We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lilianfels is in a class of its own; I can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney
1 review
“Lilianfels is in a class of its own; I can't wait to return”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I have been visiting the Blue Mountains since I was a child. I returned with my own family some years ago and discovered Lilianfels. I fell in love with the magic of this resort and return every couple of months. The facilities, service and location are perfect if you want to keep the family entertained or just time out to relax and take advantage of the wonderful spa treatments and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majestic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    441
    236
    92
    40
See reviews for
261
990
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at Lilianfels, We stayed in rm 156 which has nice views of the mountains. We went in June and must confess this time around we didn't go onto Tripadvisor first, otherwise we may have been detered by the recent reviews.
We glad we chose this place because we had a wonderful time.
Good service and yes we were greated and got valet parking. Our luggage was taken into our room as we checked in, and we were given a small tour of the hotel as we were taken to our room.
The decor is old world feel which is the look of the place, although probably needs a little TLC to get it to a higher standard. In our room we had a small LCD panel tv and DVD player which was fine for us. There was a good minibar selection but only endulged in the comp coffee and tea- sorry just can't justify paying for high minibar prices (tip: byo bottled water).
Dined twice at Darley's and loved the food and impecable service.. My fav, the Hereford beef tenderloin, and liquid Chocolate centre cake- more please!
The crowd was mainly couples was one or two families with small kids but generally was quiet. We enjoyed being walking distance to the main attractions, the three sisters and the walking trails at our doorstep.
We had a great time and would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhatzi1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My girlfriend (now wife) took me here for a surprise bday getaway and it was a fantastic surprise. The staff were very helpful and the concierge gave excellent service. Great facilities!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Syd_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last couple of years and it was our favourite hotel in Australia. Unfortunately new ownership has let service and quality slide whilst increasing prices.

Examples of poor quality:

1. We asked for a quiet room in advance of our stay. On arrival we were given the least quietest room in the house - right next to the gravel path on the ground floor and the underground parking, where lots of trade deliveries arrive. We asked to change rooms which took a while and lots of negotiating

2. I ordered from the children's menu for my 16 month old son. The menu read fresh fish, vegetables and french fries. At $30 it was a bit on the pricey side! When it arrived there were no vegetables and I therefore asked for some. The waiter slammed the plate down and went back to the kitchen. Vegetables finally arrived but they were undercooked beans which my son could not eat

3. An a la carte breakfast used to be available. Now it is buffet only, apart from Eggs Benedict. The buffet is certainly below par - 3 star quality at a push.

4. The TV in the room is very old and very poor quality picture. There was a DVD player but that didn't work very well

5. The lounge menu is no longer available after 5pm on the weekends. Which is a bit of a blow when traveling with young children. Strangely high tea is available until 9pm - for which we had to pay $90 for the pleasure. The tres sorelle restaurant has been shut and replaced by the Orangery, which has the same menu as the lounge

There are glimmers of the old service and quality. There are still some lovely staff but the new ownership needs to improve standards and quality before we return again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I'm a frequent business traveller, so frankly one hotel is often just as good as the next in my mind. That simply isn't the case at Lilianfels. From our excellent greeting and check in by Simon, to our perfect dinner on site, served by Reze, to the warm, friendly and best local advice by Patrick, my friend and I were thoroughly charmed. Every thought to our comfort was given. The rooms were gorgeous, beautifully appointed and elegant. The hotel spa and jacuzzi and pool were extraordinary. The setting perfection. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, and will be sure to return with either family or business colleagues. Extraordinary and don't miss!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurawatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My husband and I arrived there for a weekend getaway. We wanted to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet . This was our fist visit and we were not disappointed. From our arrival, the people were all very friendly and helpful. The bellboy brought our luggage up to our room and explained everything about the property. Our room was impecable and very comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the mountains from our window. We then went on a tour and walked around beautiful manicured gardens, and went over to check out Darley's menu and made our reservation for that night. After a long walk on one of the bushtrails, we came back into the hotel and enjoyed a relaxing drink in the Lounge area and although some of the couches look a little tired, the waiter expained that new management were planning to re-uphosleter soon.
Our dinner in Darley's was exactly what we expected, good service and tasty food and we had a quiet romantic table in the corner. After a short walk after dinner we went back to the Lounge and found a pianist playing, so we sat around and enjoyed a drink. The final touch were the comfortable beds. We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I recently spent a weekend in the Blue Mountains and, having read so many good reviews on the Lilianfels hotel, decided to take my wife there for a surprise. I had visited the 3 sisters area on a number of occasions but had never even been into the hotel, so was not sure what to expect.
On arrival, we were made to feel welcome immediately by the professional front office staff who ensured our check-in and transfer to the room was easy and smooth. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated in a theme to match the ambiance of the hotel's "old world charm" . The service we enjoyed throughout our stay was excellent as was the quality of our meals. I was not surprised to hear that their main restaurant had won numerous awards - the quality was superb. The amenitites included an excellent outdoor heated swimming pool and indoor pool, spa and gymnasium and with its prime location, made the hotel a real pleasure to enjoy. Not a place to take your kids for a long weekend as it is certainly in the upper price range, but for a romantic getaway, you could not do better.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canalia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing