealand, USA, South Africa, France and UK. The only good experience about this 3 star hotel is the spectacular views from the room and balcony. The rooms are small with dated soft furnishings, furniture and linen. Pillows were literally as flat as pancakes - I suppose you can always use the scatter cushions. Our room had 3 mature spiders and a mass of cobwebs on the cornices, ceiling and curtains directly above the door leading to the balcony and to the left of the bed. When I contacted Reception, the only staff at hand to assist guests, she was very apologetic and then appeared with the chef who ludicrously attempted to remove the spiders with a pair of stainless steel tongs - of course it failed and the chef later returned with a can of surface spray. The housekeeping is definately shoddy. If you are looking for a night's sleep, let alone a good night's sleep, you can forget it. The exterior balcony lights are left on ALL NIGHT until 4.15am - so we had very little if no sleep at all. The room was lit like broad daylight with some shades down - the lights glared through the entire top section of the glass windows of the room as there were no curtains to block out this section of the glass windows. When I contacted Reception at around midnight, there was no answer or recorded message for After Hours emergency contact. What a nightmare. When my partner spoke to Reception regarding the matter, she said that it was not possible to separately switch off the exterior balcony lighting of the hotel's rooms. This also meant that if you would like to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the views, well you can forget that too, because the amount of flying insects that swarm the place prevents you from doing so. Reception claimed that the hotel would provide us with some sort compensation for no night's sleep, but of course, that did not eventuate. The hotel did transfer us to the other boutique hotel owned by the same company, Lilianfels, but that's another story.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug007A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 476 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2010

I have recently stayed at Echoes for a corporate function there. What a delightful little venue that is as much attentive as it is beautiful. Small, personal and the perfect getaway from the humdrum of the city venues...The food, service and accommodation was of high standard – staff were well trained and welcoming.

Could not fault the location either – it’s located at the end of a Katoomba road (very ordinary town) but once inside, its another world out there. Mist filled valleys, dramatic cliff drops and sounds of wildlife can be enjoyed from the restaurant terrace. The rooms were elegant, tastefully decorated and not too small -everything functions except my TV remote which I was promptly advised that the original has gone missing ..this was the only inconvenience found at the end of a long day.

Echoes really has a fabulous setting and a warm welcoming ambience. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely return with my partner.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPhe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

we stayed here for only 2 nights to get some well deserves R&R. Our room "lindsay" which was a corner view suite was charming and elegant with magnificent views. The staff were very helpful and were discreet. They would do anything for us but did not annoy us with over the top groveling service as we have experienced in other 5 star properties. we felt welcomed and "at home".
Waking up to that magnificent view, having a simple yet delicious breakfast and finishing the night with a magnificent dinner and dessert in our room made for a fabulously romantic and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredricholtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Had a disappointing stay at Echoes. Room had the most amazing view but thats where the luxury experience ends. Had to ask for bath robes, there were fake, plastic flowers in the room, the noise from surrounding showers/taps was loud and annoying, there was mould on the inside of the curtains and the hair dryer was one of those tiny, motel style clip into the wall ones. Not what you expect for $500 a night (and that was a special rate). Staff were extremely helpful and met all requests. Restaurant was excellent with great service although had emptied out by 9pm and was then lacking in atmosphere as tables were set up for the next day around us. Would not go back. Like others, wished I had gone next door to Lillianfels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winetaster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We didnt stay at the hotel but had an amazing dinner there. A tad expensive but the meals and service where top rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This could be a spectacular experience, but for a high price tag and a high star rating it doesn't deliver everything it should. Generally, it's a great spot, a nice building, excellent staff (not all great with 5 star service, but all friendly) and a pleasant ambience. Keep in mind of course that anything about the room is specific to the one I stayed in - others may not be the same. Some general things certainly do apply, however. The room: smallish, but pleasant enough. The furniture probably in need of some updating (especially the couch in which one sinks into in quite the wrong way - ie. no support). I also think that given the amazing view of this property, that all the furniture in every room should be oriented to the view. The desk faces the wall and the couch faces the other wall! Ditto with the view from the bed - when lying in bed looking out - all you see is a rather tacky outdoor table/chair setting with a pot plant on the table which - of course - obscures the amazing view. Get rid of the plant and move the furniture. On this note, the balconies lack any privacy at all. It does mean that people can easily look in to one's room. When you're paying this much for a room, you want privacy. When you're actually ON the balcony, forget it - you'll see everyone right along the balcony on either side. Pretty noisy generally - unavoidable probably, given the proximity of the rooms and the entrance doors to each other. In the bathroom, rather small, with an impossible tap situation - you can't actually turn on the shower and mix the water without stepping into the shower and some people like to sort that out before they step in - too large a shower screen that doesn't move. Only one cake of soap. And no convenient towel rail (behind the door is fine if it's closed - but nowhere otherwise). The room service only operates when the restaurant is working, which is also annoying when one is staying at a hotel that is one of the Small Luxury Hotel chain. This really could be so great but it needs some real thought to all the smaller issues rather than its biggest selling point which is basically the view. As always, it's the attention to detail that distinguishes one high end establishment from another. An overall rating has to be Very Good, because it's not average. However, if there was a good - (why isn't there by the way??) that's what it would be.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We chose to stay at Echoes after our last visit to the Mountains 12 months ago and really happy we made the choice. The hotel was charming and welcoming and the staff quietly attentive. What we were really impressed with was the setting of this hotel..you couldnt ask for better spot in the Mountains for views!! The hotel has only 3 floors and all the rooms backout to the Jamison Valley and each having its own aspect of the valley below. We had a lower garden terrace room which walks out to the pretty landscaped garden and the views are really breathtaking. As for the room size, its standard but we liked the large glass door and windows which brings the outside in. The decor was elegant and not fussy and the heated floors are great when the average temperature was 2-3 degrees.

The restaurant was very busy for the long weekend but still manages to have decent level of service without pushing its guests out the door, something that would happen in a fine dining restaurant in Sydney. The food was fabulous, regional in flavour and indulgent in calories.. served in perfect proportions. We didnt expect much from a restaurant in the Mountains but were really surprised with the overall service and food quality of Echoes.

Other than having to find our car park being taken by a restaurant diner when we returned from our afternoon expeditions we had no complaints. Staff did try their best to move cars for us and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $246 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing