We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hearty soups, sandwiches, drinks”
Review of Yellow Deli

Yellow Deli
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Reviewed April 2, 2017

If you are looking for something homemade, hearty and healthy, this is it. We had a bowl of lentil/vegetable soup, which was delicious and so big I brought half of it home for another meal. the bread was also homemade, The Katoomba Deli makes the "Green energy Bar" (greens, yerba mate, carob, puffed rice etc) I didn't think it sounded very tasty, bought we bought 2 to try on our hikes in the blue mountains, WOW, very tasty and packed with energy (the yerba mate) I was full of energy all day and they tasted delicious. Worth as try.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 282 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

Driving through Katoomba town centre we spotted The Yellow Deli and thought we'd give it a try. On entering you are propelled into a sort of country, folk, hippy meets alternate type of atmosphere. Old timber booths, decorated with unique items help to offer privacy as you eat your meal and enjoy the ambience of the cafe. The staff are super relaxed and helpful and the food in absolutely amazing. You may have a wait if it's busy, but be patient it's worth it.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank kylebarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

We had avery nice lunch here. We sat outside in the sun & had great sandwiches. Everything home made! Recommended

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

The mark of a good cafe I believe is not necessarily its size, but the experience, ambience and the service provided by its staff.
Along those lines, some of the experiences I've enjoyed have been in small to medium sized cafe's which I've sought out which have been scattered throughout the many townships located in the Blue Mountains National Park. The Yellow Deli is among these little gems.

Located in the busy township of Katoomba, on Katoomba street, this interesting and really cool cafe can be found.

Upon entering this cafe, you'll understand why it's so popular. It's as though you've stepped into a time capsule, a warm and friendly atmosphere which provides an element of being more than just a cafe. There's a real cozy feeling as you sit in one of the many settings dotted around the structure of the cafe, each providing the customer with their own unique experience.

There's a great selection of sandwiches, drinks which are all freshly prepared. I sampled the Rueben, which consisted of freshly baked wholemeal bread, mustard, thinly sliced hot corned beef melted Swiss cheese and sauerkraut. The first bite was simply Devine, a combination of flavours so balanced it was hard to resist the temptation to swallow, it was I have to say a shear delight.

Something to take into consideration, is the cafe is popular, and you may on occasion have to wait to be seated, but bare with it, as you'll be disappointed should you decide to walk away.

I'll seek out a few more interesting places, but for now, this remains to be one of the best cafes I've visited.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch and found the tasty bowl of chilli exceeding our expectation, the ingredients fresh and flavour balanced. The beans were cooked just the way we like it, with a lot of love and a bit of heat. The beef balls were excellent and clearly, prime beef. We finished our bowl super fast. Although the service was fast, we had time to admire the quirky details of the space over a well made extra shot flat white. A must visit for lovers of chilli and architecture.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 22Euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Deli also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Yellow Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing