We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Alpine Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic but functional”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very basic and tired accommodation but having said that everything does work. The ac gets the room warm quickly and the beds are comfortable. The wifi was a very poor reception in room 3, I had to keep going outside. On the whole it fits in with the rest of the town, from a European view point everything is very old fashioned.

Room Tip: Poor wifi receptions room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Thank you


Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
35
133
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bc, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Alpine Motor Inn for 5 days in October 2012.
The room was more than basic as it had a small table with 2 chairs to eat at plus a sofa. The room was spacious, comfy and quiet (considering there is a major 4 lane highway right beside it). There is a toaster, fridge, kettle and dishes in the room. The restaurant beside the inn was under renovation when we were there in October 2012. The walk into Katoomba is about 15 minutes but it is an easy walk. We bought some food at the large national grocery store in town so that we could have a quick meal or continental breakfast in the room. There is NO safe in the room so you have to ask the front desk to store your valuables (such as laptops) in their office while you go out site seeing. There is an on-site self serve laundry room. If you don't have a car and are taking the train to Katoomba, a taxi to the motor inn is about $6 to $10. Don't try pulling your suitcases to the motor inn as there are some slopes to contend with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 61 2 4782 2011.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Clean, warm, comfortable, friendly AUD136 night includes continental breakfast for two. A pleasant eight minutes walk to town or the Hop On Hop Off Bus stops 100 metres down the road. No complaints - would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyjonesjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff were very accommodating with there offer reschedule the booking cancellation due to inclement weather " Heavy snow ". A very good establishment with easy access to highway and all places of interest, we would gladly stay there on future trips to this lovely area. A very clean & comfortable place to stay, the staff were happy , courteous & very helpful .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonymulquiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, Front Office Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 61 2 4782 2011.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

as a jumping off point to many places in the Blue Mountains, this Motel caters for all your needs with George, his family and staff going out of their way to provide you with a stay where you will honestly say thank you to them for the time you spent there.
It is because of our stay there I am staying there again this year and will recommend them to any who want value for money, honest and friendly service plus that little extra that too many other places lack.
Close to all amenties and sighteeing attrractions.

Room Tip: tell the management your needs and they help you select the room that suits those needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, General Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank You for kind words, looking forward to see you in October 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was booked on an internet (no refund) basis. Two days after I hit the submit button, I received a phone call asking me to provide the 3 digit access code from the back of the debit card. I was told that without it, they would have to cancel the reservation. As this suited me, I did not provide the code, and hence understood the reservation to be cancelled. I followed this up with email confirmation.
On the day of intended checkout, my account was debited with the full rate. I challenged the hotel and they told me that as it was an internet booking, it could not be cancelled. So in effect, they have stolen money from my bank account.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Jenny G,
I am sorry to read of this problem but I am confused by your review as we do not require the 3 digit CSV code from our guests’ credit cards. I think you have placed this review for the wrong property. We have no record of an incident of this nature. Do get in touch if I can assist in any way
Mitch Bubalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good Motel, very warm and clean room’s.Profesional managers and staff in Motel and Restaurant. Restaurant décor and service one of the best. Hotel and Restaurant is own and managed by same family for last 18 years,
Congratulation

Room Tip: Good Value for Money if you take Bed and Breakfast combination
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katalp, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Alpine Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your recent review. We strive extremely hard to insure that each and every guest to our Motel and Restaurant receive best service every time, value for their money. We value this information and do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Alpine Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Alpine Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Alpine Motor Inn
Address: 197 Great Western Hwy | Corner Camp Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Alpine Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Alpine Motor Inn is quality AAA Tourism Officially Accredited Motel. AAA 3.5 star rated accommodation, most of our rooms are AAA 4 star rated rooms featuring well-appointed king, queen and family guest rooms. All rooms are non-smoking and include ensuite bathrooms, heating, reverse cycle air-conditioning, LCD Digital flat screen TV and wireless internet. Guests are welcome to enjoy our additional onsite facilities including next door restaurant, free parking, public access internet terminal and room service.Yes, in-room WiFi is included in our Motor Inn it is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Alpine Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpine Motor Inn Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing