We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable friendly stay”
Review of Shelton-Lea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shelton-Lea B&B
Ranked #7 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this B&B in the Blue Mountains, in their Studio room. This room isn't on their website but Jenny sent us photos when she wrote to say that they had a room available.

The room was a separate dwelling with a shower, comfortable queen size bed, flat screen TV, lounge chairs and an additional single bed. There was a kitchenette with breakfast materials available for the next morning.

The dwelling and garden are all very pretty as per website photos. It was easy to walk from here to the restaurants on the mainstreet, to take an early morning walk to the mountain sights and a drive to Leura nearby.

Jenny was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Shelton-Lea B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

I brought deal for Shelton - lea B&B from living social. Its really amazing place to stay, my stay of 2 night just gone like a minute, i was seriously feeling not to leave this place. The room was so cosy and so delight. The lovelu host jenny made brownies for us and it was best i ever had. Seriously, LOVE IT

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samarthlathiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just experienced two nights in this superb Bed and Breakfast. We were in the Amaroo Suite and it provided everything needed for our comfort and enjoyment. The Spa bath was an added bonus as how often do any of us have time to luxuriate in warm bubbly water. We will definitely return to the Shelton Lea; Jenny and Paul are welcoming hosts and let us get on with the business of having fun!
PS The complimentary bottle of wine was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

For two nights, my husband and I called the Allambee Suite home. Gas combustion fire, spa bath, breakfast nook and a comfortable bed were just the standard appointments. Jenny then spoilt us with a lovely bottle of Tambourlaine bubbly and chocolates! The provisions in the suite were superb, the decor luxurious and the ambiance very relaxing. And if that wasn't enough, Shelton-Lea is a short stroll to Echo Point and the Katoomba shopping precinct. A beautiful getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This B&B is an incredibly romantic place to stay, especially in the Winter months. The service was exceptional with cooked breakfast in the morning and even home made brownies for our afternoon tea! Our room was spacious and warm. Jenny and Paul are more than accommodating and helpful. We will certainly return and recommend anyone who wants a romantic getaway to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is just awesome. Nice place for a romantic getaway. Warmly welcomed by the host Jenny and Paul.. Bought the deal from livingsocial and really good value for the deal. I've read the reviews before i purchase the deal and it's proven, just like what the others have said... I only have a fantastic memory after i left the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CienL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We fell in love with Shelton Lea the first time we stayed in 2008 and we're still loving it! We've enjoyed five stays in total, and have worked our way around all the suites. They're all fabulous! Jenny and Paul are the perfect hosts and have thought of everything! A stay at this B and B is like a home away from home, only better! The suites are charming, the beds are fit for a queen and the breakfasts are fit for a king! Every time we have visitors from the UK we always take them for a few days to the Mountains and we always stay here. Everyone has loved it, and says that Shelton Lea has been a mountains higlight! On top of that, it's only minutes away from town and the Three Sisters which makes it a perfect location to explore the region with or without a car. On top of all that, Jenny and Paul are the fonts of all knowledge when it comes to the mountains - I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing but if you're a couple on a love weekender, the Amaroo Suite is especi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pddownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatoombaBelle, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review, we always enjoy your stays with us and hope there will be many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelton-Lea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelton-Lea B&B

Address: 159 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $134 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelton-Lea B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelton-Lea B&B is in the heart of Katoomba in the Beautiful World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park. Shelton-Lea is central to all attractions, lookouts, cafes, restaurants, galleries, bush walks, and much more. Within close walking distance to the Rail Station, and we pick up and drop off. Relaxation, rejuvenation and romantic suites are on offer when you stay at Shelton-Lea B&B, cosy and warm in autumn and winter and sunny and cheerful in spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shelton-Lea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton-Lea B&B Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing