We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best last minute decision ever”

Blue Mountains Adventure Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One hundred kilometres west of Sydney, NSW, Australia lies one of nature's most magnificent creations, the World Heritage area of the Blue Mountains. Endless stretches of sandstone cliffs, dramatic waterfalls and hidden canyons, a landscape of stunning natural beauty. It provides a fantastic environment for the thrilling adventure activities of abseiling, canyoning, rockclimbing, mountain biking and bushwalking - a lifetime's worth of adventuring is to be had in Sydney's backyard!check out our website for the best fun you can have in Sydney: your next Blue Mountains Adventure!
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best last minute decision ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I hadn't planned to visit the Blue Mountains on my visit but decided to go on the spur of the moment. Best decision of my life- we took a trip out to Boar's Head rock, abseiled down, had lunch (provided) on a ledge looking out over the most fantastic view, then rock climbed back up. It was challenging but extremely enjoyable, the guide was an awesome dude and we had a good laugh, also learnt a lot about the sport and the surrounding area. Highly recommend doing this (but not if you are afraid of heights)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvis1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan J, Manager at Blue Mountains Adventure Company, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoy the same adventures we do: abseiling, climbing, amazing views, good company, and good fun. And we absolutely agree with you: this particular adventure is only for those who aren't afraid of heights!
Thanks for your review and hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A thrilling afternoon with the best guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Initially we were a little nervous to try abseiling, but it was an amazingly fun afternoon! We had a guide to ourselves, which allowed us to get loads of attention and coaching, and probably move a bit faster to more advanced stuff too.
Our guide was so knowledgable, friendly, patient, and fun!
Clearly the procedure and processes and safety are well practiced and really professional - the whole afternoon was textbook smooth. Chatting with the guide, there's a community of real professionals who do the guiding - I really admire their professionalism and commitment.
We started with a small 5m drop, then went to 15m, and to 30m. The scariest was the 15m, being the first ‘real’ abseil. The views make it pretty scary too - although the abseil is only 15 or 30m, the view goes down probably about 200m, so if you can do that, you can do anything!

The Blue Mountains scenery is simply amazing, and our guide helped us get loads of amazing pictures and videos.
This was a fabulous afternoon, in the company and a really great guide - thanks so much!
We’ll definitely be back to learn more skills, and try some canyoning too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan J, Manager at Blue Mountains Adventure Company, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It's amazing how scary it is to go from the small 5m practice abseil to the first "real" 15m abseil - the views certainly are a contributing factor to this. We're glad that we could assist you in getting some pictures of your experience against that backdrop. We're also glad that you enjoyed your adventure with us and if you do come back to try canyoning then make sure you have lots of camera battery and space on your memory card because it is spectacular!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I had our first experience with canyoning and abseiling with this company. They taught us everything we needed to know to make us comfortable, and their safety precautions left us never in doubt of our own safety. It was exciting, beautiful, thrilling, an overall fun experience. It was a really fun time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pzamanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan J, Manager at Blue Mountains Adventure Company, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
"Exciting, beautiful, thrilling, fun". Wow! Thanks for the review! And safety is our number one value so we're glad that came across too. Juggler Canyon is a great adventure and we're glad you enjoyed tackling it as a first timer.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Action and fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My 2 best friends and I (all around 40 years young) chose this adventure with some hesitation from the potential limitations of our own abilities; we left that day feeling we could take on the world.
One of the best ways to explore nature is to get amongst it, and the tour we took (abseiling intro / training and Empress Falls canyon) was a unique way to experience the Blue Mountains. We are all reasonable fit and healthy and had over the year done various types of sports and activities.

My friend made the booking and the good communication (via email) had us feeling positive about the pending experience. We made our way to the centrally located office (in Katoomba) to meet the staff and discuss the day's activities before collecting the equipment you'll need for the entire day.

Location #1 was a 10mins drive west (in vehicle provided by the company) and a short 5 min walk down hill took us to the abseiling area. Here we conquered the natural human fear of falling as we abseiled (several times) down a 35 foot cliff. A provided lunch in the bush surroundings was welcomed after a few hours of activities (abseiling, watching, supporting etc).

Location #2 was Empress Falls canyon, which was a 10 min drive east of Katoomba (20mins in total). With the additional equipment - full wet suites (winter time), dry back packs etc - we made way to the starting point, adorned the appropriate equipment and commenced the walk. The Empress Falls canyon involved wading through various levels of water, climbing over and around various rock formations and rubble, plus a few small leaps of faith (into water holes), all the time surrounded by the most amazing rain forest. The climax was reaching the waterfall abseiling section after a swim through a cave like section of the george. The morning's abseiling training took affect with the force of the water fall adding to excitement of descending down the 50 foot high falls.
The feeling of reaching solid ground had to wait as the end of the rope delivered us into a deep pool of very refreshing (cold) water. A short swim and we quickly felt the welcomed feeling of solid earth, and a great vantage point to watch others descend these amazing falls. With our adrenalin fading, we commenced the long climb up the countless stairs to reach our transport back. The additional equipment (wet ropes etc) and wet suites meant a slow a steady pace was required, which allowed us to take in more of the beautiful surroundings.

I have travelled the world seeking out adventures (Grand Canyon, Angle Falls, scuba diving etc) and this adventure was up there with the best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drsuess1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan J, Manager at Blue Mountains Adventure Company, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
What a great summary of the day! Thanks very much for the time you put in to that review, it is really appreciated. From the photos it looks like you had Lizzy as a guide, and I'm sure that she had a hand in making it a good day for you all.
It was also nice to be compared to other experiences from around the world and to come out so favourably. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We took the full day beginners abseiling and canyoning down Empress Falls tour. The staff was easy to talk to and fast replies through email.

Their office had absolutely everything you needed just incase you got there and decided to do it last minute. They have shoes, socks, jackets and all the gears you need.

We spent the morning with our tour guide Eric, teaching us the ins and outs of abseiling. We started with a smaller one until we felt comfortable enough to get to the third and highest level. He allowed us several tries to give us the feel of it. He also explained all the checks and security stuff so we felt secure and knew that even if we had let go, it was easy for him to stop the rope and that we wouldnt entirely fall.

We stopped for lunch, we had two huge sandwiches each it was a lot plus coffee and all that.

When we got to the canyon, Eric explained how its also the getting there thats part of the experience. The gorge was so beautiful!!!! There were several jumps and all before we got to canyoning but all in all it was definitely a good day and an awesome experience :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simplykarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan J, Manager at Blue Mountains Adventure Company, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed the experience - Eric does a great job of making sure that the whole day, including the simple things like walking, are part of the experience.
We hope that you had a great time exploring the rest of the Blue Mountains region while you were here too, as I'm sure you experienced; it's an amazing place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains Adventure Company also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mountains Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing