We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable and in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently on a trip to the blue mountains. It was just after the bushfires so the motel wasn't very busy. The rooms aren't luxury but are clean and it suited our needs. Friendly service and within walking distance to the town centre. Also not too far from the 3 sisters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Clarendon Guesthouse is a fanstastic place to unwind and relax, world away from hustle and bustle of life.. Staff are very friendly.. Place feels like being home with sofas in lounge area and easy access from rooms thru to bar/lunch area.. Minutes away from Echo Point & famous 3 Sisters I would recommend this place to visitors.. Late check-out an extra bonus!
Thank you to Staff & Management, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My adult neice and I stayed here for a dinner and show featuring MARK WILKINSON we absolutely loved it eventhough some aspects we not exactly as we we wanted the night was very enjoyable indeed.
Our room upsairs was very quaint and reminded us of staying at Grandmas for the weekend which is always a great experience.
Dinner was very nice portion sizes just right for us maybe a bit small for men.
and the showas great love Marks music.
the only critism is we asked on 3 seperate occassions to sit with friends of ours for dinner and show and when we arrived this was not the case and with very minimal effort could have been acheived and was not done which was very disappointing especially when we booked weeks ahead.

Room Tip: quaint rooms, old world charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we booked in for the Christmas in July dinner and show, the dinner was a 4 course meal with starters a pumpkin and apple soup which was ok, entrée was Moroccan style barramundi and the portion sizes were totally inconsistent my piece of fish was about the size of my palm and my friends beside me was about the size of two of my fingers. main was pork turkey and ham, the ham was like packet ham I didn't eat the turkey pork was edible the crackling was good, desert was Christmas pudding with brandy custard and ice cream but the "Christmas" pudding looked like a scone and tasted more like a sticky date with walnuts through it custard was cold.
and as for the show OH MY GOD how shockingly bad it was the man on the table next to us was falling asleep we were just waiting for it to get good we sat through about 15 mins of pure torture until we decided to go to the rsl next door which had better entertainment and the food would have been better too. I cant comment on the rooms as I didn't stay there but from what I had seen im pretty glad that we didn't stay there.
Oh and the best part the table decorations were flowers, DEAD, DRY, flowers that when you touched just disintegrated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stueywooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We travel to Katoomba from Melbourne to stay at the Clarendon! Probably our fifth visit in July 2013. We find the Clarendon charming and different. Position is great - walking distance to main street and railway station, next door to RSL for meals, decent walk to viewing spots and Three Sisters. It is not luxurious, but fun, friendly and comfortable. Staff are friendly, Frank cooks great breakfasts, and the fire in the sitting room is cosy and welcoming. We enjoy the quirkiness and the interest in the old building. We really enjoyed our last stay of three nights and left looking forward to another time that we can return.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a spa ask for the spa room. It is on the quiet side of the hotel, and the spa is excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just spent a lovely night in the Clarendon, we availed of B&B, eveining meal and a gig, Andrea Soler, had a fab night, the meal was lovely and the gig was great, its like being in someones sitting room! Its not a posh place but very homely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizLynch43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dissappointing and did not live up to expectations. The photos on the internet do not reflect what the rooms are like at all. The reality was quite misleading. A few comments:
First the bed: A tired old brass bed with broken fittings, a crap mattress that made my partner's hip ache, and forget sleeping comfortably if you are over six feet tall. The bed is uncomfortable and too short.
Sleeping: If you want to go to bed early, forget it. Band noise downstairs is very noisy. My tip is to either see the band or go out but don't stay in at night.
Room: No gauze on windows, big hole in ceiling in wardrobe, dirty shower cubicle with old shampoo sachets from last guest, shower curtain was dirty, stains on ironing board cover, couch uncomfortable.
Hotel: Pool closed, no fire at night in lounge area :(
Service: This was the saving grace. Friendly.
Definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Try the Motel rooms maybe....? They are close to the road but could be better quality, who knows?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Metropole Guesthouse
The Metropole Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Katoomba
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#12 of 19 in Katoomba
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Guesthouse

Address: 68 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $54 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clarendon Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clarendon Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing