We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, interesting place - friendly host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sirens Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, interesting place - friendly host”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed with wife and kid for 3 nights. It is more a couples place than for kids (given the relatively small size and large number of antiques and artwork around the place) but our 5 year old was made very welcome. The owner cooked a nice breakfast, offered lots of travel tips, and even drove us to several places downtown when we needed a ride. The other guests were nice people too. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When we arrived our host Graeme took care to show us all the interesting things to do in the area and shared his and previous visitors' opinions of all the possibilities. He had several albums of pictures, guides and articles on items of local interest. This helped us set up our day and a half of hiking well. The house and furnishings are fascinating with an eclectic mix of collectables, objects d'art, antiques, cameras, books, etc. You could easily spend an hour or more just looking through the items he has collected. Our room was very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. It is in a very quiet neighborhood close enough to hike to the train station if desired though perhaps a bit long if carrying bags. It is just a couple of blocks from the bus line so use your $2.20 and save the legs for the mountains.
The breakfast he fixed was a substantial full English breakfast with additional toast, cereals, yogurt, and fruit available. We enjoyed Graeme and his interesting B&B very much. We also appreciate all the help he gave us to make our visit to the Blue Mountains an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: They are all unique. Let Graeme guide your experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Sirens in mid April 2012. On arrival we were greeted by our host Graeme and taken on the 'grand tour' of the property and given lots of advise and tips on where to eat & what to do during our stay. We'd already made eating arrangements (see separate reviews of Ankis & Gustissimmos) but took his advise on what to do and we're glad we did.

We were staying in the spa room which we found to be a bit cramped (the very comfy bed takes up most of the space) and in need of a serious revitalisation. When it was first decorated it would have been a beautiful room. But now the wallpaper is starting to part company with the walls down the seams and the blinds in both bathrooms were water stained and shabby. Having said that everything spotlessly clean and the decanters of water and port were a nice touch. I'm happy to take advise here, having never stayed in a B&B of any description in my life before but I would have thought the room would have been serviced while we were out but that was not the case. We had to make our own bed and wash our glasses.

Breakfast was a great, a solid English affair that left us without the need for lunch on both days and could not be faulted.

Don't let the description of a property showing signs gentrified neglect put you off. From my experience of the area this is indicative of the Blue Mountains.Too many establishments catering for not enough tourists means there are no winners. It's all part of the charm of the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A unique experience in a B&B made for the Gods. Aphrodite, Bacchus and Cupid that is: with lush layers of fabrics and cheeky nudes and objects d'art on every available surface. A gorgeous warm room, sumptuous breakfast and eccentric, welcoming host, this is a must-stay in the Mountains. Long-ish walk from the train though - better to drive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenMelFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The rooms were all super cute. We stayed in the spa room which added something extra special to our stay :) The rooms were beautiful and comfy, the food was great and there was a TV and games room to entertain ourselves. We received great advice on dining and walks from the owner. Location was great also - close to main road restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Others have described Sirens as eclectic, charming and romantic.

Obviously it's a personal thing, but I found it less charming and more cluttered than described. It's quite a gloomy old house, with lots of knick-knacks and artifacts scattered about every room. There was a smell of stale fried food lingering from the breakfasts.

It's definitely quirky and interesting, but it's not going to be everyone's idea of a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen_lead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Graeme does a wonderful job taking care of his guests. Our first night's stay after the 26-hour journey from Baltimore was so relaxing. We got the spa tub room, which was delightful. I felt like I was staying in a museum with all the fascinating antiques. The artwork on the walls, mostly vintage nudes (hence the name of the B & B), were tasteful and lovely. It was walking distance to the heart of town where all the restuarants and shops were located. Next time we'll be staying more than one night!

Room Tip: The spa after the long flight was invaluable. It was well worth the additional cost for the spa tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Cato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.9 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirens Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirens Bed And Breakfast

Property: Sirens Bed And Breakfast
Address: 3 Duff St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirens Bed And Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sirens Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirens Bed And Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing