We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great...but some room for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, NSW
1 review
“Great...but some room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A beautifully luxurious place to stay but a couple of things we noticed that should be addressed to maximise customer satisfaction, especially for a 5 star place.

The outdoor pool didn't have its solar heating turned on (in Spring) and so despite enjoying laying by the pool, it was too cold to go in. Spring in Australia can be quite warm so this didn't make any sense to us! Also, the pool chairs were not as shown in the pictures, with navy cushions - they were only white plastic which were not very comfortable. There were also broken chairs lying around and no towels available there - instead they were located in the indoor pool area (a 3 minute walk away). We could not understand why there was a huge hedge blocking the view of the cliff tops at the pool! Perhaps this was for privacy but we would have much preferred being slightly exposed to the public if it meant that we could see the clifftops. The Lilianfels website states "with views stretching out to the Jamison Valley...warmed to a welcoming 20 degrees celcius".

We thought the resort could be improved with more seating in the sun, as there were some beautiful spots in the sun with no seating or outdoor lounges which seemed like a waste of space. An outdoor spa would also be a fantastic addition, since the indoor men's and women's spa's don't have much of a view.

The $10 charge for ordering room service or even a poolside drink seemed greedy, and didn't create a welcoming feel.

A few minor things we noticed about our room which were disappointing for a 5 star resort - mismatched wine glasses, mismatched, mugs, a broken pen, and toiletries including 2x Shampoos and no Conditioner, and 2x Shower Gels, and no moisturiser. It would have been nice to have pillow options as both of us ended up with sore necks due to the Feather Pillows we slept on.

Overall, it was a memorable experience, but not quite perfect for the price tag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience. In regards to the outdoor pool, you were very lucky with the temperatures we had for a few days this month, and we acted by turning the heating on last week. We have now got another cold front, and last year we even had some snow in October.
We are currently looking at moving the Gym, and an outdoor Spa is part of the plan.
Rest assured that I will look into the rest of your comments, and will action what can be done, or changed.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    427
    230
    89
    37
See reviews for
252
956
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Lilianfels over the weekend for 2 nights. This has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at anywhere in the world. The service and attention from everyone was exceptional from the time we checked in. This includes the restaurant at Echoes, too. We were surprised at such service here in Australia which in most places is very ordinary and full of 'attitude'. It was a very nice stay indeed. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask at reception - they are eager to look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plockart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic experience. It’s our goal to provide good customer service in a relaxed environment. Comments like yours are what our team lives on, so Thank you from the entire team.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wide and I had looked forward to our long weekend at Lillianfels after a month of exhausting work related travel. We were disappointed to say the least.
The high tea in the lounge was excellent but everything else was not... the room we stayed in was full of chintz and was way to twee, the food average, the spa disappointing, the staff lazy.
A relic of the pas that needs a major makeover.
1 out of five fluffy robes.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AaronEveringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not deliver what we are known for. We are proud to provide great customer service, and rest assured I will look into the service issues you experienced in the Lounge.

Please accept my apologies, and I hope I can welcome you back again in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful weekend. The hotel is flawless - beautiful inside and outside. The staff were all amazing - very warm and friendly!
The room was lovely and the spa treatment topped off my weekend! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a flawless experience. It’s our goal to provide good customer service in a relaxed environment. I am sure my team is proud to read your review.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and found this stay probably the best. Rooms are always comfortable - just expect some common problems for older style properties ie. blown fuses. Hotel staff fixed the problem very quickly - no problems. The only issue that we had was cold rooms - even though we switched the thermostat up - it was still cold. When we checked in they were trying to find some portable heaters for rooms.
Dinner in Darleys was exceptional - both food and service.
Overall very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that this stay was your best so far. It’s our goal to provide good customer service in a relaxed environment. Rest assured I will look at the minor issues rest, so the all them sorted out.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friend and I booked a mid-week stay at Lilianfels online as they were offering a deal of exceptional value below their rack rate. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs. The service we received from their staff was of the highest level from Ryu the porter to Hugh at reception. Our room was wonderfully spacious and exactly as described - 2xqueen beds with canopies, french doors opening onto our private balcony. Breakfast in the dining room was exceptional. Everything about our stay at Lilianfels was more than we had hoped for -the location, the accommodation, the food, the service, the guest amenities, the day spa, the decor and the atmosphere. Would love to stay there again and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: the rooms without valley views are much larger and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDeb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay. We aim to give you an unforgettable experience, and both Ryu and Hugh will be delighted to see their names.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night babymoon at Lilianfels.

The resort is lovely and a great location for the 3 sisters, however if you want to go up in to Katoomba you will need to drive as it is a fair distance (not just for a pregnant lady).

The staff at check in were lovely, even when I asked to change rooms due to a loud vent outside the ground floor window. They were happy to accommodate us and moved all our belongings while we enjoyed a lovely high tea.

The front desk staff were always friendly as we came and went. We used the valet parking. Definitely worth the $15 per stay (very cheap) as the parking is very limited.

Our room was lovely. The décor is old fashioned but very good quality and the bed was very comfortable. I always travel with my own pillow but hubby was quite comfortable using the hotel pillows and we both had a good night's sleep both nights.

Service in the lounge was a little slow. Families with kids seemed to get all the attention while we sat and waited, waited, waited for service on Saturday evening. We had to wave down a waitress to order food and even then she went and dealt with the 2 families close by to us first. We had to wait an hour for someone to take our order and it never would have happened if we hadn't pretty much jumped out in front of someone as they walked past.

We didn't get to eat at Darley's but the food in the lounge was very nice and breakfast is pretty good value (we pre-payed before arrival for $25 each per morning) and a nice variety.

We had a massage in the spa. My husband commented he felt more like he got a basting than a massage and I got well and truly pummelled ( a little hard for a pregnancy massage ). I wouldn't return to the spa and found it very expensive for $150 each. The indoor pool is heated but it was still too cold for this time of year. We got in and out in about 5 minutes. Also, the only way in and out is ladders which obviously aren't too safe at 8 months pregnant (no steps in to the water). The outdoor pool is gorgeous and would be lovely in Summer.

Overall it was a very nice stay and we would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room. Some of the ground floor rooms have very large air outlets outside the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay. We aim to give you an unforgettable experience.
I have noted our comments re the lobby and the wait, as well as the spa experience. Rest assured I will follow up. Please except my apologies.

I hope I can welcome you again soon to Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Property: Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing