We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet, friendly, good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very quiet, friendly, good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The rooms are recently refurbished. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was very quiet. No road noise and no noise from air conditioning. The couple who own it are very friendly and welcoming. Plenty of parking. 5 minute walk to Echo Point and 3 Sisters and 20 minutes walk to the main shopping street in Katoomba. Not the poshest place in the Blue Mountains but very good value. We've already booked future stays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    147
    42
    5
    8
See reviews for
108
156
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in Katoomba overnight after driving through from Sydney. The spacious (& clearly recently renovated) room had a comfortable QS bed with electric blanket and crisp linen. A reverse cycle air-conditioner provided much needed warmth. There was a table & chairs, wall mounted flat screen TV with a little ledge beneath, two-seat sofa and bed side tables. There were plenty of power points available. To the end of the room, was a large mirrored wardrobe with hidden tea/coffee making facilities and additional blanket/pillows. The bathroom was small and pokey – disappointing given the rest of the room. I can’t remember what the water pressure/temperature or bath towels were like. I had full Next G internet & mobile phone reception. A short 2-minute drive into town will grant you access to restaurants, bars, shopping centres and ATMs. However, I could not find a fuel station!!

Room service is offered from a select menu, but I would recommend the walk (if too cold, short drive) to the local RSL. Aside from TVs, the pokies & cheap bar food and drinks, there is a great Chinese restaurant. There are plenty of attractions close by (see the motel’s website for more), but due to time restraints I only had time to do the Three Sisters bushwalk which I highly recommend – pack a heap of water, sturdy shoes & your camera.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our room was large and spacious, and freshly decorated. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was tasty and fresh and a very generous portion. Slightly out of town, but within walking distance if the weather had been dry. The managers were very helpful and offered advice on local golf courses and other activities. No request was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eevebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 - the location is fantastic and was a few minutes walk from Echo Point.
We had a family room which consisted of 1 double bed, 1 single, and bunk beds so the options for a family of four was great.
Bathroom was adequate but the shower was hot and functional -
Lovely electric blankets on the bed so nice and warm as the weather was coldish while we were there.
The area is amazing definately get a car as the options open up, can highly recommend Jenolan caves.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horshamsezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for 4 nights. We were a party of three, myself and my teenage son and daughter. This motel is fairly small which is exactly what one should be looking for in such a beautiful destination as the Blue Mountains. The area is so steeped in history and staying at this little motel felt like we were transported back to the days of small quaint guest houses providing comfort for weary walkers which is exactly what this place offers. The gentleman who runs the motel, and I'm sorry I didn't get his name, couldn't have been more helpful at check in, providing us with maps and telling us all that we needed to know to start our own explorations. We had one of the family rooms on the second floor which was really spacious. It had one double bed and two singles all very comfortable, a dining table with 4 chairs, a small area with a microwave and a good size bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and we couldn't fault the way the room was maintained during our stay. We found our room to be very quiet at night which is when you want it. The only small complaint is that the external door that opened out onto the walkway between rooms was very thin and you could hear your neighbours returning to their rooms. We were fortunate that everyone seemed to turn in early during our stay but I could see that this might cause problems for light sleepers if people were coming in late, however once people were in their rooms there was no noise to be heard as the walls seemed to be thick and well insulated. We went on from here to stay in Sydney at a large characterless chain hotel and both of my teens immediately said they wished we were back at the Three Explorers. All in all a really lovely relaxing stay in a quaint, spotlessly clean motel that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor would probably be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The location was great - very close to hiking trails, cable cars and railway. Room was neat and had a refrigerator, microwave, and small eating table. Beds were comfortable. Male innkeeper at the service desk was friendly and helpful with directions, hiking and dining suggestions. Being able to have breakfast served to the room since there was not a restaurant at the motel was very convenient and was very good.

The noisiest room we have ever slept in. In my reservation, I asked for a quiet room and asked again when we checked in. We were put on the first floor and heard the neighbors tv, toilets flushing and water running from the second floor, and people going up/down the stairs. We were next to a utility room on one side, so don't expect to sleep in the morning. The next day we asked for another room and the female behind the desk was not nice at all and told us no after she said she would check. We also had to kill 3 flies and a spider in the room. Turning on the light in the bathroom automatically turned on a noisy fan.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacobyTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed with my family for a night.
Great location,walkin distance to echo point and 3 sisters.
New management, clean comfortable rooms.
Value for money!
Definitely highly recommended stay in katoomba

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannaglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing