We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks and dinner @ Old City Bank”

Old City Bank Brasserie
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Old City Bank Brasserie offers an informal dining experience - wood-fired pizzas, burgers, pastas, steaks & the freshest salads. Located at the bottom of the main hotel driveway, upstairs from the Old City Bank Bar, the multi award-winning Brasserie is open for orders from 12noon to 9pm (last orders) 7 days and meals may be enjoyed upstairs in the Brasserie (see hours below) or downstairs in the Old City Bank bar.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
599 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Drinks and dinner @ Old City Bank”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Arrived in Katoomba, booked into accommodation - checked Tripadvisor for restaurant recommendations - walked to the Old Bank - early for dinner (commences 6pm)- had a couple of drinks in downstairs bar - then at 6pm walked upstairs - fortunately = because we didn't have a booking - we were shown to a table - it became very obvious quickly that this is a popular restaurant - all tables occupied very quickly

service friendly and efficient - Guinness and beef pie - was excellent - unfortunately - my wife's medium rare steak was med/rare - however the outside was burnt - leaving a burnt taste which overtook the taste of the meat.

the test of any dining experience is the answer to the question "would we return or recommend?" in this instance the answer is a resounding "yes"

just go early or make a booking !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    260
    66
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A warm inviting atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We took up a three day package at the Carrington, and with the cold nights, we decided to try the Old City Bank Brasserie for dinner on the first night, as it was next door, and we could leave the car at home. We were not disappointed. The warm, cosy setting was inviting, and the staff were fabulous - so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, and we enjoyed our experience so much, we went back for dinner the following night.
I can really recommend this place - good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service, good food (yummy dessert!), great atmosphere - try to book!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were recommend to this place by locals and it did not let us down. Great quality pub food with efficient and friendly service (worth a tip) and it's a clear winner with the locals.

We had dinner here on Saturday night - turned up at 7pm and it was a full house. Without a booking, we left our name and number with the front desk and went downstairs to have a drink. About 40 mins later, we got a call telling us our table was ready.

We could not fault anything. Food was served quickly, the wait staff while all very busy, was attentive. My husband's steak was well cooked and tender and my Guinness pie was very rich and filled with quality beef.

Great place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Warm, cheerful & reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A lovely place to have an informal meal when staying at The Carrington Hotel next door. The meals were well presented and a very good amount of food. I especially loved the bread and butter pudding....
Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
392 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The Old City Bank Brasserie”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant and bar just up the way from the train station. We were there at the end of lunch on a Saturday and the place was still busy. We enjoyed dinner and drinks. I had the sirloin and my husband had the meat pie. Both were delicious. Note, the restaurant is up some steep stairs, not sure if they have an elevator. If you are not able to climb the stairs, you can always eat in the bar. We will return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Bank Brasserie also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Old City Bank Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing