We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but memorable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cecil Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short but memorable stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located on a side street off Katoomba's main road, the sign for The Cecil Guesthouse can be easy to miss but it is an easy walk from the station. Stepping into this place is a step back in time - into soft maroon carpets, dark wood paneling, and antiquarian furnishings.

My room was clean and cozy with plenty of warm blankets for a cold Spring, a washbasin, and an electric radiator. What I enjoyed most was opening the old cupboard doors to find hundreds of messages scrawled by earlier guests. The guesthouse is also equipped with sparkling clean, heated bathrooms. The receptionist was friendly and even helped with directions to other regions of the Blue Mountains.

I didn't get to use the games room, but the dining area is airy and perfect for soaking up some sun in the morning (simple breakfast buffet provided, just wash up after yourself). Wish there had been more guests around as it was very quiet! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    14
    9
    14
See reviews for
17
30
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent one night at the Cecil Guesthouse and booked a double room with en-suite (which turned out to have possibly the worlds smallest en-suite!). The room was spacious but tired. However did offer good views. The breakfast included is a basic continental breakfast.
We would say that this place is more for backpackers than those expecting a B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hostel is located about 10 mins walk from Katoomba station, can be quite misleading with inadequate directions to the hotel. The hotel's has a century of heritage and has this quaint rustic charm. The pictures on the walls tell a story which dates a very long time back. The hotel has a games room and a huge dining room which offered free breakfast. I had a 4 bedder dorm room and the room was clean, towels and toiletries were provided. Bathroom was shared but i had no issue it as it was well maintained and towels were changed regularly. My first night disrupted the sleep of two other guests and the receptionist was apologetic to make the rest of my stay in the games room a more accommodable one by offering me with extra blankets and a box of breakfast ready for my early checkout the next morning. It was a warm gesture and I enjoyed me stay there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jervis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's a great deal for the price, perfect location and cosy environment. Excellent views.Nice gaming and entertainment room. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cecil Guesthouse is one the nicest guest houses I have ever stayed at. The place was spotlessly clean, fresh and has lovely timeless quality of a bygone era. The games area and gardens were lovely and really added something to our stay. The location is excellent making this a perfect place to stay when visiting the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and although it was quite old fashioned and could have done with a lick of paint, the service was great and the location was fab. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice! Loved the raisin toast! Bathrooms were cleaned on the top floor but a bit scary and cold on the bottom floor. This place could be so much more beautiful with a bit of TLC!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cometravelwithme2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Besides the central location in town, the clean & cosy rooms, the warm beds, the fire place, the views from the windows, the superb grounds around the guesthouse, the best part of The Cecil is the staff. Small in number but big on service! With the redecoration in full swing, the visitors after us, will discover an even better and more beautiful place to stay. If i have the opportunity to return to Katoomba, this is where i will stay....again and again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWillemse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Metropole Guesthouse
The Metropole Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cecil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cecil Guesthouse

Property: The Cecil Guesthouse
Address: 108 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cecil Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello future guests,It is our pleasure to announce that The Cecil is under new management as of 02/12/12. We are in love with The Cecil and passionate about making your stay a pleasurable experience rather than just a bed for the night.We look forward to ensuring you enjoy your stay.Cecil Management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cecil Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing