We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great weekend away”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Awesome place to get away. Rooms very comfortable, awesome beds and pillows great lounge space and facilities and Exceptional service. The pool, tennis court sauna and spa were all first class. Food, wine and service at dinner very good

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    441
    236
    92
    40
See reviews for
261
990
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

There were three types of guest at the resort. Young couples, older couples and young families. All attracted by the superb location (and views) and the very well-maintained facilities that include both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a games room with full-size billiards table, an expansive Lounge with comfy couches and a Reading room if one is looking for a quiet retreat. The very friendly and helpful staff and the adjacency to both Darley's and Echoes restaurants are also real benefits. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. There were two disappointments. The servicing of our room was less than committed. Used towels were removed and not replaced, the toilet bowl was studiously ignored and had we stayed another hour, we would have had to call Housekeeping for more toilet paper. The cleaner did leave us her spray bottle of glass cleaner but we felt that another oversight than a request we do the cleaning ourselves. Not what is expected when paying the rates charged here.
The second disappointment was less the responsibility of management but is something that could get more focus. The breakfast experience was far too challenging. Screaming kids, kids picking up the strawberries from the fruit bowl and then putting them back for other guests to take and kids literally running amongst the tables made the whole exercise extremely unpleasant. Whilst it ought to be the responsibility of parents to mind their children, patently many do not and it is to management that this task must default. Maybe all families with kids have to be done in the breakfast room by 9.00am so others can enjoy quiet occupation of the space?
We abandoned the breakfasts after two days and drove into Katoomba.
Whilst the facilities are terrific and the Darley's experience outstanding, there are other more peaceful places to escape for a relaxing weekend. If you have young kids and are reading this, this resort is a good option.

Room Tip: We had a 'valley view' room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I will ensure you that the Housekeeping issue is now again fully rectify, and our F&B team will try there best to control the breakfast situation.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We received a gift voucher for the Lilianfels and decided to use it for our first wedding anniversary weekend. It was a short drive from Sydney and it was a perfect way to celebrate this milestone. The Aroma Massage was exceptional and so was the dining experience at Darley's. The facilities are well maintained and if you're up for catching the sunrise, the Three Sisters are only a short stroll away. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwis_148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
508 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

it`s a fie hotel offering good enough rooms to have a sustainable rest, after your possible hike in the blue mountains.
though we were in a relaxed atmosphere with utmost friendly patient natural stuff-members, the hotel has quite a few hick-ups, but they might vanish if the hotel modernizes its rooms, bathrooms and fitness-area.
prices are a bit too high.
high-tea is fine (choices), surrounding in the lounge is perfect, meaning british european touch of the interior and a view out into their garden.
the location is just perfect, you step out of the hotel and by walking about 50 m you will hit the hiking path top all the beautiful sights of the blue mountains - thats awesome!

the sister hotel ECHOES is better regarding value for money , i think, and next time i will check in there.
about there restaurant "Darley´s " will be written separately

Room Tip: ask for the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

Would you please email me so more information re the hick-ups, as I would like to follow up and get them rectified.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

For a 5 star hotel...it is lacking! The wall paper in the room is loose. The heat did not work first day. The finally brought a space heater. The concierge was not well versed on taxi prices, event schedules etc. it was rainy so we asked for a movie schedule and planned our day to see a certain film. Only to pay a taxi way more than quoted and find the times change every Thursday and our film was only playing 5 hrs later. Very disappointed in the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmdrzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not deliver what we are know for, and I hope you will accept my apologies.

I since ensured that our Front Office team has the correct information on hand.

Would you please email me your Name, so I will be able to located the room your were staying in.

Please e-mail me directly if you would like to discuss your concerns in greater detail

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The feeling of going back in time- Lilianfels is a well preserved hotel with lots of history and style , Yet filled with all the comfort of a 5 star resort hotel.The old photographs.the art and the lively Billiard Room added to the pleasure of 'being in Residence'Just a small caution check with the hotel if it is school Hidatsa time as alot of privileged children were brought to stay and that made it too much of a family holiday home- with children and prams let lose at breakfast and in the lounge. unless you like that on your retreat.So do check that out.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetailIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

From the moment we arrived Lilianfels was a beautiful experience. Relaxing by the pool, late night pool and chess, pre-dinner drink in the lounge and an exceptional dinner at Darley's.
Our room was lovely, fantastic bed and amazing view.
Perhaps the wallpaper could be refreshed and the water pressure looked at, but these didn't take away from our great weekend at Lilianfels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing