We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual hostel”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unusual hostel”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's a house, and we were the only people staying. There was a guy who used work for company in Sydney staying too, had been there awhile on his own came..across odd but think he just lonely, he was very helpful. Placed needed a tidy but as soon as we arrived he did that, don't think he expecting us. Free breakfast was toast, but no butter. Located just on bottom of Main Street and not far from 3sisters. Each bed had own reading light :) no lock on bedroom door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Kangaroo BakPak boasts customer service and a welcoming atmosphere like no other I have experienced in Australia. The manager, Sam, could not do any more to help anyone out- not only did we get free transfers to and from the train station but he also took us to starting points for our hikes. Full of local information, he guided me to activities in Katoomba and I had a fantastic time in the Blue Mountains.
The hostel itself was so cosy- nice comfortable beds, amazing heating (the Blue Mountains is pretty crisp outside) and a lovely social area in the living room where Sam encouraged us to hang out and watch movies in the evenings. Kangaroo Bakpak was clean and cheerful and I'd definitely go back.
The free breakfast was very generous and being cooked a welcome lunch as well was, I think, going above and beyond to welcome guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmarshall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hostel is a great place to stay. It feels more like staying at a friends house (nice staff). The rooms are nice and clean (they also have double rooms), there are plenty of facilities and the kitchen is clean and well equipped! Furthermore it is only a 5 minutes walk to the echo point (starting point of most walks around the three sisters). All in all: a super hostel for a good price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WahlRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Really enjoyed our 2 nights here. The hostel only opened earlier this year but doesn't seem to be showing any teething problems! No frills, but small and very friendly with incredibly comfy beds. Free breakfast and tea & coffee all day was a nice touch & we really appreciated milk being provided. Good pressure & temperature in the showers! We didn't make use of it, but laundry was also free. Great value, definitely would go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smg0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I love this place, it's like a relaxing hotel rather than a hostel. Everyone is lovely with loads of free stuff. We had free goon on Friday and went into town for a funny night out! It's such good value for money and really close to the three sisters - easy walking distance. They have a lot of people coming in and out so call last minute and they can usually accommodate you - I did. The only con is the unpredictable weather - if it was sunny I would stay forever!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamthewalrus010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.2 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba

Property: Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba
Address: 256 - 260 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba is a brand new hostel in the heart of the blue mountains. All our rooms have free lockers, reading lights, and a semi private layout (free linen included). Our Kitchen is new and very clean with enough utensils for a chef. We also offer free laundry, free breakfast, free DVD rental, free towel rental, free tea/coffee/bread, as well as free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kangaroo BakPak Katoomba Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing