We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentines weekend and had an amazing time. A stone's throw away from Scenic World at Katoomba, the Katoomba Chocolate Factory, Leura Mall and other touristy attractions you don't often make time to see. We stayed in a valley view room and had a wonderful outlook into the valley just outside our window. The three sister's were just to our left and the valley itself straight out front. The hotel itself was gorgeous - the room had ample space and was tastefully decorated. The hotel amenities were also wonderful - we had the Lilianfels High tea on the friday afternoon and were so full we couldn't finish it! The buffet breakfast each morning was also very enjoyable and each staff member we encountered had such wonderfully pleasant dispositions; nothing was too much effort. The indoor pool was great, and the massage we had just as we were checking out was fabulous. Despite the inclement weather, this resort is highly recommended and I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuffy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I fantastic to read that you had a great stay, and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    427
    230
    89
    37
See reviews for
252
955
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you wish to go to a very quiet and very expensive "chill out' hotel then Lilianfels is perfect. The staff are lovely , service is excellent but you pay for that privilege. We had intended on spending the night inside our room and just relaxing, but the rooms are not inviting enough for that. There are no Balconies to step out onto and enjoy your surroundings and although they are big enough the room felt very claustrophobic to us. The wall paper is really "In your face " as well.
We did not venture into the Restaurants as again the menu was way too expensive for our tastes.
The pool is absolutely gorgeous, but again so quiet it was like being in the library.:)
We didn't want to feel like we were at a public pool but this was the extreme opposite.
Definitely not a venue we will be returning too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhS7592SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our facilities, and you see it as expensive and overpriced. Most of what you mentioned is what our guests enjoy when they visit us, Lilianfels is all about the perfect mix of relaxation, and the local products we use in our Kitchens. All this, with the customer service we provide comes of course at a price we believe is in line with the product.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Well we were not disappointed !
The quality of the hotel is pure comfort and quality .
Such a welcome from reception on checking in and all our needs met when we required their help.
Room, deluxe valley view .....and what a view :-)
Pool , inside and outside......everything you require for chilling and relaxing in the sun or not.
Lounge food and breakfast 1st class and Jessica looked after us with enthusiasm and humour .
Will be another visit when next in the Blue mountains! highly recommend lilianfels .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s fantastic to read that you had the perfect stay. I am looking forward to see you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely room as long as you did not look out of the window as ours looked over the car park. Very comfortable bed,tried both swimming pools and found lack of changing facilities at both pools a bit strange, i dont feel comfortable wandering around the resort in a bathrobe which seems to be the only option.
The surrounding and grounds are superb and the location of the resort in easy walking distance of the national park Visitor centre and the start of some of the walking tracks, is great.
Dinner at Echoes restaurant was excellent and staff very kindly arranged for a table by the window so we could enjoy the spectacular view. Breakfast was also good in the Orangery restaurant. In view of all the good things above, why do I feel that Lilianfels is just not special enough to justify its 5 stars? Maybe the front of house was just a bit corporate, not as welcoming as other hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed that you did not feel the Hotel welcoming enough, but I will use your feedback for further staff training, as we pride ourselves with fantastic customer service.

I am currently looking into options for the pool, so please stay tuned as there will be some exiting changes coming up in the near future.
I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Arrived early at the hotel to have the high tea and was very disappointed with it. Serving was not generous and lack of variety. Definitely not worth the price.

Since we were there early we requested for an early check in before going for the high tea. 20 mins later they told us that they have a ground floor room ready for us and we were delighted.
Went in the room, lift up the blanket and found a hole on the bed linen right under the pillow. (see photo). Definitely not acceptable for a 5 star rated hotel.

Didn't get the chance to try the indoor pool. Outdoor pool was ok except it was too small for the number of guests. I guess everyone just decided to go for a swim at the same time.

Pool/Snooker room was not available since there were guests playing all time. Perhaps there ought to be a booking system so that everyone can get a chance to enjoy the pool/snooker room.

Overall experience was good. It was a nice hotel and breakfast at Echo was excellent.
It just needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randy12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoyed the High Tea, and that you found a hole in the bed linen rest assured I will look into it with great detail.

The other issues raised re the pool and the snooker room, are very rare and most of the times this areas are underutilized. I am surprised it was that busy during your stay, I hope you will accept my apologies and I can welcome you back to Lilianfels again shortly.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I would like to start by saying this is a beautiful resort, however considering this establishment is 5 star rated and priced accordingly there was several things I felt needed to be reviewed.

Firstly when I booked I stated that I am allergic to feathers and that the pillows, blankets and cushions in our room should not contain any feathers. At check-in I again raised this issue and was told that the note was on the system therefore it should have been taken care of. When we got to our room everything was feather, pillows, blankets, mattress toppers, chair cushion, etc. We rang the duty manager and he was very apologetic but it still took over an hour to replace all blankets and pillows and vacuum the room which is frustrating considering it had been requested weeks before hand.

The next day our room was cleaned and no towels or robes were re-stocked which we had to ring reception for, again a minor mistake but still frustrating. We went for a swim at around 6pm and there were no towels left at the pool area, when we asked for some at reception we were told to use the ones in our room which I refrained from retorting “the ones which were only just replaced.”

Our car was scratched in the resort car park by another guest and I am aware this is not the resort or its staff fault but I was not happy with the manner in which it was handled. The guest left there contact details at reception (insurance, etc.). At check-out the duty manager had misplaced these details and while I went to investigate the damage he continued to search for it but not very enthusiastically. The scratch was too minor for me to continue to pursue it so on return I told him I would not be following up with my insurance company at which point he stopped his search. I doubt very much these details would have been lost had I been driving one of the many high priced cars in the lot or if they were misplaced that the response would be so lacklustre.

The good points were the resort is beautifully maintained and the pools in particular are spectacular and on another stay we may have had the perfect weekend retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for.\

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with the relevant departments.

I hope I will see you again soon at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Property: Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing