We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job but over priced and not as good as Sydney or Bondi Explorer”

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.36*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way! The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace. The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot. Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights. We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end! If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views. Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee. While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories. And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare. Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Did the job but over priced and not as good as Sydney or Bondi Explorer”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We used the Bondi and Sydney explorer buses which I would highly recommend but found the blue mountains version nowhere near as informative or good value. You really only need about 5 stops of the 25 and stops 1-9 are just one high street. Once you get into the mountains it was more useful and the book provided had good suggestions for walks and things to look at and the driver had some good information and ideas. The mountains and scenery are truly spectacular and well worth a day trip from Sydney. Again the last 8-10 stops didn't have much more than the high street of the next town. My issue was the price of 38 dollars each which really only involved 3 bus journeys of about 5km. Seeing as the return train to the blue mountains costs 11 dollars I felt this was a real rip off. If there is a group of you look into renting a car it will probably be cheaper

Helpful?
2 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Good morning Will H,

Firstly I am so sorry that the Blue Mountains Explorer was below your expectations. I am happy to offer you a refund to a value that you think is fair, if you email me at jason@fantastic-aussie-tours.com.au with your your payment details I will honor a refund and you can advise me of how much right down to a full reunfd if this is what you really think the servcie was worth - or not worth for that matter.

I also please just want to explain one of the reasons for prices is supply and demand and the volume of people that are carried, if we were carrying the same number of passengers that the train servcie carries we could offer the service for $11 per person, unfortunatly we do not get as many passenegrs as the train nor as many as Sydney and thus overall we have to charge a price that is sustinable to the service.

Looking forward to receiving your email.


Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    76
    39
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Blue Mountains Trip in A Day”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff and nice well maintained bus. The tour office is strategically located which is next to Katoomba Train Station, a plus for those coming via train. For those who wants to explore Blue Mountains within a day at your own sweet time, I definitely recommend this with proper time allocated for each locations. Good instruction in the map given and you can ask the tour guide for assurance. We did Scenic World Tour in the morning, a brief stop at Echo Point and lunch break exploring Leura Town. Though we didnt stop for a few attractions, the sight while being on the bus itself made our journey to Blue Mountains so memorable.

Helpful?
Thank JayJamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Jay,

Thanks so much for your feedback and I am glad you had a great day.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ok. youll get to see the main attractions but not much more insights”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although the bus drivers are really friendly, helpful and trying to be funny,the tour itself is pretty limited. Yes, youll see all must sees, but out of the advertised 25 stops, only 5 are really worth paying attention or stepping out the bus. If you do the Leura Cascades, you can also walk your way to the trainstation - you'll see much more of the nice open gardens and real lovely residential area than by bus. If possible stay a bit longer in Leura as the coffees and restaurants are very nice there as well

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Izzy,

Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your day as much as most.

Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The magical mystery tour”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent three insightful days hoping on and off the Blue Mountain Explorer Buses. We are glad to have not hired a car as we found the bus service far more relaxing than driving ourselves about and cheaper due to our day pass being good for all three days, great value ! The drivers chit chat on route about the Mountains highlights exuding pride in their work by remembering people names, nationalities and helping you know the where and when's of their service. An excellent experience crewed by a bunch of magic guys - many thanks to Jimmy and Co.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobie1canobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Hobie,

Yes our Jimmy certainly is a character and looks after everybody very well, thanks for much for your feedback and great that you had a good day.

Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get around the Blue Mountains”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent a day in the Blue Mountains and having looked on TripAdvisor, decided to go on the Explorer bus. Great value- takes you all around the mountains and we got the Scenic World rides aswell for a bit extra! Very friendly drivers and buses always on time. Only problem is that they only run til early evening, it'd be great if they ran a bit later! We had a lovely day in the mountains, fab weather, which really helped.

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Jenny,

Thanks so much for your feedback glad you had a great day.

We have actually tried a few times to run the busses a little later and have found that we carry very few people, mainly on a count that most of the attractions close at five pm anyway, sure the bushwalks and views are still open but people are also wanting to get back to Sydney or back to Hotels for dinner, but thanks for the feedback and perhaps we should trial it again this coming Summer?

Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing