We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Lilianfels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Weekend at Lilianfels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family of 5 adults spent 2 nights at Lilanfels in mid June'13. We were extremely lucky with the weather, with 2 clear days with perfect vision of the mountains. We shared 2 Deluxe rooms which were perfect size. The Lounge area is a great place to relax after a long walk. Dinner in the lounge was very nice, and we also had dinner at Echoes which was beautiful. We enjoyed using the indoor heated door. the outdoor pool area would be fantastic in summer (see photos). The key sights are walking distance which is convenient. A great place to spoil yourself for a 1-2 day stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was great, and you enjoyed the surroundings including the pool, and our eating facilities at Lilianfels and Echoes.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    427
    230
    88
    37
See reviews for
252
954
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I have been several times to Lilianfels and each time it gets better. Whilst things may go awry, the staff always go above and beyond and there is an air of welcoming and comfort which always makes you want to stay a day longer. It great in the summer and even better in the winter and it really isn't complete without a trip to Darleys. Jess the maître de is a wonder and our waiter Martin was knowledgeable, helpful and discreet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us gets better every time, and it’s a fantastic time of the year to visit the Mountains. I am more than happy to forward your comments to Jess and Martin, who will be delighted.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Every element of our mini break was perfect. When we arrived we asked about the possibility of upgrading to a valley view room and were very pleased with the consideration the reception staff gave our request - the room met every expectation. High Tea in the lounge in front of the open fire, where our daughter joined us was all provided seamlessly - nothing was too much trouble. Dinner in Darley's very special. Breakfast in the Orangery with the sun streaming in very relaxing. The mini break was not something we do all the time which made it all the more special. We will definitely try to book again same time next year.

Room Tip: The weather was good so we requested an upgrade to a valley view room at an additional cost which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was a great mini break. It’s a fantastic time to visit the Mountains.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Weve stayed here a few times now and it is always a beautifully charming experience. It's always nice to be in a 5 star hotel that has a load of character. My only fault would be that on the website they advertise the outdoor pool as 'warmed' and it isn't which was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was fantastic, and I have to apologies as the outdoor pool is heated for 9 month of the Year. I will need to change this on the website.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for the long weekend in June and were very much looking forward to it. We enjoyed the stay but considering the price for the weekend we left feeling a little underwhelmed by it all. It is almost great but parts are missing that in our opinion stopped it being great.

The Good

The room was spacious with an excellent bed. Slept very soundly the whole weekend and this was with the basic room (if you can call it that).
Good swimming pool and games room
Excellent location for launching off on walks in the surrounding area.
Wide selection at breakfast, plenty of options.
Great club sandwich and chips

The not so great
No free wifi (there are free computers by the lobby though) but for 400+ a night a bit of free wifi would be nice.
Wallpaper peeling in the room.
TV reception wasn't great
We still don't understand our bill as it included charges from Darleys next door but bundled the pre payment for Darleys into the room rate.

But the big thing for us was they either don't have enough staff and/or they over sold the weekend. It was noticeable at breakfast, at Darleys, at the afternoon tea, at checkout, with car parking and the valet service. The service for us was what we felt we were paying for by by staying here and it didn't really show itself. It was especially noticeable at the afternoon tea and at Darleys restaurant.

Can't fault it for location and parts of the hotel but felt let down by the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. We are known to provide great customer service, and should be able to handle a full Hotel. .

On a positive note I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location, food and our pool.

I would like to discuss your raised issues in greater detail, and would appreciate if you are able to email on gm@lilianfels.com.au

I am looking forward to hear from you

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I spent $330 for a one night stay with no breakfast inc.

As soon as I walked into our room the wallpaper just about suffocated me, the window looked out onto the drive way, the bathroom was basic, they can't even spare a new tissue box for the price, just shove a few in the top of an empty box. The bed curtain had stains all over it so when your laying in bed you stare up at a putrid curtain, no pay tv if you want to relax and watch a movie your options are from a list of average dvds with no discription so you have no idea what to pick anyway.

Very average hotel. I won't be back. The blue mountains need a developer to come and build a new modern 5 star hotel so these imposters are forced to pull up their socks and actually provide a 5 star service. Or drop their prices!!!!

oh yeah bring ear plugs because its super noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ew989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. We are known to provide great customer service, in a clean and well looked after environment. We are a Hotel with a traditional feel, and a lot of guest comment on this great feel.

I would like to discuss your raised issues in greater detail, and would appreciate if you are able to email on gm@lilianfels.com.au

I am looking forward to hear from you

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lilianfels on two occasions over the last 10 days and were as impressed as every other time we have stayed there. The property itself is welcoming and the staff are smiling and helpful. The decor is quaint but works well given the country lodge feel and location. Sitting by one of the two open fireplaces in the lounge area is a real treat and the comfortable chairs make it easy to linger. The lounge area has a feeling of coming home and there is ample opportunity to take private time or to engage with the other guests who always seem relaxed and sated by the environment making it a very convivial space. We love using the billiards room with it's full size billiards table and very english decor.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated similarly, and the times we have upgraded to a room with a view there has be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPVHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was fantastic, and I agree the open fire and pool room is a great addition in wintertime.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Property: Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing