We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice.but not five star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice.but not five star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location but not five star.
Thought the lounge could do with refurbishing .
Was a bit upset when we paid top dollar for one nights stay and in the morning my daughter asked for a Cappuccino and was told it would cost extra .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are constantly working on projects in the Hotel, and the lounge is on the agenda for early next Year, whilst still looking very impressive we are going through all areas in the Hotel.

We have now installed Espresso machines on our breakfast buffet, but like in most Hotels we do charge for Coffee’s not produced on these machines.

I hope you will understand my position, and I will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    427
    230
    89
    37
See reviews for
252
958
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dee Why, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

One night stay with a friend and a young child. Luxurious, large period lounge area with two separate fireplaces, though difficult to get service and tables cleared. Lovely looking room with matching pink and white bed curtains and wallpaper, however, not for the faint-hearted. Lovely large bathroom with nice products. We had to make several reminder phone calls for the same housekeeping items. There is a sense of luxury and comfort in the resort and spa. Breakfast is one of my favourite indulgences, breakfast here is just OK, but I was well informed in advance by other Tripadvisors and longer staying guests, so I was not disappointed by expectation. Locks on bathroom door would be a useful addition. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestyle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I am pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay; I am disappointed and will investigate further your comments re our service and Housekeeping department.

I hope you will accept my apologies, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is a pleasant journey out of Sydney into the Blue Mountains and is very well located close to ECHO point and outstanding views across the Blue Mountains. Staff was helpful. Valet parking is extra but useful as they are on a confined site. Our room was adequate. The hotel has an indoor and outside pool. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. There is an onsite restaurant but it was not open on the Sunday night we were there. It is very well reviewed but seems very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s great to read that you liked the Hotel and our facilities. Yes, Darleys is closed on Sundays and Mondays, but we have Echoes across the road and Lilianfels lounge if you like to stay within the resort.

Have a great week, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a romantic long weekend up at Lilianfels without the kids.

The property is excellent, rooms fine, and bed so comfy we spent most of our time there ;

For mine the only downside was perceived value - it is expensive to stay there. We didn't bother with the breakfast (went into town instead) and tried the Devonshire Tea one afternoon and it felt like they were skimping. Not major issues, but when you are paying over $400 a night we expected the opulence to extend the whole way.

Overall we had a good time, and would consider going back if we could snag a deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s great to read that you liked the Hotel and our service. I am sorry to hear that you felt it to be pricey. All our prices are in line with other five star Hotels, and need to be at this level to provide the service.

Have a fantastic week, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location but very mixed levels of service, some staff had their finger on the pulse and were only too happy to help, others you felt had no clue. For example we had difficulties with a dinner reservation but amazing service reserving a car spot. Trying to spend Saturday evening in front of the fire with a pre dinner glass of wine was a nightmare as there was a function on, non-hotel guests flooded the living room and noisily took over the whole space. This made it hard to get service, hard to hear my husband chat and no access to the cozy fire as function guests crowded around both open fires. Certainly not relaxing. This happened on my last visit as well, but a smaller group and slightly less invasive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was dampened by the functions group on both visits. Most of the times it’s a wedding having some drinks before they move into their functions room for the dinner.

I hope you will accept my apologies, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is so lovely in winter, the fireplace cracking while you sit and read the morning paper. Sipping on your first coffee.. The rooms are very nice indeed, it feels like you have been sent back in time, there are a few things that should be replaced, but this gives the feel and it has the modern necessaries. The back drop is breath taking.. Waking up in the morning and seeing the fog clear over our trees! it is something that you cannot replica back in the city.
You are only a 5 to 10 min drive away from the local shops, cafe's etc or another 15mins to the trendy Leura shopping strip... Wonderful cafe's and Deli's there as well to stop for lunch.
The staff are very nice and accommodating and the SPA is wonderful.
We visit here every year for a weekend retreat..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s fantastic to read your comments, and I agree “this is nothing you can experience or copy in the City” it the surroundings and the team makes this place magic.

Have a great week, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If my fellow travellers are looking for a place to completely unwind Lilianfels is it.
If they appreciate a unique and extremely high standard of customer service they will find it here.
Friendly, helpful, respectfu,l nothing is beyond the staff making your stay truly relaxing and memorable. "certainly Ms Sharratt" is a phrase I heard always.
If they seek award winning cuisine, a world class chef, and impeccable service they need look no further.
If they want to be in a tourist destination for the entire world, steeped in history, natural beauty and surrounded by understated luxury Lilianfels is it.
The spa is also a unique experience the therapists are both skilled and welcoming.
Escaping the stress and obligations of this century is difficult unless you choose this location.
From the moment I arrived it was like being welcomed into a grand country home as guest of the Darly family which I think is a fitting tribute to a great Australian family and the people who manage to maintain the hospitality at such a high level that you feel like if not the only then the most special guest.
On the day I had to leave I spoke to Adrian one of the staff at breakfast about how I should leave before I became too accustomed to this level of pampering. He simply replied "Liberace once said, too much of a good thing was an amazing thing".
I have been lucky enough to stay in some of the world's best rated hotels. Lilianfels is worth every penny.
I hope to return there soon and often !!!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can't secure a valley view room, my room overlooked the car park but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

I love you review, and can’t add anything else than: Thank you from the whole team, it makes the hard work worthwhile.

Have a great week, and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Property: Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing