We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountains Explorer Bus

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.26*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way! The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace. The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot. Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights. We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end! If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views. Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee. While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories. And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare. Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
kolkata
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

a gr8 experience, its very scenic and beautiful.. caught a train from town hall to katomba for 11$ return and then took a hop on hop off bus tour for 44$ which included the cable rides but the train rides were closed due to renovation. the conter is just opposite katomba railway station. so its a nic experience but one should go early to see everything.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicky159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    75
    36
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to get the overall picture if you don't have a car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've said it all in the title!
Plus the drivers are very helpful when planning walks. Definitely recommend it.
We were a bit late starting out as the driver wanted to wait for passengers off the Sydney train, which was running late. I liked that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Margo,

Thanks for your feedback - great that you enjoyed your day in the Blue Mountains.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great job Blue Mountains Explorer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Explorer Bus was an excellent way to see the Blue Mountains. I had the pass for the three days I was there and it was really a great way to get around. The pass is good for your entire stay in Katoomba. The drivers were really friendly and super helpful directing me to some hard to find trails in the area. It was a very busy time of year and the company added buses to accomodate the increase in traffic. I would highly recommend this company if you have two or more days to tour the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Peter,

So glad you had a great time - thanks for your feedback.

Regards,


Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its not a informative sight seeing tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Went on the bus service as a way of learning about the local area, as well as taken advantage of the hop-on hop-off feature. To the positives first; drivers friendly and willing to answer questions and offer up suggested intineries when in Katoomba. Buses are clean and prompt. 25 stops means for easy maneuverability. Now to the sad news; its not a commentary tour, its most certainly not a quide tour or anything that you will learn anything about the area. Our driver despite being lovely only told us what there was to do at each stop (a fact we knew from the booklet already). We were expecting an informative tour about the history of the falls, history of the area, history of the architecture... we got none of that.

It is frankly no different then a public bus service be it a little more prompt and friendlier drivers. Not worth the money as you wont get what they are advertising and thats a tour with commentary.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Daniel,

I am so sorry that we did not exceed your expecations, thanks for your feedback however on our good points. We do pridie ourselves in offering a great hop on hop off service.

We do try and provide as much commentary as we can between stops, however it seems that you were definately after a more fully guided tour more like a day tour where you are with the same coach, driver and group of people all day. Yes you are correct we do not provide this level of service and I am sorry if this is what you were expecting.

Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Explore the Blue Mountains with this helpful guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Explorer Bus is an excellent way to visit the Blue Mountains. The flyer gives details of train times and costs (cheap) from Sydney to get to Katacoomba (2hrs). The staff are all very helpful and pleasant. I was given a discount having taken a similar bus trip in Belfast (10% off) - keep your ticket for future discounts! The drivers were both excellent, giving information about all of the area, as well as recommended walking or places to get on and off for sightseeing. The times are reliable and all the paths are well marked.
An excellent day out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi Ruth,

Thanks for your feedback and so glad you had a great day out. Yes great advice to people, keep your previous tickets and receive 10% off any other City Sightseeing hop on hop off service worldwide.

Regards,


Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing