We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Gustissimo - CLOSED

Gustissimo
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Under new management
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Looking in the window it appeared to be quite a busy Italian Restaurant, and seeing the Trip Advisor label at the front we decided to go in. Unfortunately, the service and the food was really disappointing. Our order took forever to arrive, and the couple beside us ordered before us and their food came later than ours. The food was very ordinary, the spaghetti marinara was bland and scattered with tiny mussels. The couple beside us said when their pizza finally arrived it wasn't even what they ordered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Me2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    19
    9
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What has happened to Gustissimo?”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

"What has happened to Gustissimo? The waiter was a cross between Mr. Faulty and Manuel, actually more like Manuel than Mr. Faulty. He was dressed like he was going cycling for the night, all in black, with his trousers tucked in the white socks….hilarious! He took the order and we had to tell him three times what we wanted as he seemed not to understand us at all….then he served us the wrong food and ours was served to another table. Fortunately the waitress came to the rescue, but the food ordered was not at all what we were expecting to be. Definitely of inferior quality, tasteless and badly presented. Then with our horror when this waiter was clearing the table next to ours he put the dirty dishes on our table! I must admit I have never seen anything so unprofessional in my life. We live in the country and this place used to be a pleasure to come and taste the most beautiful food, being entertained by a delightful waiter- owner, but now the food can only be compared to a third class restaurant and I am being kind. The décor has changed dramatically, and it looks pitiful and vulgar. The place was cold, dirty and the plastic table cloths were filthy and sticky. We asked the waitress and she told us that the place was sold a month ago. We are sorry that we did not know that the restaurant was sold because if we knew this we certainly would have not made the effort to go there. Besides it is really expensive for the bad food they serve now. We will not recommend this restaurant to anybody and will strike it out from our favourite places in Katoomba.


.






.






.






.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good food with prompt and efficient service made a Good Friday night dinner. Decor and atmosphere a little lacking but not disastrous. Try the 7 cheese pizza!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST EVER”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was so salty, the prices are so expensive considering they use frozen pizza bases, and the ravioli is definitely not hand made and even looks like a machine spat it out. The staff were not friendly and we felt like a burden being there! Will not be going back again!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbaP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“food was surprisingly terrible given the terrific reviews”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

i usually try not to give bad reviews unless it's overwhelmingly bad so the fact that Im writing this now says a lot.

Ive been to Italy many times and I know what quality Italian food tastes like. What I had- Ravioli stuffed with beef- was so bad (to the point I only ate 3 small pieces) i couldn't finish even a quarter of it. the waiter told me they've ran out of the original (large handmade ravioli stuffed with lamb and rosemary) so i had to settle for the alternative.

to cut to the chase, the ravioli did NOT come in large pieces (a characteristic of handmade R) and they looked and tasted EXACTLY like the pre-packed ones you can easily find in Coles (or whatever supermarket it is). i know this because Ive eaten Ravioli on many occasions, quality R and pre-packed ones. i absolutely cant believe a restaurAnt like this could have the audacity to serve that!

the female waitstaff was unfriendly and curt, with the exception of the male waiter who took the effort to make me and the rest feel welcome.

they charged me 20 instead of the price listed (24) even though i didn't complain-- probably because they're aware? whatever it is, i was a very unhappy customer.

maybe i was unlucky but overall, i wont return and wont recommend others to visit that place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thepetitvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustissimo also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing