We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this one a big miss”

Echoes Restaurant - Blue Mountains
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney! We are an intimate boutique Hotel offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. Our award winning eclectically designed building has 10 Deluxe View Rooms, 2 Corner View Suites, and 2 Superior Cliff View Rooms - all with en-suites, contemporary & stylish furnishings, generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views as well as the lush cool air of the rainforest valleys below. There are open fire places throughout the Hotel, an ambient bar/lounge as well as a private spa and sauna offering an array of soothing treatments. Echoes' Restaurant is set against the magnificent backdrop of Echo Point in the Blue Mountains with incomparable views of the Jamison Valley, surrounding cliff drops and lush rainforest valleys stretching all the way to the Mittagong, 80 kms away. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the bush and marvelous views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our creative cuisine and carefully selected high quality boutique Australian wines.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Give this one a big miss”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were not staying here but decided to make a booking for dinner in the restaurant as it was our wedding anniversary.
We walked into reception, there was no one there. We waited and waited and no one came to serve us. While there we checked the menu and found it ridiculously expensive. We walked out without anybody knowing that we were ever there.
Judging from our experience, I should imaging that the dinner would have been top priced with poor service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Doolighal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    86
    40
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“God quality food and attentive service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was served with interesting and complementary sides. Four of us ate, and all were happy with their meal. Service was attentive and yet discrete. The sommelier was knowleadgable. The housemade sorbets and icecream were excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GANDK715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quirky place, great dinner”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed dinner here on our second night staying at the sister resort Lilianfels and we had the best time. The restaurant is quite modern and extremely stylish. We loved just looking around at the pictures, the colours of the place, very stylish.

Staff extremely attentive but we felt that our young waitress was fairly new as she was a little in our faces and seemed apprehensive at times with topping up wine etc, but she was lovely and didn't get in our faces at all.

Food was simply scrumptious I must say, I enjoyed the way that you could select a "trio" of the entrees and desserts, that was a great way to share it with your partner. We selected the trio of entrees which were simply scrumptious - hickory smoked salmon with caviar and celeriac, cous cous with stuffed zucchini flower and the duck, extremely yummy entrees. Had barramundi for main which was simply mouth watering, husband had the guinea fowl. Very nice. We decided to only have the 2 courses as we wanted to relax in The Lounge at Lilianfels with a cheese platter. Extremely nice experience and we'll definitely return there for a meal

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience(s)”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Enjoyed a lunch and a dinner at the restaurant and loved both.

Lunch: got a table with a spectacular views (see photos). The food was great and the servings were quite big, in particular a platter for two, which three of us could have easily shared with some leftovers. Service was very friendly and discrete. I can’t remember when was the last time when I’ve got my white wine with the fish without specifically asking!

Dinner: there was a compulsory minimum two course dinner on the Saturday, which we didn’t have a problem with. Again, the food was delicious and well timed, allowing us plenty of time to relax with discrete live piano music.

The highlight of the evening was taking coffees in the lounge, in front of the fire (unfortunately, the piano lady left for the evening just before we moved). Anlthough we stayed quite late, we never felt unwelcome, so thank you guys for not urging us on!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bane11-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely range of modern Australia menu. Lovely view over the valley, enjoyed the fireplace with a glass of wine before dinner. But as part of accomadation package not able to comment on value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyYager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echoes Restaurant - Blue Mountains also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Echoes Restaurant - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing