We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely worth it!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

There are so many people on Trip Advisor ready to tell a hotel what's wrong, I think it's so important to praise an establishment when it's great & our stay at Lilianfels has been unbelievably great!

The staff are what really make it: Service is always with a smile, nothing is a problem. We experienced the spa and Darley's restaurant and they managed to hit the right mark of genuine warmth and not too relaxed.

I have a job which means I stay in a lot of hotels and sadly more often than not 5 star price tags don't always equal a 5 star experience.

Lilianfels was perfect all round.

Especially the bed, so so comfortable.

Thank you guys for restoring my faith in hotels!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitizenAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

That’s great to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience, and I share your opinion 100%. The beds have just been replaced with the top of the range Sealy product, please let me know if you are ever interested in one, as we get special pricing for our guests?

I hope we can see you staying with us again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@lilianfels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    455
    239
    93
    41
See reviews for
274
1,007
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived we have been well looked after. Whilst certainly not cheap it is a really nice experience. The staff are all friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Darley's Restaurant deserves it's hats and the high tea was delicious. The Spa is sensational and very popular so bookings are essential if you don't want to miss out. September is a perfect time of year to visit because there is more chance of beautiful weather and clear blue skies which is perfect for the short walk to view the Three Sisters. Always best to go early to The Lookout before the hoarders of tourists arrive.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KazinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

That’s great to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience, and I hope we can see you staying with us again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@lilianfels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Darley's restaurant was excellent, good food, good service, good ambiance. Hotel rooms were large, but very expensive. Breakfast was poor (given teh price youa re paying). Fresh (self juice) orange juice machine removed way before breakfast time ended, space too crowded, special orders (boiled eggs) too slow, no sour cream or onions out with smoked salmon. Overall, a good place to stay but too expensive for what was provided

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not deliver what we are known for. We are proud to provide a great breakfast buffet, and rest assured I will look into the issues you experienced.
Please accept my apologies, and I hope I can welcome you back again in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was there today to meet up with a friend.
The meet and greet was very good.
I work in the service industry so i was expecting very good customer service.
I was escorted to my table by a lovely lady.
The resort is beautiful but your food did you no service.
Sandwiches were very dry and nothing really out of the ordinary appealed to me on the serving plates.
You really need to look at what you are serving up to your guests.
We ordered a second round of tea and was brought back one pot of tea and one cup and saucer when we ordered for two people and more than 5 minutes past before we were brought back the extra cup and saucer.
My friend and I went for a walk around the gardens for a few minutes and returned to find plates still on the table that clearly should have been removed from the table.
It wasnt a busy afternoon.
Upon leaving the concierge that farewelled me and was most helpfull and very polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 845Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed to read about your Afternoon tea experience, and rest assured I will follow up with the Kitchen Team. We are proud of our food and to provide great customer service.

I hope you will accept my apologies.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Lilianfels is to be highly recommended. The entire experience was just what we had expected. Excellent, attentive staff at every post. Due to the design, our room was beautifully quiet and very well appointed with a magnificent king sized bed with iron bed head and canopy.room service on our first night was prompt and food fabulous. The breakfast solarium with sun streaming in was pleasant. Lilianfels Echoes Restaurant on our second evening was most enjoyable and food interesting and delicious. The long walks in the crisp mornings showed off the mountains and the valleys in all their beauty. The views and sunsets simply stunning! This resort is well worth a visit!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

That’s great to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience, and I hope we can see you staying with us again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@lilianfels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had always wanted to stay here from when we were a young couple but didn't have any money. Then we had kids so never had time. But now we have a bit of both and it was well worth the wait! Superb location and great rooms with very comfortable king bed. If you want sterile 5 star stay in the city - if you want some quiet old world charm with a touch of class stay here. Make sure you have a beer on the bench seat under the tree out the back and watch the sun set. Priceless:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

As you now have both, I am looking forward to see you again soon, and would love to show you another great spot to watch the sunset.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A beautifully luxurious place to stay but a couple of things we noticed that should be addressed to maximise customer satisfaction, especially for a 5 star place.

The outdoor pool didn't have its solar heating turned on (in Spring) and so despite enjoying laying by the pool, it was too cold to go in. Spring in Australia can be quite warm so this didn't make any sense to us! Also, the pool chairs were not as shown in the pictures, with navy cushions - they were only white plastic which were not very comfortable. There were also broken chairs lying around and no towels available there - instead they were located in the indoor pool area (a 3 minute walk away). We could not understand why there was a huge hedge blocking the view of the cliff tops at the pool! Perhaps this was for privacy but we would have much preferred being slightly exposed to the public if it meant that we could see the clifftops. The Lilianfels website states "with views stretching out to the Jamison Valley...warmed to a welcoming 20 degrees celcius".

We thought the resort could be improved with more seating in the sun, as there were some beautiful spots in the sun with no seating or outdoor lounges which seemed like a waste of space. An outdoor spa would also be a fantastic addition, since the indoor men's and women's spa's don't have much of a view.

The $10 charge for ordering room service or even a poolside drink seemed greedy, and didn't create a welcoming feel.

A few minor things we noticed about our room which were disappointing for a 5 star resort - mismatched wine glasses, mismatched, mugs, a broken pen, and toiletries including 2x Shampoos and no Conditioner, and 2x Shower Gels, and no moisturiser. It would have been nice to have pillow options as both of us ended up with sore necks due to the Feather Pillows we slept on.

Overall, it was a memorable experience, but not quite perfect for the price tag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience. In regards to the outdoor pool, you were very lucky with the temperatures we had for a few days this month, and we acted by turning the heating on last week. We have now got another cold front, and last year we even had some snow in October.
We are currently looking at moving the Gym, and an outdoor Spa is part of the plan.
Rest assured that I will look into the rest of your comments, and will action what can be done, or changed.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing