We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service - beautiful house”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #11 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Blue this past weekend and were really impressed. The house is beautiful and the service is fantastic. The rooms are old style but that only adds to the charm of the place. The bed was so comfortable and warm with great linen. Very neat and clean.

We were also impressed with the breakfast - we even had pancakes included in the hotel cost. We woud definately recommend Hotel Blue to anyone after a old world experience. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeesaH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

This quaint hotel has a special charm about it if you look past it's superficial flaws. Ok, the bathroom is dated and requires an upgrade, yet the beds are comfortable, the rooms warm and the games area has a pleasant atmosphere, ideal for sitting in front of the fire or enjoying the many games on offer.

This hotel is not for you if you want The Carrington or Lilianfels, but if you are seeking a comfortable hotel that came out of the 30's, offering an old world charm with creaking floorbaords, a nice breakfast all for a very reasonable price, then go for it and spend your savings elsewhere enjoying all that the Blue Mountains can offer you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed here with another couple and have very mixed feelings.
CONS: It's important that you understand that this is NOT a quality hotel. It is old, old, old. The rooms are embarrassing. Do not go here if you are looking to romance your partner. The bathrooms were quite clean but definitely in need of rejuvenation. The TV was the smallest I've seen since the 1980s - about as big as my laptop screen.
PROS: We had a great weekend. The breakfast was quite good. The common areas included a pool table, bar, and open fires (which often smoked the room out or were neglected altogether by the staff and often went out), which made our time away a lot of fun. The location is good. Most of the staff were friendly and accommodating. Some of the staff were not.
CONCLUSION: Go here if you know each other well, have a good sense of humour, want to enjoy time out with your friends, and don't take yourself too seriously. If you're looking for something quality and comfortable, you may be wise to keep on looking...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Loved the lounge area with its log fire and abundence of games. The furniture is absolutely wonderful. Felt like we should have been back in the 1920's or 30's. The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about the old place. Thanks for the ghost story on the last night Christian!!

Our breakfast was included with the room and it was great value. There is a pool and spa which are nice and warm. It was so nice to interact with the other guests as there was no TV in the lounge. We all introduced ourselves to each other and shared tips about which attractions to see.

Our room, though, was in urgent need of renovation/refurbishment. I know they will get around to it given they have only had the place for 2 years. Good luck Christian and Rebecca!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillYo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Aging, deteriorating, but comfortable, relaxing, friendly, nice rooms, and a lounge with a smoke fireplace. But also a good place to share with others, to meet.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonHorobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We couldn't have thought of a nicer place to spend a rainy and foggy Blue Mountains long weekend than in front of the fire in the Guest Lunge at Hotel Blue! A roaring fire, free pool, board games, a glass a red wine, jazz and classic blues music playing in the background and a comfy couch! What more could you ask for? How about a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant? Home made garlic bread, tender lamb shacks and friendly service.

The bedrooms were lovely (if you ignore the bathrooms which leave a little to be desired! and the creaky floorboards in the hall when someone walks past your room.) and the location great. I would definitely recommend Hotel Blue!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterfly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed here with our 4 and 6 year olds, they wanted to live here. The public spaces are amazing. You are transported back to 1920's Katoomba. Back to back fireplaces in the lounge and bar, free snooker and board games galore. The rooms are good only let down really by the bathrooms which are a relic of the early 1970's. There is a pool and spa as well. Breakfast is included which makes it a standout for value. We are going back for a second helping this weekend. Didn't eat in the restaurant at night, recommend the Old Bank Bistro at the Carrington highly (kids menus) very good pub grub, matches Sydney.

Room Tip: We booked online and announced that we had 2 youns
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRAB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 88 Lurline St | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $76 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, free live jazz or blues every Friday and Saturday evening, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. Mr Jin's Restaurant offers authentic Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner, 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing