We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was clean, tiday and close to everything. A perfect location, 20 min walk into Katoomba, not far from Scenic World and across the road from the Chocolate Shop - yummy! We had a family room, it had a double bed, single bed and tucked neatly around a wall, bunkbeds. Which was perfect for my two girls and was great for when they went to bed and we wanted to watch television. The owner was welcoming and informative and gave us lots of tourist advice, of where to go, what are the best times etc. I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TiggerT669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    149
    42
    5
    10
See reviews for
109
159
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Sometimes it's the small little extras that indicate a generosity in the attitude of hoteliers. In this hotel it was a simple matter of some biscuits. We were welcomed very well by the owner, who took time to give us tips on restaurants and local discounts. The room was tidy and comfortable and we were delighted that, unlike many places to stay, there was a packet of biscuits to go with our cup of tea. Another great asset in this motel was the power of the shower: it was a delight to stand under it! The price was very competitive and the beds were good.
As always with motels the noise transmission both from outside and neighbouring rooms was a bit of an issue, but the motel was to be forgiven for the noisy cockatoos which provided the dawn chorus from the trees outside.
A highly recommended place to stay. You can't do better in Katoomba.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a queen room for two nights while visiting the Blue Mountains. A friend had recommended fancier places including nearby Lillienfels, but all we really wanted a decent place to sleep so we chose to save some money. It was a great decision. The 3 Explorers is located within just 5-10 minutes walk from Echo Point/The 3 Sisters and from an entry point for Scenic World. Its right at a stop for the Explorer bus (and the trolley) -- hop on hop off, so we were fine with no car. The room was spacious, quiet and clean, with a good bed and free internet (though slow). A simple breakfast was available delivered to the room, which allowed us to be up and out long before the tourist buses from Sydney arrived with their hoards. Consider staying here rather than making a day trip from Sydney -- the room was about half the price of our hotel in Sydney, and we had much more time to enjoy the mountains. Best of all was the staff -- Chris was very happy to recommend activities and strategies for seeing the sights in the Katoomba area and happy to accommodate our requests. His restaurant recommendations were spot on -- try Pins just a few blocks away. We really enjoyed the personal touch. If you stay here, be aware that most restaurants are on the main drag in Katoomba or in nearby Leura, and the tourist buses stop running 5ish. Katoomba is a pleasant 20 minute walk through the neighborhood - not far really, but if you are already footsore from trail walking there is always a cab. We would definitely stay here again - there are family rooms and suites, so next time we will bring our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We reserved a family room and it worked out very well. It had a queen bed, single bed and then, in an alcove, a bunk bed. Our two boys (16 and 12) were happy to have their "nook," and we were, too! Beds were comfortable. Location is great - my wife and I enjoyed the walk into Katoomba and easy drive to adjacent towns. Three Sisters and Echo Point are a very short walk - essentially one block away. The gentleman who was at the desk each time we stopped by was extremely nice and helpful. Although the weather was a bit rainy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish we could have remained longer to see and do more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Highly recommended! Perfect location, very quiet, clean, comfortable bed, refrigerator, ironing board, Jacquzzi tub. We were able to walk over to the mountain trail within minutes. It's also conveniently located right across the way from Lilianfels, where we considered staying, but it was fully booked. Well, I was grateful for that; we saved a considerable sum. Management was very helpful with maps, recommendations and very responsive. Book it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, a pleasure to have you visit, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here after reading trip advisor reviews with great enthusiasm.big mistake ,met one of the rudest staff I have had the misfortune to come across. Asked if they had a single room and was told only family rooms available said OK could I see the room and was told no go somewhere else as he couldn't be bothered I said how rude to which he replied you're the bloody rude one . nice

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank julian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Firstly I would like to point out that you have not actually stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel, something that we need to take up with Trip Advisor ASAP, reviews are suppose to be from Guests that have stayed at the Motel.
Sounds as though you did not book a reservation & it would be quite likely that only Family Rooms would have been available, Neither I or my Wife who Manage the Property would use the offensive language that you imply, all of which sounds as though you may have been a potential guest that we would have preferred not to have stay,which of course would be our right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The motel was very well located only a few hundred yards from the Three Sisters viewing point and about 15 minutes walk from the town centre.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided all we needed. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again should you return to Australia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing