We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private retreat”
Review of Shelton-Lea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shelton-Lea B&B
Ranked #7 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“private retreat”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We don't normally stay in b&b's , preferring large hotels with more facilities.
However, our stay here may have convinced us to reconsider.
We stayed in the amaroo suite and were very impressed with it's cleanliness and easy comfort. The little extras like chocolates and port were very much appreciated.
Breakfast was excellent and it was a real treat to be able to eat it in the privacy of our room.
Jenny was a very pleasant host and gave good dining suggestions.
We would recommend this to others and be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Booked before the bushfires when my first choice -closest to my conference venue- was booked out
On arrival after the bushfires I was upgraded to their Allambee Spa suite extremely well appointed in all respects , The whole set up was lovely and, relaxing, service great with little touches like chocolates, fresh berries for the morning cereals
An unexpected bonus: it is a few minutes walk from the 3sisters, allowing me to bushwalk a couple of hours after my conference everyday and I extended by an extra day

Room Tip: i you like old charm B&B that's it If you like breakfast al fresco take the Amaroo suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this delightful B&B in July. Our bungalow style ensuite bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and TV room was very warm and comfortable. Our hosts were kind and provided chocolates and hot drinks in the evening and a delicious breakfast in the morning.
The only small " minus" was that the walls were very thin and the guests in the room next door quite noisy late at night. Perhaps just a gentle reminder to all guests to be mindful of others trying to sleep later at night would be helpful. Despite that we both had enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this B&B to friends and family :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinslieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at Shelton-Lea always encourage and support reviews from guests so that we can improve our B&B with recommendations as outlined in your review. As part of our introduction to all guests when they check in we do remind guests that there are adjoining suites and to please ensure that (especialy at night time) guests be considerate and enjoy their stay. 99% of guest are alway very well behaved and do think of other guests while staying here. Unforturnately (like all accommodation places) you can get a loud and rowdy guest. The walls that you describe as thin are actually quite thick as opposed to modern day motel walls. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing your again at Shelton-Lea B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in the Amaroo suite and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Shelton Lea. Jenny is a considerate and expert host. You're provided with a warm, comfortable and attractively furnished suite ideal for couples whom desire a private, cosy escape. You're treated to a delicious well-sized cooked breakfast on a rotating menu with preferences, as well as the prospect of added extras such as baked treats and port. Shelton Lea is in a quite street in walking distance from Katoomba's scenic attractions and township. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otherplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fantastic! I chose to stay here after reading the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. I booked the amaroo suite for a one night mini break with my partner. The room is comfy, well heated with a great little fireplace, and comes complete with a kitchenette and spa bath. The little extras are such a nice touch - port, chocolates, cookies.. Jenny and Paul are incredibly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here!! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark W.A.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband & I spent 2 nights at this delightful B & B, while the weather was cold and windy we were lovely and snug inside.
Private self contained unit with the decor of yesteryear, charm abounds and the cooked breakfast was delicious and kept us going till evening, Jenny makes the most wonderful cakes of which we were lucky enough to sample and the port and chocolates were a bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate your support and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a mini-break at Shelton-Lea. This was a return trip, as we had stayed there last year. Jenny and Paul are wonderful hosts: privacy, comfort and lots of 'little extras' didn't disappoint! After a long trek in the mountains, it was a lovely surprise to return to our suite and find some lovely raspberry flan (home-backed by Jenny) for afternoon tea! Jenny also provided us with valuable local information, including tips for restaurants, cafes and other hamlets in the Blue Mountains to visit. I would definitely recommend Shelton-Lea to others looking for an excellent base to explore this wonderful part of the world!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amaroo suite which has a spa and gas open fireplace, as well as central heating. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very lucky to have such great return guests, and hope that you come and enjoy our hospitality again soon. Thank you for your lovely review, it makes our day and gives us the pleasure of knowing that we are striving to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelton-Lea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelton-Lea B&B

Property: Shelton-Lea B&B
Address: 159 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelton-Lea B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelton-Lea B&B is in the heart of Katoomba in the Beautiful World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park. Shelton-Lea is central to all attractions, lookouts, cafes, restaurants, galleries, bush walks, and much more. Within close walking distance to the Rail Station, and we pick up and drop off. Relaxation, rejuvenation and romantic suites are on offer when you stay at Shelton-Lea B&B, cosy and warm in autumn and winter and sunny and cheerful in spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shelton-Lea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton-Lea B&B Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing