We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where we all come together...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Meet met at lot of friendly people there, and a very helpful staff!!! :-)

Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
Thank KimM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

My friend and I decided in September 2008 to have a trip of a lifetime to Australia and decided that the Blue Mountains needed to be included in this following a high recommendation from a friend.
We decided to do the whole trip staying in hostels and after trawling through the internet for places to stay in Katoomba we settled on the Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel.
Compared to some of the other hostels I have stayed in I can say that I was actually pleasantly suprised by this one.
When you first walk in you notice how much space there is. Yes the building seems more "rustic" than other placed but that is its charm - it has a really nice historical feel to it, rather than a delapidated one, as though at one time it was an old manor. There is a lovely big common room, chillout area which at one time was a small theatrical stage (thought this was quite cool) and even a seperate reading room with comfy armchairs. There is a TV room and a seperate internet room too.
Outside there is a huge chessboard and even a fountain - it was very peaceful.
The bedroom housed 6 people but again it was a huge room and so everyone was spaced out well. Each room was named after a mountain or waterfall in the area.
I dont remember the bedding being dirty or anything like that - just kind of standard hostel bedding really!
The reception staff were friendly and helpful and there 24/7.
The hostel was fairly close to the bars and restaurants in Katoomba - its at the top of a hill so there was always a little walk back but you got used to it!
All in all, I would say that I liked this hostel. Perhaps my expectations were not as rigidly high as the other people who have posted reviews and I have stayed in more "luxury" hostels, but that said I have also stayed in FAR worse and it was by NO means a bad hostel at all.
I would definately recommend it to a friend :)
Happy Travelling!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Let me start by saying that this was by no stretch of the imagination a "Luxury Hostel" or could it possibly have been built in 2005, both of these are claimed on the website. The walls and window frames looked years old. We had to ask for new sheets as ours were dirty and smelly, not unlike the room. The shower barely worked. And if you stayed out til after 9pm you had to enter all the way round the back, through the kitchens and the drunken students who were left to their own devices as there was no-one at reception, which resulted in alcohol and fast food spilled over the floor and the broken pool table. If you want somewhere half-decent, avoid this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuedini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Valentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BM_Backpackers, Reception at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank lillylinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BM_Backpackers, Reception at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Charlyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BM_Backpackers, Reception at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Franka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BM_Backpackers, Reception at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Address: 144 Bathurst Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Central Blue Backpackers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: $18 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel was opened on May 1st 2009. We are the closest hostel to Katoomba Train Station (turn right from the station and follow Bathurst Road). We have a wide range of clean dormitory, dormitory en-suite, private, private en-suite, family and family en-suite rooms. We cater to travellers, families and can accommodate up to 160 guests. Our lounge is great for all guests, with lots of room to mingle or find a quiet corner in front of the fire. Test your skills on our FREE pool table, FREE table soccer table, FREE guitar or play one of our many FREE board games. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked with utensils and 6 large ovens. Just out from that is a summer BBQ space and courtyard garden. Not only do we have our great reception, friendly staff and clean facilities, we also offer: FREE wi-fi throughout the hostel FREE computers and low priced printing (b/w) FREE games and rainy day activities FREE luggage storage (just leave us a review!) FREE on street parking FREE lockers in all dormitory rooms FREE to use TVs in the lounge and all private rooms FREE tourist information and laundry services In addition, we can help you with Blue Mountains visitor attraction tickets and much, much, more. Please ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing