We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days turned into 2 weeks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Fox Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flying Fox Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reese, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 days turned into 2 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in countless hostels during my 3 months in Australia and The Flying Fox was by far my favorite. Ross is very knowledgable and helpful in pointing you towards some spectacular hikes. I loved the "no technology" rule in the evening as it really encourages you to engage with your fellow travelers. If you are staying in the Blue Mountains you can't miss this place. I booked for 3 days and loved it so much I ended up staying for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuntzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    35
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
26
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Flying Fox last week and we had a brilliant experience!
Hostel rooms were absolutely clean, so were the bathrooms, kitchen and shared utilities. Beds were comfy and I had a great nights sleep.
Ross, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. We were given maps and advice on the hikes and what to do in Katoomba.
We also met a big bunch of people at the hostel, everyone was really nice and friendly we ended up going out for dinner with everyone which was brilliant!
This hostel was the cherry on top of a great time spent in Katoomba and the Blue Mountains.
Do it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadsy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We felt so welcome at the Flying Fox, had a great time, slept like a baby. It was cold outside at night but the room was warm. Beds were clean and comfy. The owner, Ross, was nice and always available for information. He gave us advice about some hikes in the neighbourhood and those turned out to be stunning. We actually even had a good, tasty dinner for free with everyone else in the hostel, which is something I haven't seen happen before. Would definitely recommend staying here. Cheers guys, thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After a stressful week we arrived at this beautiful hostel. Staff is helpful, prices are reasonable, the hostel feels homely and cosy, walls are colourful. The common room with fire place, chess boards and friendly people is inviting. Everything was very clean and beds were super comfy, slept like a baby. Also, breakfast is included as well as helpful advice on what to do and see. Thank you for the great stay, my favourite Australian hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The overall feel of this hostel is so freaking cool! It has a very layed back and welcoming feel. Although I was traveling by myself I felt right at home with the people working in this hostel and staying in the hostel. The location was great for me as I was staying here prior to the Six Foot Track and I just walked out the door and turned left and was on my way. It's a little on the outside of Katoomba though. The hallways were lined with cool artwork of the area and there were many information boards about cool hikes to do, sites to see, tours they offered, the best places to eat in Katoomba and even info about the best hostels in Sydney which is about a 2 hour train ride away. The rooms and beds were clean and that lounge area was perfect. If I ever make it back to Katoomba, I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritimeAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the most welcome I have ever been made to feel at a hostel. If you're expecting to continue your east coast party, then be prepared for a slower pace of life. If your main aim for Saturday night is to drink more beers than you can count and wake up wondering which state you're in then this probably isn't the place for you. If however, you want a base to explore the mountains, with a great feel and friendly people to socialize and laugh with every night, then it is perfect.

Things are much more relaxed at the fox than elsewhere, and this vibe, along with the small family feel and cosy decor make for a very friendly atmosphere, which for most is the main attraction. Families, couples, groups and lone travelers are all catered for and all made to feel part of the family. Technology (phones/laptops) is banned in social areas from 6-9pm, which is fantastic, and brings everyone together to socialize, rather than pretending to socialize on facebook. if you really need to skype or make a call then you are still free to do so in your room/dorm, but wouldn't you rather join the group for a chat with good music (instruments provided if you're capable of making your own) and a beer outside around the fire, or inside playing cards by the wood burner?

to address some negatives from other reviewers...

Facilities are ok, this is not the ritz, but it is functional and no worse than anywhere else i've stayed. There are three showers, not two as mentioned elsewhere, and while that may not sound like much, bare in mind they only have to cater for around 30 people (the last place i stayed had eight showers, but catered for over 120 beds, you do the math). I didn't find i had to wait very often, and when i did it was never for long.

the kitchen is a touch small, but again, it has everything you'd need/expect from a hostel, and it's always kept clean. I never had any complaints about breakfast while i was there, some mornings I woke to fresh pancakes, and it was always available on time.

It is cold in winter, but if you don't like the cold, what are you doing in the blue mountains in winter? I consider this to be akin to complaining it was too hot in summer. rug up and get yourself round the fire!

the Internet is free, FREE! who was complaining about the speed? video calls over skype worked fine while i was there so i don't know how much bandwidth they needed?

I also saw one review that criticised the owner/manager. While i was there i was given occasional free meals (over and above the included breakfast), some free alcohol, and a wealth of free information about the local area/walks/tours etc (including some insider knowledge that the local tourist info probably wouldn't tell you), all served up with a great sense of humor. He even named the cat guano.

I originally booked for three nights, ended up staying over three weeks, and I'll definitely be back again for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, literally had to drag ourselves away. Having travelled the east coast for a month we were sick of staying at huge impersonal hostels filled with people spending all their time and money on drinking and partying, and flying fox gave us a chance to get away from that and get to know some genuine people in a lovely atmosphere.
Yes there are only 3 bathrooms, but it's not exactly hard to wait 5 minutes, and everything else about this place makes up for it.

Seriously, stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcjmc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0.5 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
#15 of 20 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Fox Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Fox Backpackers

Property: The Flying Fox Backpackers
Address: 190 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Fox Backpackers is located in a lovely old building, 400 metres from town. Established to cater for independent travellers and not large groups, it's the perfect place to make new friends. A vibrant Hostel with No T.V. and log fires for warmth and atmosphere, people feel very relaxed at the Fox. Free Breakfast and free wifi internet, lovely double, twins and dorms secure Hostel with a great outdoor area with fires in side and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Flying Fox Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Fox Backpackers Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing