We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Explorers is welcoming and clean”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvan Lake, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3 Explorers is welcoming and clean”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Excellent value in Katoomba. Brief walk to Three Sisters and many walking trails of various difficulty. Beautiful setting in an interesting town. Accommodation is extremely clean with bar fridge, morning coffee supplies and lots of towels. Property has been recently refurbished including air conditioning, brand new beds and lovely bedding. Matthew, the owner, is informative and helpful. We absolutely recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvanLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    150
    42
    5
    9
See reviews for
111
159
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

really wanted to stay somewhere to feel the atmosphere and era of the 20's. unfortunately or fortunately trip advisor helped make my decision not to do that. so many bad reviews abouts other places near by. anyhow 3 explorers it was. neat clean and tidy. newly refurbished. They have done a good job at making the rooms look and feel modern.

would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeeptraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunzburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Just about everything in Katoomba looks like it got stuck in time at some point in the 70s. If not from being so tired after a long journey, we would have happily moved on (the rainy weather didn't help either).
After having seen the room, we decided to stay at the 3 explorers, which turned out to be a good decision.
The room was very clean and spacious, with complimentary tea/coffee. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaTareco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for your positive review. Our rooms are even much much better now having completely renovated the motel and reopened 31st August 2010. You should see us now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The room was very pokey - but otherwise okay. View - brick wall. Bathroom okay but basic. Endless drone of aircon (I assume) out the window spoilt a quiet spot. A ludicrously large light outside the room (safety regulations no doubt) lit the whole room at night - finally towels etc cut it down somewhat. An overly suspicious host (the absurd checkout arrangements, and tales of how people have ripped him off) spoilt any sense of a welcoming feel.
Beds comfortable.
Generally glad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikelevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Not any more! We are new owners and have completely renovated the motel with new everything correcting all those problems. Since September 2010 it is a "new" modern motel and we are proud of the results. Please drop in and see, there will be NO disappointments from now on!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Shire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The couple that owned the hotel, were friendly and helpful. Very infomative about the Blue Mountains area. The room and bathroom were very clean. And although the bathroom window was permanently ajar as soon as the spa or shower were on it was soon warm and steamy. It was close enough to Echo Point to easily walk without worrying about parking. We went for a wedding at nearby Lilianfels but we have been convinced to return for a bushwalking holiday and will definately stay here again. Loved it!

  • Liked — The service!
  • Disliked — room didn't have a view and was small (cosy) but we didn't mind as we were out in the view!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Medievalgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Spent one night in 3 Explorers Motel in Katoomba, Australia. The motel is managed by a middle-aged friendly couple. All rooms have central heating (which is necessary during winter mths) & hot shower. The room given was basic, ie 1 double bed, a small sofa, a table with 2 chairs, a mini frig, kettle & a 20" TV with local channels. The hotel is 12 mins walk to the 3 sisters mt look out pt (Echo Pt). There is no restaurant near-by but there is a deli 2 blks away selling avg fish & chips. Check-out is 10am strictly,else you need to pay A$20 penalty for late check-out after 10.30am. The bathroom is small & "Cold" due to an uninsulated window where cold wind will sip in. Overall a basic hotel that is clean & simple. The couple can help to prepare hot breakfast (yummy) for A$7 to A$11 that will deliver to your room before 8.15am.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tccfairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
A lot has happened since Aug 2008!!! We are new owners and as of Aug 2010 have fully renovated all the rooms including the bathrooms. All the rooms now have new quiet reverse cycle split system airconditioning, new 80cm digital LCD TVs and all new modern furniture, new everything! The manager and staff are there to help, check in and out times are flexible so as to help our guests. We want you to stay longer and come back again, drop in and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing