We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times have changed ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We used to go here every year for a 'long weekend away' -- but sadly it no longer feels like a luxury hotel. Changes we noted on our last stay include:
- No turn down service in the evening
- No complimentary water in the room (this was delivered when the turn down occurred)
- No answer when dialling housekeeping – the call goes to the front desk
- A concierge desk that was not ‘manned’ – we made our requests at the front desk
- Front desk staff checking in guests, answering the phone whilst checking in guests and performing concierge and housekeeping request duties, means that guests standing at the front desk are left standing around. This practice created a line at the front desk -- and the staff did not seem to value the person who is standing in front of them when the phone rings -- but who can blame them when they are expected to be all things to everyone?
- Daily charge for valet parking(!)
- Ala Carte breakfast menu is 'eggs only'
- No salted snacks with drinks in the lounge
In addition to the changes (that staff told us were done to decrease costs to the hotel), the room we were in (155) was in need of a good cleaning – cobwebs in the corners of the room, serious mould in the shower, and the ’air freshener’ sprayed around the room is just tacky. The room was not vacuumed at anytime during our 4-day stay and it's all looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnJayne_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed to read that we could not deliver your expectation, and I would like to discuss your concerns in more detail.

I am proud of our product, and the service we deliver. I am very surprised about some things you mentioned.

Please contact me directly on gm@lilianfels.com.au, and I am sure we can win you back as a guest of our resort.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay (Saturday) and had a really wonderful time!

The staff at check-in were very friendly, helpful and relaxed.
Our room was cosy and very comfortable - the bed was lovely. We had a room with a view but unfortunately the weather was so bad we couldn't really see anything at all. The advantage of the bad weather was that we didn't feel obligated to go out, so spent the entire time in the hotel. We wanted to have a spa treatment but it was booked out (will think to book ahead next time!), so we had high tea in the lounge instead. The lounge is inviting and relaxing, the piano player is a really nice touch adding to the ambiance. It's a bit of a shame the fireplaces weren't going but I assume maybe they are in winter (it was a very wintery day though - 10C outside!)

The billiards room looked great, and there is a nice quiet reading room too.

We had dinner at Darleys and it was fantastic!!!!!!!!!
The space is beautiful, food and service to match. Definitely the nicest restaurant I've been to in the Blue Mountains.

After dinner we played board games in the lounge again. It was a bit quieter this time than the afternoon, and there was a wedding going on in another room so there were a couple of times we wanted a drink but couldn't find anyone to order from... but we didn't have to wait too long. Probably a good thing as it kept us from drinking too much :)

We had a wonderful night's sleep and managed to get up in time for breakfast :) Breakfast was good, not spectacular but good. It was quite busy and a few things had run out and the staff seemed a little stressed, but they were on top of things and still attentive and friendly.

I'd love to come back again in summer as the pool looked great and I can imagine the lounge with the doors opened up and sitting outside would also be very nice.

I had a very stressful week last week and this short break at Lilianfels was exactly what I needed. I'm feeling refreshed and ready to battle another big week at work. Thank you Lilianfels!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMotivated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Lilianfels, Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It great to read that you had a good time, and you are planning to come back in summer. I suggest you come back in winter to see the fireplace going, and get the total winter atmosphere of the Blue Mountains at its best.

We at Lilianfels are proud of the fantastic location and facilities and hope to welcome you back soon.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we had gone to oz to see our daughter,but decided to go to blue mountains for valentines day.We were only up there overnight and if,no i will re phrase that when we go back,we will need about 5 days.The 3 sisters rocks were awsome and the history behind this very interesting.The hotel was lovely and this also has a history.Could not fault anything about this place .The people very very friendly.This goes down as one of my favourite places.Whoever goes there will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It’s with pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a pleasant experience at our Lounge restaurant as well

We are proud to provide an exceptional experience, in a fantastic mountain setting, and will look forward to welcome you back to Lilianfels soon.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel decor very colonial in style rather than modern but immaculate & big comfy beds in rooms. No free wifi but 2 PCs in reception so you can pick up e-mails. Excellent breakfasts and pool is lovely. We had bit of an issue with only 1 couple in our party being upgraded which was irritating but complimentary fizz was very nice & luckily we were stopping for only one night! Very good location to 3 sisters

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you mentioned the breakfast and the pool. We pride ourselves with exceptional service in a spectacular Mountain setting

We try to upgrade guests if rooms are available, but this is not always possible. I hope I will see you again soon on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This lovely hotel has great old world charm. We got a mountain/valley view room which was pretty but the mosquito netting on the windows were a bit of a let down. No turn down service which was surprising given this is a luxury resort collection from SPG. Great dining options. We loved Dalveys.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Darley’s is a fantastic restaurant, in an amazing old charming House, and a must for every traveller to see. We pride ourselves with exceptional service in the middle of a spectacular National Park.

I am surprised about the flyscreens, but will defiantly investigate this further. I hope I will see you again soon on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We came to this hotel with a friend from the UK, promising her great things with the reputation that Lilianfels is known to have. We brought our 18-month old with us as we knew the hotel was supposed to be kid-friendly.

In summary, these are the things we were disappointed with:

- extra charges for everything! I would have rather paid extra for the rooms, instead of charges for using a credit card (ANY credit card), wi-fi access, real coffee at breakfast (who still charges extra for proper coffee at breakfast when breakfast costs $45 per person?!).

- children's menu was disappointing and not suitable for younger children. Don't ever come here when there is a wedding on, as it took more than 45 minutes to get fed in the lounge. Anyone with young children knows that is an absolute disaster with a hungry child.

- water in the rooms. We never had enough water in the mini-bar and every time I asked for more, all the staff seemed worried about was my room number to ensure I was getting charged for it, when all I wanted was a good supply of water! Another extra charge that ended up annoying me.

- out of date room information. The pack in the room still talks of cable broadband and free lounge wi-fi with a password. When I asked about this, I was told that information was "superfluous" as the arrangements were now pay for wireless everywhere in the hotel and two free terminals in the lobby for guests to use. Free wi-fi would be much better.

- late check-out - when I asked if we could check-out at 1pm instead of 11am so that our daughter could nap before our journey back to Sydney, I was met with a flat "no". It was a Monday and the hotel was not full, so this was poor service. We ended up negotiating with the cleaning staff for them to change the rotation of their room cleaning, which they happily did - showing it could be done, but instead it left a bitter taste in the mouth that the customer is not front of mind here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SRussell255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed to read that we did not deliver your expectation. I would like to talk further about the points raised, to ensure your experience was a one off.

We are Kids friendly, and have a lot of Kids staying with us. I am happy to discuss some ideas with you to make it even better.

Would you be able to e-mail me at gm@lilianfels.com


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A delightful olde -worlde hotel set right on the edge of the escarpment. It's just a stroll across the road to view the magnificent Blue Mountains. Friendly staff, very comfy rooms and free on-site, safe parking. It's also just a short stroll through a park to Echo Point to see the three sisters. Having a bathtub was great after our long 'stroll' along the federal pass. We also recommend the highly rated Pins at Katooomba restaurant within walking distance of the hotel for an excellent meal
only downside; Although we obtained a special internet rate for 2 nights it was still $200 a night; would it hurt the hotel to include a continental breakfast in the tariff? Or at least put some cereal packets in the room with some milk and juice and fruit? The $35 per person charge for breakfast was over the top. We also took the room's tea bags (and our Thermos) to drink on our hike and they weren't replenished in the cupboard.

Room Tip: make sure you get a front room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves with exceptional service in a spectacular Mountain setting.

I hope I will see you again soon on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
1,011 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $189 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the world famous World Heritage listed Blue Mountains and enjoy luxury resort accommodation at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa. Just 90 minutes’ drive from Sydney CBD, Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spais a renowned haven for relaxation and a delight for gourmets in one of Australia’s most beautiful destinations, picturesque Jamison Valleys and escarpments, abundant wildlife and a scenic attractions right at your doorstep. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a weekend with the girls or your mates, or a fun-filled family holiday, our luxury Blue Mountains hotel offers something for everyone. Enjoy renowned local wines and produce at our fine dining multi-award winning restaurants and bars. With a range of onsite function rooms, a spectacular backdrop and a relaxing atmosphere, our Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spas the ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing