We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Location and a quality resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Location and a quality resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

We spent 3 nights at this lovely resort in the Blue Mtns. in early October.

We were pleasantly greeted upon arrival and received good service from staff with luggage and a short tour of the hotel and room etc. Few if any complaints with the service offered from the majority of the staff. Just a few younger members were lacking in terms of training etc.

The room was very comfortable, nicely appointed and well maintained. We had opted for a deluxe view room. The entire property was attractive inside and out. The spacious lounge area was inviting and I enjoyed afternoon tea and scones shortly after our check-in. We also spent time in the evenings there where we usually chose to have dessert and coffee etc.

We went for a short stroll that first afternoon and walked down some steps to a lookout point for the blue mountains. It's location is so convenient to the various trails and the nearby Sky ride. The hotel made a good base from which to explore the area which we enjoyed very much. Drove one day to the Jenolan Caves which was a relatively short drive of a little over an hr.

The breakfasts served in Tre Sorelle were good however the one evening meal we had there was a bitter disappointment and overly expensive for the quality of the food we were served that evening. Our waiter was attentive to the situation and after speaking to management we were offered dessert and coffee in compensation.

Our dinner at their other formal restaurant was the complete opposite though as the food was very good along with the service etc. We felt we received good value for the price. It was an enjoyable evening.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Great Location for the Blue Mtns.
  • Disliked — Our dinner at Tre Sorelle
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JOP-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    427
    230
    88
    37
See reviews for
252
954
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed one night in July. It's a very nice hotel. It's traditional, which isn't really our style, but it wasn't too fussy or frilly. Our room was large and nicely furnished. We paid AUD$359 for a traditional room. They said we could upgrade to a room with a view for an extra AUD$50, but we declined. The location is great - it's a very short walk to Echo Point and the Three Sisters.

We spent some time in the spa. We didn't do any spa treatments, but we did enjoy the spa facilities, which are free to all guests. The jacuzzi, sauna and steam room were nice, especially after our long hike. The breakfast was good, though not as good as the Four Seasons, but that's not fair.

The concierge was very nice. She was very knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. There is valet parking. We felt bad every time we called for our car - a couple of times a day, but they were always very nice about it.

It was a nice hotel and a nice stay. The staff was very friendly. Definitely a nice, romantic retreat. If we lived in Sydney, or even in Australia for that matter, I could see us going often.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at this resort during APEC weekend. We took our family of four children to Lilianfels and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely.
From the moment we drove up to the door initially to the last farewell we had an amazing experience.

Paul the doorman was always friendly and helpful, as was David the concierge - or should I say bush walk adviser. Simon Wanstall, Front Office Manager, went out of his way to be of assistance to our family during our time at Lilianfels, as did all the staff at this fine establishment.

We enjoyed the Tasting menu at Darley's on the Friday evening, as well as the Sunday Brunch. This restaurant recently received the award of NSW Regional Restaurant of the year. The staff in this restaurant were extremely professional and attentive. The front desk staff were always very helpful with suggestions and confirmations. They also willingly arranged for backpacks and picnic lunches to be ready for us early the morning of our extended day walk.

The rooms were large and well furnished with quality items and the beds very comfortable. The small touches in the rooms such as French toiletries in the bathrooms and the gingerbread men on the pillows for the younger children were very welcome and appreciated.

I would sincerely recommend staying at this fine hotel - its professionalism and standard of finishes are exceptional.

  • Liked — The higher level of finishes
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyJems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

The hotel has lovely public rooms that are airy, sun filled and cosy with a wood burning fire in winter, but the bedrooms and hallways are dark, gloomy and in need of an update.

Our bedroom window was covered with heavy drapes which made it difficult for the sun to filter in. Perhaps this was just as well as the view faced the car park. The furniture is heavy and makes the room look drab.

However the lounge is very nice with comfortable sofas and chairs and service is friendly and staff very accommodating. Breakfast was extensive and I enjoyed it in the lounge area as the restaurant was entirely full.

Dinner at Darley's was fine but not memorable, in fact I don't remember what I had. On the other hand I found Tre Sorelle's dinner to be more interesting but the room lacked character. Both restaurants are expensive and I found they charge too much for the meals. Katoomba isn't Sydney or New York.

The setting of the hotel is where its strenght lies and its proximity to the Three Sisters and hiking trails. I did a long hike with my family into the valley and then took the train back up to the top. This was absolutely wonderful and would recommend tourists take advantage of the trails as this is a fantastic opportunity to experience the Blue Mountains rather than just viewing it from the top. There is an information kiosk by the Three Sisters and found the staff there very helpful in selecting hiking trails.

Do take a picnic lunch with you should you hike into the valley. There are picinic tables at the valley floor and it's a lovely way to spend the day.

  • Liked — Light filled comfortable lounge and fantastic staff
  • Disliked — Disliked dark, gloomy bedrooms and hallways
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

We make annual trips to the Blue Mountains and always chose to treat ourselves by staying at Lilianfels. It really is the perfect place for a cosy, relaxing, indulgent stay in the mountains. Staff are always very friendly & helpful , rooms are spacious and very comfortable, an excellent spa & the hotel is positioned well for going on lots of fantastic walks without having to get in the car. There is nothing nicer than returning to the hotel after a big hike on a cool winter afternoon & sitting by one of the open fires with a hot chocolate or glass of red.
Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked 8 months in advance as friends from UK were visiting with their new born baby. Despite requesting a quite room and paying a surplus for a view, both rooms allocated were terrible, overlooking the rear carpark, with no view. When we complained the front desk staff were not helpful and said most clients prebook a year in advance!
We also booked Darley's restaurant and requested a private room so our friends can breast feed their new born with privacy. Despite the hotel confirming the private room booking upon our checkin, the restaurant was unaware of this request.
The hotel has a corporate feel, definitely NOT what you expect for Katoomba - low ceilings, mass produced non descript paintings in rooms, they attract people with the old world Darley's restaurant. Don't be fooled. Service is dreadful unless you are American tourists.
We were so disappointed with our stay that we wrote a letter to complain. The reply letter received did not accept any responsibility and basically said they hope we stay again and give them another chance. No thankyou!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — corporate feel of hotel and poor service
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanaSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

I recently stayed at the beautiful Lilianfels Resort & Spa with my Mum as a treat for her 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived and had the hire car valet parked, the experience was wonderful.
The staff were all more than helpful and every one of them went out of their way to make our stay all the more enjoyable.
The room had a gorgeous view over the Blue Mountains and was more than comfortable.
Breakfast offered a terrific selection of hot and cold food.
We were also fortunate enough to have a wonderful Poultice Therapy massage in the Day Spa which was the single most indulgent thing we've ever experienced. Followed up with a High Tea in the beautiful lounge room and the day was perfect.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a 5 star experience in the heart of the Blue Mountains.
Oh, and we recommend the Swiss restaurant down the road for good hearty meals and yummy rosti. From memory it's cash only though!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Property: Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing