We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cecil Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Echo Point Village(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$75
$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$244
$233
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$206
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
8
37
14
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
37
14
9
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 82 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is a backpackers lodge. There is communal sharing of toilet facilities as there is a communal activities room with a pool table, ping pong table and a fireplace as well. it's near to the ANZ bank and the driveway looks narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very charming place with a great atmosphere! The entertainment room is great, albeit a little cold in winter. We set out on a 2day bushwalk very early in the morning and they provided a private breakfast in the gorgeous tearoom with great views. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

this is the third time I have stayed there, so I consider that to be fairly loyal as a customer.
the manager is lacking in PR skills meaning he is not friendly and greeting and does not like to engage in social chit chat.
the place always as the two front doors open so it is freezing.
there is no heating in the main areas and when you go into the tv room at night there is only an old oil heater, that takes forever to heat up . they do have a log fire but they have a problem in supplying wood for it meaning one log for the fire and the front door is open so you can feel a terrible breeze. the tea and coffer area is dark and dirty and they don't like supplying light bulbs when they burn out. plus the staff use the place for their own parties and that is when they have a real log fire going.

I wanted to contact the owner but they would not give me his details so I spoke to a manager but she was to lazy to care. so I am writing this to warn all innocent victims do not stay there you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCecil, Manager at The Cecil Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Samantha,

I spoke with you in depth about what your complaint was and, in the end, all you could say was the staff were making you uncomfortable and staring at you here and out in public. This really surprised me because the staff you were talking about are probably the loveliest people I've ever met.

After discussing the issues with said staff, I learnt you had been severely intoxicated while you were here, refusing to let house keeping staff in, and sprawling towels throughout our communal bathrooms. I believe the above fabrication of your experience here was purely to hurt the business due to some personal vendetta. Thankfully the more honest reviews are posted here too.

All the best - the lazy manager!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on a road trip and booked a mixture of accommodation....this was the most basic of guesthouses but we felt it was good value for money. We had a double and a single room using shared bathroom facilities. Comfortable and clean are the words I would use and the breakfast is a lovely touch for those on a budget. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location tucked in behind the main street is extremely quiet.....a two minute drive to breathtaking scenery which we are glad we saw on the evening we arrived as the next two days were raining and masked the view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepomsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night and paid $60 for 2 beds in a 4 bed room, which we shared with another traveller.
At reception there is a sign which states that this is NOT a backpackers but a guesthouse. However, it seems strange to have shared 'dorms' in a guesthouse.
In general the house is very run down.
You can tell that this was once a beautiful house and it has great potential but it needs a lot of work to bring it to the standard of a reasonable guest house.
The staff were friendly enough, breakfast was basic, nice view from back of house.

As they describe themselves as a guest house we had slightly higher expectations than we would have of a backpackers. We are confused as to what level of accommodation and type of clientele they are aiming for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuanandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCecil, Manager at The Cecil Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hi there,

We are in the process of changing from a backpackers to a guesthouse - the room you stayed in is the last dorm room which will be gone soon. The dorm has been left to honor our final reservations for that room.

During the move back to a guesthouse, backpackers are getting a share-room bed and continental breakfast for $30 a night, which I think is very fair. Once you include the expenses for clean linen, breakfast and staff to clean the room, we don't gain much from these beds.

All this information is readily available to anyone that would ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews