We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service and stale scones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible service and stale scones”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

we went to lilianfels for high tea after finding it on the internet, and booked in for the special blooming high tea - which they said was available for the month of october, when we arrived they said that the blooming high tea wasn't available until later that month - we were a bit disappointed by this since we had checked when booking also. Our tea took twenty minutes to arrive and we had to remind them that we were waiting for our food which took them another twenty minutes, and the scones were stale :S... the gardens and ambience are lovely and the location is great but the service has definite room for improvement

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinxiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    453
    239
    93
    41
See reviews for
274
1,005
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

From the time I arrived, everything was just right. My room wasn't quite ready when I arrived (I was very early) but I was assured that it would be ready at the latest by 3:00 pm. The young lady at reception also made a point of taking my mobile number so that she could call me when the room was ready. This she did much earlier than I had expected and I was I was pleasantly surprised that she did in fact remember to call me right away.

When I wanted to move to a different floor, all arrangements were made without any fuss and in the most efficient way imaginable.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay at a well maintained and well run establishment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brer-terrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2009

the hotel as soon as you step in brings back the memories of charmed English royal families. Great interiors and very princely feel. the views out of the room get blocked but if you go out to the lounge and the area outside are great. location is very handy as well. just a quick stroll away from famous three sisters and echo point. all with great views of the mountains.

tried to book a table at Darley's but dis appointed as it was full. that speaks for many awards it has won and the great Chef associated with the food. had to end up eating in the Grill. the restaurant is fairly priced of a casual grill. but the meats were tough and dried out even for a medium and a medium rare steak. quite like my dad's steaks that he like to cook in "MICROWAVE". service was attentive and the restaurant manager was caring. but the quality of food for a five star hotel was far below standard. selection for breakfast in the same restaurant was also like a country restaurant. overall very disappointing food experience.
rooms were clean and nice but lacked the charm as compared to the public areas. but the bed and pillows were very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank startrack_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRaubenheimer, Hotel Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, September 6, 2009
We are delighted these guests had a wonderful time with us and overall their stay was an enjoyable one. It is unfortunate that their steaks were not cooked to their liking and I can assure you that under no circumstances would we ever consider the option to microwave a steak. Our chef and his team set an extremely high standard and a carefully selected, wherever possible locally produced, ingredient list has certainly assisted in The Grill receiving wide acclaim as being the best steaks around and at fantastic value. All of our steaks are cooked on our Char Grill to order so I am therefore unsure of the issue with the reviewers steaks. We always appreciate feedback and I thank the reviewer for their comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Everything about this establishment is par excellence. Simply superb. I would even say it woud be a crime to visit the blue mountains andnot experience the ambience, service and cuisine at Lillianfells. We spent 3 days out of the 17 honeymoon Australia days here. Simply loved it. When they found out we were honeymooning. They were so considerate to send up a bottle of champagne. as we dont drink alcohol,they were so kind to leave a note of apology and an amazing assortment of fruits and chocolates. I must say that was an amzing gesture. keep up the good work. Also guys defintely do the "breakfast with kangroos tour"' THUMBS UP from Pakistan.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

arrived super jet lagged after a sleepness redeye 8 hours flight & 2 hours drive from the airport, but was promptly given a room immediately after my breakfast, walked around Echo Point/3 sisters (3 min walk away) & the nearby attractions and had a wonderful dinner at Darley's (tasting menu with wine matching, worth every penny)

Monique Manners, the guest relations manager, gave lots of ideas in advance, so I took the breakfast with kangaroos tour which was worth it not just for the kangaroos ( ever seen boy kangaroos boxing ?) but more so coz the guide / founder Tim (tread lightly eco tours) was so knowledgeable, everything from the 3 sisters to the drive down to where the kangaroos hung out was just that much more magical at 6:30 am with the sunrays bathing the kangaroos' playground in a golden amber color

also walked the Valley of the Waters, checked the nearby shops & restaurants (in Leura) weather was perfect, food was good, staying at Lilianfels felt like staying in a room of a wealthy uncle/aunt, the views were worldclass, I want to go back already!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Lilianfels
Booked a room through their website at special rate, aiming to relax after some stressful work demands. We were attracted to Lilianfels because it seemed sophisticated, luxurious with a good location. We were disappointed on the first two. Everything seemed to cost 20% per cent more than comparable Australian hotels, but quality seemed to be at least 20% less. So many little things were wrong, I was pleased to leave. [For comparison in 2009 in Australia we have recently stayed at the Langham, Melbourne, Hyatt Canberra].

Positives
Our initial room backed on to the air conditioning plant, with consequent, ‘engine’ type noise. Within ten minutes we asked to be moved, and within twenty minutes we were moved to a less noisy room, with no drama. Room a decent size (some may find it too chintzy). Bathroom was spacious and clean.
Location fantastic with some great views, and easy access to iconic mountain walks. Tennis court was lovely with stunning views.
Darleys Restaurant had more character than many hotel restaurants. Good selection of wine by the glass. Our young waiter was authentic and thoughtful.
Room Service delivered a perfectly grilled scotch fillet, chips and salad (and a nice glass of Shiraz Grenache). Good ravioli with artichokes.
Very comfortable, professional hotel limousine service (expensive).
Staff well-meaning.

Negatives
Overall staff seemed to be barely coping with weekend crowds. Spa service was factory-like, used towels piled up and falling onto bathroom floor. Masseuse started by complaining about getting RSI from massaging. I felt bruised for 2 days afterwards.
Housekeeping interrupted, despite ‘do not disturb’ sign being in place, firstly to bring a small fruit plate, secondly to deliver towels. Husband nude at the time.
REALLY poor quality television, small and old with failing remote.
Minibar set at head height, several times on opening large water bottles fell and hit me on the head. No in-room wi-fi. Infuriatingly slow cable internet at desk, exorbitantly priced at $35 per day.
If you grab the hanging hand towel from the towel rack, your bath towels (which are packed on top of it) will fall into the bath. The first time our bath was full of water.
No wine in mini-bar (other than half bottle of champagne) no wine list available in room, you have to specifically follow up - ‘I would like to order a glass of wine with dinner’ ‘What do you want?’ ‘What wines do you offer by the glass, there’s no menu’, ‘I don’t know, I normally do breakfasts’ ‘Can you check if there is a list there, I would be just guessing at what might be available’ ‘Oh, Ok, can you hold on’ Overhear muffled conversation where staff try and figure out what wines there might be, and discuss concept of wine varietals.
Although breakfast was brought on a trolley table, our room service dinner not. Because the desk was covered in computers and reading material, I ate my 5 star steak off a footrest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RulyTruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRaubenheimer, Hotel Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, August 30, 2009
I am pleased that this guest has taken the time to write a review following their stay however; I am concerned that their stay was not totally up to their expectations and that they felt the hotel is not worth a repeat visit. I do value any feedback and on the rare occasion where a mistake is made, we do try and put measures in place to ensure that despite these little hiccups all of our guests leave with fantastic memories.
From your comments, there are definitely some areas of concern with the service of wine, breakfast and the day spa which are certainly not in keeping with the high standards we strive to achieve and I have taken these issues up with the relevant department heads. We are currently upgrading our televisions to LCD flat screen High Definition TV’s which has helped in the reception of some of the free to air channels but has also given us the opportunity to increase the number of channels on offer.
I would very much like to speak to this guest to discuss the various issues raised in order for us to gain back some credibility in their eyes but more importantly to ensure that these issues do not re occur. It is always sad that we are unable to turn back the clock and whilst we aim at the highest standards and certainly we have a reputation for delivering on this, sadly problems can arise, however once aware, every effort is made to resolve these problems to the guests complete satisfaction. Please be assured that we will indeed do everything we are able to, to make sure that should they choose to return, their total stay will be to the standard they would expect from a five star establishment
Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at Lilianfels for one night. Wish it was longer.
The resort is just beautiful and the service exceptional. From the moment we drove through, the lovely man parked our car for us and showed us to our room.
We had a deluxe room and it was perfectly clean and lovely. The only possible complaint was the small window. Everything else was great! The beds are so so comfortable.

Afternoon tea was wonderful and the staff were excellent and very helpful. The scones were to die for. The man playing piano by the fireplace added that extra special touch.

The grounds of the resort are immaculate and gardens well manicured and you can'r ask for a better location. The resort is a stone's throw away from echo point with lovely views of the mountains.

Unfortunately Darleys was booked out for the night but we will definitely look at trying it next time we are there. We had dinner at the grill which was lovely. Good food and great service.

Sadest thing was leaving the resort but we'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helen29000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing