We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for exploring Blue Mountains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient for exploring Blue Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed one night to see the Blue Mountains at dusk and dawn. Great location, a few minutes drive from Three Sisters and Echo Point. A bit pricey, but is clean, nice and tidy, all you really need. A nice chocolate shop on the opposite side of the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golface69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again should you return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    146
    42
    5
    8
See reviews for
108
155
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location for walking to hiking trails and other attractions, plus a few nearby restaurants. Rooms very clean and comfortable but not overly large. Small fridge and kettle provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The room is clean and the service is basic. Probably the accommodation at Blue Mountains is very prices. $205 per night is just a bit expensive at a motel room. Expecting a better room. Paid less at other resorts with much better rooms, views and location during the same period. First time so will not stay at Blue Mountain next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your views on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, yes we are a Motel & advertise as such, we prefer to greet all Guests on arrival & explain the area, unfortunately this is not possible with a Family of 4 arriving during the night after we had closed & leaving early in the morning, we hope you do return to visit to the Blue Mountains, there are a few Hotels in Katoomba that offer good views & perhaps you could stay for a few days to enjoy the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely motel. Great beds. Friendly and helpful people. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Walking distance to Echo point and wonderful views. 5 min drive to Scenic World. Fabulous coffee and chocolate shop across the road

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a very kind review of your recent visit to the Blue Mountains & your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, good to hear that you enjoyed everything & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in the family room and it was great! if all you need is simple lodging without any fancy perks or views, this is the place to stay when in Katoomba. The room was clean and the room does feel like it has undergone a bit of a makeover. The family room was spacious enough for my husband, myself and my 2 boys - 6 and 3 years of age. And because it was really cold in the night while we were there, having electric blankets was such a bonus. Love the free Wifi and ample parking lots. Just a 5 mins walk away to echo point and a 5 mins drive away to Scenic World. Do check out Leura while it in Katoomba. Shops and cafes there are worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msbeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & hope that we see you again, thank you for taking the time to offer future guests information regarding your experience in a very kind review of your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed overnight at 3 Explorers Motel during our short trip to the Blue Mountains. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful and offered suggestions on sights to visit and do during our short stay. The proximity to the Echo Point and 3 Sisters was a plus and only a very short walk from the motel. We had a great time. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your brief visit to the Blue Mountains & hope that you stay a little longer next time we see you, thank you for taking the time to offer future guests information regarding your experience in a kind review of your stay @ the 3 explorers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed fir 2 nights in this comfortable, clean motel within weakling distance of the 3 Sisters at Echo Point. The room was spacious with a large flat screen TV, shower was good and some kitchen facilities. I asked for a toaster and the staff were happy to supply one. It was very quiet and the internet worked perfectly and was free. The hiking nearby was amazing and we would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The double rooms are all on the first floor and we had No 8 which was perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a very kind review of your recent visit to the Blue Mountains & your stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, we are delighted that you enjoyed everything & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing