We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing service & poor location,but quite clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed July 16, 2013

as the other reviewer said, i should have checked the reviews on trip advisor to avoid having unpleasant experience with them.

the worst part was that during our 2 night stay the false fire alarm went off every night at 10pm. an extreme loud alarm noise in each room made all the guess waken up and got out from the room. as there was no staff staying overnight on site, we needed to call the lady & wait for her to disable the alarm. it took approx. 15min for her to come & disable the alarm.

after experienced it, you would expect they would at least apologize for those unneccesary inconvenience. eventhough she did knock & check us in our room & saw her when we were checking out there was no apology whatsoever had been made. it was like there was no inconvenience cause by false alarm at all.

number of facts & pros that some of them have been outlined: poorly located between highway & railway making it easy to access from outside katoomba, but a bit complicated if you are actually exploring katoomba itself as you will need to go back outbound from katoomba & turn around to inbound direction to reach the motel. the location also makes it terribly noisy from the railway & truck putting their compression brake to stop at the traffic lights in front of the motel.

the only pros are cleanliness of the room & the room is equipped with basic needs, including electric blankets. they keep you survive comfortably, but do not expect flashy features & noiseless night.

overall, despite it might be the best price around the area, if i knew all of those facts above, i would have been easily spend few bucks more to get much better value than this one.

will not be back & do not recommend it for others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Henry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Firstly, I should say that the room was clean and the facilities good for the price. However, the motel is in between the railway line and the main highway - there is double glazing and they have made an effort with a draught stopper thingy for the door to reduce road noise. BUT, it just should not be there. Yuk!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

OK well I booked online for s family of five...I didn't :(( check the trip adviser reviews..my BIG mistake. Starting with location, this motel is jammed literally between the highway where you will be greeted all night long with noisy trucks and cars zooming past like they are going to smack into the motel and on the other side is the railway line trains every half hour the wall I was leaning on was vibrating as the train passes...next its winter so you would expect heating to work it doesn't it just makes even more noise I don't need is outdated switches itself off and blows slightly warm air, no kidding the air out if my mouth is warmer...3 out of 5 blankets work ..maybe they're good odds??...this place is so outdated there is no basin in the bathroom its in the kitchenette which consists of the basin and a microwave...a bug came out from under it when I switched it on...we have barrackaded the door with our luggage to stop the draft and noise doest really help...we have 2 chairs at the table with 5 beds in the room there should be at least 5 chairs...the tap in the bath runs with a leak near the top that squirts at your clothes...they have cut so many corners with this place its not funny... I booked 2 nights we got here late the first night and the blue mountains has so much to do we needed another full day they gave us 2 rolls of toilet paper to share between 5 ppl and its the cheapest kind that dissolves in seconds I've used better toilet paper in public toilets...the kettle had coffee blotches on top of it...the TV has 3 channels only 2 are visible but blurred and volume issues as this place has yet to hear about digital TV...I wish I'd read reviews on this the website makes it look OK for $150 a night for 5 ppl I think $20 is more reasonable for this place there is nothing positive it takes the cake and is officially the WORST place I have stayed...I hope it helps others from making the same mistake I made.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank selmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We travelled up from Sydney for a nice couple of days exploring the Blue Mountains. We didn't bother booking any accommodation as we figured it was July and demand wouldn't be too great - first mistake! After a lovely day doing the touristy things around Katoomba, we decided to look for accommodation as darkness fell. Much to our concern, 'No Vacancy' signs greeted us wherever we went - the annual Yuletide Festival was on and everything was full! In desperation, we drove back out onto the highway, past a couple more 'No Vacancy' signs before stumbling upon the G'day Motel - second mistake. Deciding that beggars can't be choosy, we toddled in to the reception to enquire about a room for the night. Interrupting the old guy's game of Solitaire on his computer, we were given the keys to a room and hit for $110. I would have to say this was the second worst room I have ever stayed in - second only to a Formula1 motel I was forced to stay in when trapped in Melbourne by the volcanic ash cloud last year! And to make matters worse, when I hopped onto Wotif later that night, the going rate for the rooms were $65 - aaaargggghhhh! All I can say positive about the poor old G'day Motel is that they have beds. We were gone by 8am the following morning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We only stayed here as we had nothing booked for 1 night on the long weekend and these guys had a cancellation.

- Average looking motel, very dated rooms.
- Hard to access when coming from Katoomba, need to drive toward sydney to turn around.
- Noise from hwy at front and from train tracks behind could only be drowned out by the ridiculously loud old style reverse cycle air-con (which was only just cutting it warmth wise).
- Tiles missing from bathroom, nothing seemed particularly clean either - guess it must've been a bit busy over the l/weekend.
- White stains from I don't want to know what on the bedspread cover, small blood stain underneath.
- When we did try turning off the noisy air-con you could hear other people snoring in an adjoining room, so not very sound proof.
- Had issues keeping shower at a constant temp.
- Bed not very comfy, may be ok with 1 person, 2 people and you roll into the middle.
- Wasn't even super cheap to make up for it.

Room Tip: Go and stay in Katoomba or Lurline St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Previous comments about road and rail noise are true (but we didn't hear anything from other residents), so if you're a light sleeper take some ear plugs. Otherwise though, our experience was actually very reasonable - everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and we felt the price was about right. We have a six month old child and were provided with a clean and very comfortable cot for the duration of our stay (the noise did not seem to bother her). Whilst the immediate location between train and road routes is not so great from a noise perspective, the Blue Mountains is a wonderful area to explore - and the motel serves as a good base from which to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
304 reviews
1.6 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
514 reviews
1.5 mi away
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
#9 of 15 in Katoomba
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Gday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Gday Motel

Address: Blue Mountains Hospital 181 Great Western Hwy, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: $78 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Gday Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mountains Gday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Gday Motel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing