We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in excellent Location”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one overnight in February on a visit to the Blue Mountains from Sydney and very much enjoyed the ambience of the hotel albeit for only one overnight Our spacious room overlooking the Blue Mountains was attractive & very well appointed [tea/coffeemaker/fridge/minibar/safe at no extra cost]. We swam in the heated indoor pool but did not manage to take advantage of the spa treatments. We ate in the bistro beside the foyer/lounge for dinner and found the food and service very good .Breakfast taken in the breakfast room had a varied selection of hot /cold food etc. The lounge itself was large and very comfortable with newspapers & magazines readily available and the reception staff were very polite and helpful.
One small criticism-charging fee for using credit card to pay bill!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Blue Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves with exceptional service in a spectacular Mountain setting.

I hope I will see you again soon on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    455
    239
    93
    41
See reviews for
274
1,007
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed in February for a mid week get away (2 nights) for our anniversary. Our Stay was amazing the room was so cozy and had a real home like feel to it. The bed was to die for “like sleeping on a cloud”. I highly recommend a couples massage in the SPA. I have not been as relaxed as I was in years.

The staff and the service that was given was 10/10. Upon checking they made me feel like a VIP (Sue) was astonishing she knew everything that I would ever need to know she made our anniversary and stay incredible as well (Penelope) at the front desk help us out with everything we needed, Many thanks to them.

We had breakfast both mornings in the restaurant which was amazing. If anything I would recommend the home style cooked buffet, but more so to meet (JUDI) who made my morning both days. She one of the kindliest & caring person I have ever been served by, even 2 weeks later she still now puts a smile on my face.

Could not recommend this hotel more, with breathtaking views, cute cozy rooms and the best service I have ever received in a hotel ever.

I will be back 100% so will all my friends and parents for their 30th wedding anniversary.

Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Pay the Extra for the Vally View worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

Its fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am sure my team is delighted to be mentioned for their great service provided.

I am looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow 5 star service all the way and you can take your dog. A must to stay if you are in the blue mountains.

It's expensive but if you want class and luxury this is the place to stay.

Also a must is the high tea. Wow beautifully presented

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayhappiness76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

We pride ourselves on luxury at its best here at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa and I am sure that your next stay with us will be as great as the last.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We used to go here every year for a 'long weekend away' -- but sadly it no longer feels like a luxury hotel. Changes we noted on our last stay include:
- No turn down service in the evening
- No complimentary water in the room (this was delivered when the turn down occurred)
- No answer when dialling housekeeping – the call goes to the front desk
- A concierge desk that was not ‘manned’ – we made our requests at the front desk
- Front desk staff checking in guests, answering the phone whilst checking in guests and performing concierge and housekeeping request duties, means that guests standing at the front desk are left standing around. This practice created a line at the front desk -- and the staff did not seem to value the person who is standing in front of them when the phone rings -- but who can blame them when they are expected to be all things to everyone?
- Daily charge for valet parking(!)
- Ala Carte breakfast menu is 'eggs only'
- No salted snacks with drinks in the lounge
In addition to the changes (that staff told us were done to decrease costs to the hotel), the room we were in (155) was in need of a good cleaning – cobwebs in the corners of the room, serious mould in the shower, and the ’air freshener’ sprayed around the room is just tacky. The room was not vacuumed at anytime during our 4-day stay and it's all looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnJayne_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed to read that we could not deliver your expectation, and I would like to discuss your concerns in more detail.

I am proud of our product, and the service we deliver. I am very surprised about some things you mentioned.

Please contact me directly on gm@lilianfels.com.au, and I am sure we can win you back as a guest of our resort.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay (Saturday) and had a really wonderful time!

The staff at check-in were very friendly, helpful and relaxed.
Our room was cosy and very comfortable - the bed was lovely. We had a room with a view but unfortunately the weather was so bad we couldn't really see anything at all. The advantage of the bad weather was that we didn't feel obligated to go out, so spent the entire time in the hotel. We wanted to have a spa treatment but it was booked out (will think to book ahead next time!), so we had high tea in the lounge instead. The lounge is inviting and relaxing, the piano player is a really nice touch adding to the ambiance. It's a bit of a shame the fireplaces weren't going but I assume maybe they are in winter (it was a very wintery day though - 10C outside!)

The billiards room looked great, and there is a nice quiet reading room too.

We had dinner at Darleys and it was fantastic!!!!!!!!!
The space is beautiful, food and service to match. Definitely the nicest restaurant I've been to in the Blue Mountains.

After dinner we played board games in the lounge again. It was a bit quieter this time than the afternoon, and there was a wedding going on in another room so there were a couple of times we wanted a drink but couldn't find anyone to order from... but we didn't have to wait too long. Probably a good thing as it kept us from drinking too much :)

We had a wonderful night's sleep and managed to get up in time for breakfast :) Breakfast was good, not spectacular but good. It was quite busy and a few things had run out and the staff seemed a little stressed, but they were on top of things and still attentive and friendly.

I'd love to come back again in summer as the pool looked great and I can imagine the lounge with the doors opened up and sitting outside would also be very nice.

I had a very stressful week last week and this short break at Lilianfels was exactly what I needed. I'm feeling refreshed and ready to battle another big week at work. Thank you Lilianfels!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMotivated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It great to read that you had a good time, and you are planning to come back in summer. I suggest you come back in winter to see the fireplace going, and get the total winter atmosphere of the Blue Mountains at its best.

We at Lilianfels are proud of the fantastic location and facilities and hope to welcome you back soon.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we had gone to oz to see our daughter,but decided to go to blue mountains for valentines day.We were only up there overnight and if,no i will re phrase that when we go back,we will need about 5 days.The 3 sisters rocks were awsome and the history behind this very interesting.The hotel was lovely and this also has a history.Could not fault anything about this place .The people very very friendly.This goes down as one of my favourite places.Whoever goes there will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It’s with pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a pleasant experience at our Lounge restaurant as well

We are proud to provide an exceptional experience, in a fantastic mountain setting, and will look forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels soon.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel decor very colonial in style rather than modern but immaculate & big comfy beds in rooms. No free wifi but 2 PCs in reception so you can pick up e-mails. Excellent breakfasts and pool is lovely. We had bit of an issue with only 1 couple in our party being upgraded which was irritating but complimentary fizz was very nice & luckily we were stopping for only one night! Very good location to 3 sisters

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you mentioned the breakfast and the pool. We pride ourselves with exceptional service in a spectacular Mountain setting

We try to upgrade guests if rooms are available, but this is not always possible. I hope I will see you again soon on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing