We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, lovely owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

This place is a perfect example of when it pays to read reviews. I wouldn't have booked this hotel if I just looked at the outside, as it looks pretty average. However, after reading the reviews I felt that this would offer good value for money. It delivered!

The rooms are nice and modern on the inside (the outside is a typical small motel). The owners are friendly, incredibly helpful, and accommodating. They even make you breakfast! It was a huge bargain, and I was spoiled by the time I went to Sydney afterwards, where I stayed in a much more expensive hotel that didn't offer breakfast! The location is great, particularly if you are looking to hike, and I quite enjoyed the walk into town. I would recommend this for anyone looking to stay in Katoomba, particularly if you want a good room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    146
    42
    5
    8
See reviews for
108
155
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a fairly simple, straightforward motel with no extras, no spa, sauna, restaurant, no views, no. There are upstairs and downstairs bedrooms, the upstairs ones are probably a little quieter with no cars moving in and out. The rooms are reasonably spacious but not huge, the bathroom of the room we stayed in was more on the small side, but everything is really clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful, the prices reasonable for the location, only a couple of minutes walking distance from the Three Sisters lookout. So in summary, don't expect too much of course from a motel, but this is a very reasonable, surprisingly quiet for the location and well kept place to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: See the review, upstairs probably better because quieter, stairway accessible, I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

stayed at the motel after our accomodation for the weekend at a cottage fell through.Rang the motel and were told they had a spa room available but it was at the back of the motel and smaller than the other spa suites.We didn`t know what to expect,but were pleasantly surprised to find a nicely decorated very clean and very private room with a lovely big spa.We had a lovely romantic weekend and were able to go for a walk to the 3 sisters and to the shops and restaurants at Katoomba.We will definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rose s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

On the internet it boasts superior rooms! well we got a rude shock when we arrived! we were taken around the back to what i would call a storeroom! the view was a 15 foot high lattice fence a metre from our door and right next to that were th air con motors! the room was tiny it was literally an old storeroom! there were two random doors in there that were locked and were probably there storage places. the bathroom was tiny and there was about five minutes of hot water! the toilet was that close to the wall you had to literally sit sideways to use it. i could write for hours how bad it was! my partner and i went to the mountains for what we hoped would be a romantic night away.All we got was disapointment. we didnt evan use the spa! WE COULDNT GET OUT OF THERE QUICK ENOUGH!!!!!!!!! IT SHOULD BE CALLED THE THREE KENNELS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: DONT let your wife book the room LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank brad r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a nicely appointed newly decorated motel. Our room had a comfortable sofa, table and chairs and a microwave but strangely no cutlery or plates. We were travelling on a fairly tight budget and where we could chose places that had some sort of cooking facility to enable us to prepare at least some of our own food and keep costs down. We had up until this point stayed in several places with microwaves, always with cutlery and plates, otherwise what is the point of the microwave! You could however order meals in house from reception, maybe this is why. However, the room was comfortable, the location was quiet and was a perfect distance to the 3 Sisters being just 5 minutes walk away, the owners were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

1. Don't be fooled by the exterior. The rooms (we stayed in two different rooms) are fully refurbished. They are lovely, the carpets are new, and the rooms are exactly like they're shown in the photos.

2. The receptionists (Judy and her husband?) were warm and welcoming.

3. Wifi is free, and fast.

4. TV is big and clear.

5. We got a free upgrade to a spa room on the second night (Blue Mountains was so lovely we spontaneously decided to stay another night!).

6. Electric blankets in all rooms. I'm not a fan of electric blankets, but my partner loved it.

7. It is ridiculously close to the Three Sisters. They're right - don't pay for parking - just walk from the motel!

8. It's across the road from the Blue Mountains Chocolate Company. It's open 7 days. Hot chocolate is the best reward for a hard day's walk!

9. Overall, I am thoroughly impressed by the cleaniness, amenities and service we experienced at the 3 Explorers. They even encourage you to review them in Trip Advisor - so here I am! Well done, 3 Explorers management!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good - they're all fully renovated. The pictures ARE what you'll get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank By_Cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Location was foremost. Mere blocks away from Scenic World and 3 SIsters lookout....and esay walking distance from the Katoomba main street and train station. Right across the street from Blue Mountains Chocolate Company and Explorer Bus (as well as) local Bus stops. Superior Room was nice size and equipped with all that was needed; mini frig, microwave and all necessary for a nice afternoon or evening coffee or tea break. Owners were friendly and accomodating; willing and able to assist us with directions, recommendations and holding our luggage so we could hike and pick up right before going back on the bus to the train.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Property: 3 Explorers Motel
Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing