We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Cafe Zuppa - CLOSED

Cafe Zuppa
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Today was our 5th visit to Cafe Zuppa - and last. In the past we loved it, but something has changed. It was our wedding anniversary and we booked for Sunday lunch. It took ages for us to be able to order - but they apologised ... no problem. Then it took a while for our entree to come, but still no problem. Then it took over one hour for the mains to come (while people who arrived after us got their meals) and they got my wife's order wrong. So they apologised and brought the corrected order after heating it up in the microwave (!) ... but it still wasn't right ... no tofu in it. They then gave her some uncooked tofu on a plate ... and apologised. Yes, they gave us her meal on the house (and apologised again), but we would have rather paid for it and had it earlier and correct. Her meal wasn't so enjoyable, mine and my son's were pretty ordinary - ok but nothing special. As I said ... disappointing. When I asked why it took so long for our order to come, I was told it was because we ordered an entree - there was no apology this time. As a postscript - we could see the kitchen and the microwave was being used all the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    21
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've gone to Cafe Zuppa on and off for years and they tend to be very hit and miss. Lately the staff have gotten pretty complacent and apathetic, though some of them are friendly. The food is generally good but I've had one or two bad meals there, and the drinks are very nice. They also offer a large range of gluten-free desserts and they're the only restaurant I've ever seen to offer gluten-free pasta. All in all I like the restaurant and will continue to go there occasionally.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disorganised”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Directed to a table when we arrived but then waited ages for menus. After receiving menus we waited so long to order that we walked out as did another couple! One of the chefs came out and took an order from some of his friends whilst others including us had been waiting longer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast except we weren't allowed a 2nd coffee”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It was busy. It took forever to order, forever for the food to come. The breakfasts were nice but the whole experience was let down by poor service. When we asked for another coffee the guy said no, no, no, no! No apology or anything

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy taste buds. Full tummies:)”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went in very very hungry as roamed this/that street/cafes/ restaurants looking for good vegetarian restaurant. Something about this cafe just made us choose it right away.
There were several vegan/vegetarian options. Whatever we had left a good taste in our mouth. The quality was good. The quantity was great! And our tummies were full and happy. When we go back to katoomba next time we will surely do a great favour to our taste buds by visiting this place.

Their staff was awesome too- one of the waitering staff bought some crayons and paper for our lil one while we waited for our food to be served. The staff kept a smile throughout. It was a relaxing experience after our long journey on the road.

Plz go here if you are a vegetarian/vegan. You wont be disappointed.

Thank you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neelsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zuppa also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing