We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't to it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Dragon Restaurant

Golden Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 89 Restaurants in Katoomba
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange NSW
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't to it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really the only good thing about this restaurant is the cold beer on tap from the bar. The food is pretty ordinary. The staff try but unfortunately it's a thumbs down from me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    17
    28
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Others better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

dined here twice as it was next door to my hotel but wasn't impressed either time. food was ok but overpriced for what it was. service was ok from waiters but got the order wrong, service from manager was poor. i did hear they do a buffet for the RSL on certain nights which is better value for money but ididn't try it.
i'm happy to pay for quality when it's served but this wasn't it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Whyalla_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond Appaling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I cant begin to explain how horrific our experience was. Food was sub standard but the service was worse. It was like the Chinese Restaurant from hell. Be warned, the minute you walk in it seems 'normal enough' but that's where it all ends. They lull you into a false sense of security at the door then it all goes pear shaped. We ordered (after waiting an eternity) and then were told 'please go and pay before we start cooking your meal' I now know why.
1) This is because the food is rubbish
2) You've already paid and cant walk out
3) You will be refused a refund if there is a problem.

We paid for 4 desserts, got given 2, we asked three times and gave up and asked for a refund for the other two instead. We're told no REFUNDS even though they'd run out of those desserts ! and so we were given a bowl of fruit instead? We didn't ask for fruit. We then saw the manager yell at the waitress about the fruit and she had to come ask us to pay for it ! Even though we didn't get the $14 desserts we'd paid for. Incredible

Don't expect a change table in the toilets, they have a kids room but no change table. We were told to 'it's ok just lay the child on the toilet floor' YOU CANT BE SERIOUS ! A kids play room and no facilities for kids?
RSL management need to take a long hard look here and do something, but apparently it's been this way for years, so guessing they don't give a bugger really.
I wont ever return again, not in this lifetime !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dined here on a Monday evening while staying overnight in Katoomba. Food was terrible and overpriced, I ordered the Chicken Schnitzel which looked like it had just been picked up frozen from a supermarket packet and thrown on to a pan to heat up I could not even eat most of it.
Husband had some fish things in batter which looked worse. I asked about desserts and to see what they had to offer on display, The waiter came out the kitchen with two large boxes of individual servings squashed together of cheesecake in one and pavlova's in another (get the picture) i just said..errr no thanks. One good thing i can say though is that the staff were nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food choices at competitive prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had the buffet on the Saturday night and it cost $25 each for all you can eat. Had seafood, including fresh prawns, salads, hot carver & vegetables and asian varieties with either rice or noodles. Also included tea/coffee.
You also have a large menu of 'australian' and 'asian' dishes to choose from which were very fresh, presented well and quickly cooked, so no long time to wait!
We thought this was a great price and what impressed me was the staff! They were very helpful, friendly and eager to please. We didn't book both times we attended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebrussL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Golden Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing