We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtonfield, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only one night adn found it to be in THE PERFECT position. It is a 5 minute walk to the Scenic Railway one way and a 5 minutes walk to the Three Sisters the other way. The staff were very helpful in giving directions and recommending dinner choices/restaurants in town.
The room itself was of good size (familt room with a double bed adn 2 single beds). Wondferful idea of the electric blankets.. made such a huge differance.
The only negative was that the room smelt of bleach, obviously from cleaning but found it quite overwhelming when we first arrived. We simply opened a couple of windows when we got there and it was much better after our afternoons activities.
Thanks for a wonderful stay in the Blue Mountains !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    150
    42
    5
    9
See reviews for
111
159
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel for 4 nights in May 2012, I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived on the Monday night, the Motel was clean and well presented. We had a spa room, the spa was big and most importantly clean, the room had all the usual things you would expect in a motel, the only complaint I would have was that the bottom of the spa had seen better days. The motel was close to the Three Sisters and a number of other tourist attractions it was also close to the towns centre.We ordered room service breakfast two of the mornings we were there and it was very good for the price. One thing I wouldn't recommend to anyone would be to eat at the RSL club, we went there on the Monday night for Dinner and the food was terrible, on the whole we had an enjoyable stay and we would recommend this motel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms. The electric blankets were a nice extra. Excellent location and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eberor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Beautiful old wold charm rooms. Would stay again no problems.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tassie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellently situated for the three sisters lookout and scenic world, plus close to the main town. Ideal base for anybody wanting to explore the blue mountains. The newly refurbished rooms are an excellent size, and are very comfortable and warm with everything you need for your stay. Found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Really nice little Motel, we had a room on the ground floor, which was a very good size, very comfy bed and sitting area, the room and bathroom were very clean, couldn't ask for more really, perfect for our stop over. We saw both the owners and they were really friendly and very helpfull, even providing us with a map and marking on it the areas we should visit and were the best places for dinner would be. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougalDogHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For two years running we have stayed here while attending the Blue Mountains Music Festival in March. It is a great location as it is only 10 minutes walk from the festival location (around Katoomba RSL club) and 5 minutes in the other direction to the fabulous views and walks around Echo Point. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable, beautifully refurbished, stylish and clean with great bathrooms and free wifi. There is no restaurant, but you can have breakfast in the room, or walk to one of the many great cafes in Katoomba.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
476 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing